We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, Great Restaurant next door - Even in the cold of winter”
Review of Ernest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ernest House
Ranked #2 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Shimoda
California
Level Contributor
623 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Great Rooms, Great Restaurant next door - Even in the cold of winter”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We visited Shimoda on a cold blustery weekend and loved the warmth of Ernest House. Spacious rooms with everything you need including your own Mac Terminal with internet access! Wonderfully accomodating host. We had dinner at the cafe next door which features an eclectic menu of California inspired dishes with owners that may speak the best English in the region. Really lovely, with a pot belly stove and inviting atmosphere. Definitely plan to return one day when the weather is sunnier to enjoy the beach next door.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Just came back from a 3 week vacation in Japan. We stayed 4 nights at Ernest House. After 2 weeks enjoying big cities and so many temples, it was great to relax in Shimoda where the beat is way more slower and relaxed. Ernest House is a family run little hotel situated within a 5 minute walk to Ohama Beach, a big white sandy beach. It is a place filed with locals who enjoy surfing. The rooms were more of a size that we are used to in America except for the bathroom which was quite small. It was very hot and humid outside in August so the very cold air conditioning was more than welcome. You can ask them to prepare you breakfast which is delivered to your door step at 8:00 a.m. in a very cute basket. You will have a delicious sandwiches, fresh juice, coffee, yogurts, fresh fruits and a little cake for approximately 1,000 yens per person. We kepted our sandwiches in our room fridge and came to get them at lunch time and eat them at the beach so the basket was more of a breakfast & lunch thing. Totally worth it. There are plenty of bicycles that you can borrow to explore the area. However, if you want to go in town, at Shimoda, it's best to ask for a taxi. It will cost you approximately 1,700 yens one way. We even had an IMac in our room with free High Speed Internet. We really enjoyed our stay at Ernest House and would recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We really loved our stay there. Rooms are spacious and quiet, wood-lodge atmosphere, food was good and amazing cocktails at the bar. The lend bicycle for free, great to go around since Kisami beach is (beautiful!) right in the middle of the countryside.
We had "basket breakfast" to bring and eat on the beach in the morning, love the idea.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimosachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Recently visited the Ernest House with a group of friends (mid 20's - 30's) looking for a relaxing weekend away from Tokyo. The hotel was basic but clean; staff were friendly and spoke English well. Just a few minutes walk to the beach (soft sand, clear blue water, pretty scenery, and waves big enough for surfing). Good burgers (but very slow service) at the paradiso cafe attached to the hotel. It was quiet when we visited, but I expect things pick up a little when beach season really kicks in. A bit out of Shimoda - it's about a 10 minute/2,000 yen cab ride to an area with a larger selection stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alynn627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We spent two days at Ernest House and felt really pampered. They have convenient family rooms, are located just off the beach and provide very nice picnic baskets with breakfast and excellent western style dinners. Very kind and helpful owners.

  • Liked — close to beach, nice staff, great food
  • Disliked — curtains in rooms were too light, a bit distant from shimoda
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DvdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimoda hotels
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
#2 of 66 in Shimoda
265 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Prince Hotel
Shimoda Prince Hotel
#6 of 66 in Shimoda
169 reviews
Bondi
#24 of 66 in Shimoda
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Izukyu
#4 of 66 in Shimoda
173 reviews
Hotel Uraga
#15 of 66 in Shimoda
17 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Yamatokan
Shimoda Yamatokan
#1 of 66 in Shimoda
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ernest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ernest House

Property: Ernest House
Address: 1893-1 Kisami, Shimoda 415-0028, Shizuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Shimoda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Shimoda
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Ernest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing