We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice outdoors and personal, problematic rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Agricola Da Levada
Ranked #1 of 7 Vila Real B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice outdoors and personal, problematic rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

On the positive side: nice premises (an ex farm house), gardens. Very nice personal (though we didnt meet the owners, just the helpers). Peaceful. Clean. Generous and good breakfast.

On the negative: the rooms themselves are not so good, esp for the price (60 euros per room, off season). There are some rooms in the priniciple building, then apartments in adjacent builduings. These are old buildings, which the owners invested quite alot of effort in remodelling them, with partial succes. We were 1st offered a room in the principle house. It was not good. No windows almost, bad smell (sewage). We asked to change and were given the next night an apartment, which was better, but still had problems: funny smell, strange dining table, too little indoor illumination, no outdoor illumination. They should hire a real architect to help them improve these points (the proble with the smell may be hard to fix).

The location is not so good if you dont have a car. Its in a boring part of town, not walking distance from centre.

There is also something funny about this place: the great majority of the reviews donot mention the obvious problems... how come? I dont think we were particulary unlucky or picky...

Room Tip: Before you take a room, make sure it doesnt smell, esp the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilGuanajuato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ines A, Owner at Casa Agricola Da Levada, responded to this review, December 17, 2016
Thank you for your nice description of the property and garden. We have two options at the property: B&B Rooms at main house (classified building from 1922) or Self-Service Cottages at Old Village. Some guests choose our property because they are interested in architecture or appreciate the building “d ’époque” and other guests look for facilities such as TV, Kitchinette, more space… When possible, at arrival, we offer both possibilities. Some people prefer the rooms even with small windows other guests prefer the recently renewed cottages. We cannot figure out what troubled our guest and made him so interrogative… and Please, future guests! When having any discomfort let us know and we will try to understand and solve any problem. We also recon that some guests do not realize that this is a traditional family property and that some aesthetic options are not the result of globalized Tourism but the result of our culture and habits (lightening for example) Thanks for the suggestion of finding an Architect but We do work with one that We Love and made all our projects since the year 2000. Cordially, Inês
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    46
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
45
102
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Cannot speak highly enough. Sonya & Carmen were warm, welcoming and generous with their time in their desire to make our stay comfortable and memborable. Wonderful accomodation, wood fire and everything you need.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michaelr4557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I took our four kids here for the weekend. It was a fantastic place for the kids and us. We were all able to enjoy the peace and quite, the cottage was very large, and the owner was extremely helpful and warm. She really went the extra mile to make our trip just what we wanted. I highly recommend. The only down side is that it is not walking distance to nice walking areas, but it is a quick drive away from many, many beautiful areas.
I highly recommend going during the grape harvest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphyfamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Carmen was most welcoming and charming. We had a basement room in the main house, which I loved , it was quiet and cool. The town of Vila Real is fun and friendly, we met so many wonderful people who invited us to their parties, drove us when we were lost, and just helped make the visit very enjoyable. One reviewer complained about using the public transportation, we did have a rental car but were able to walk along the river to the center of the town, a scenic walk along a very beautiful park. We did a daytrip around the huge Alvao park - it was amazing, we did see the peasants and their simple lives and goats , from another century ! Very friendly. We had borrowed Antonio Zambujo (a Portuguese singer) CDs from the lobby-reception area, and listened to his wonderful singing as we drove along gorgeous scenic Alvao park roads, I highly recommend bringing Antonio along for ambiance !
The grounds of Casa Levada Agricola are like a park , with fountains and secret stone steps and a lovely terrace with a spotless pool, with nice comfy lounge chairs. There are fruit trees, ripe apricots for breakfast, of course grape vines, and views to die for. We ate at the Carmen-recommended Chaxoila - it was so delicious and reasonable, we ate there again the next night. Apparently it is walkable from Casa Levada in 10 minutes, up a secret shortcut through the back of the village. The Douro valley is very scenic. We did a daytrip to Porto and loved it. The port tastings at Taylor were fun and delicious! The seafood restaurants in Minhao are also wonderful. Finished the day with a sunset view and glass of vino by the pool. Just lovely.
The buildings are from a successful farmer , dated 1910, this is an interesting and different lodging experience, rustic and charming. Great breakfast, including fresh fruit! Our stay was very memorable.

Room Tip: I would like to try a cottage out back next time, they looked extremely charming. We stayed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We stated here while touring northern portugal and the Douro valley. The owners and their staff are very hospitable and invited us for a glass of wine in the evening as we checked in.
The owner and her family are very visible and accommodating and makes the place feel like home.
The b&b is very rustic and beautiful. A must stay place for any couples or families looking for a great value retreat.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed in a huge barn of an apartment,with 2 bedrooms,2 bathrooms, self contained kitchen and lounge with open fire,surrounded by vines and flowering almond trees. Steps a bit steep to get down but there are is plenty of other accommodation if that doesn't suit.
The delightful Sonja brought our breakfast to us each morning in a picnic basket because she thought it too far to walk to the main house.Gorgeous surrounds were the perfect place to relax after some very busy traveling.May I recommend Restaurant Espedeiro in Vila Real for a meal. It was my husband's birthday and the food and service were wonderful.They even brought a Cake and wine on the house.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I travel a lot and it's not always easy, or even very dificult, to find a place where you fell at home. This is a simple place, but has everything you need to have a perfect stay. Tasteful decoration, comfortable beds, blackout curtains and shutters for a deep sleep (i actually ordered breakfast for 8.30 and woke up at 10.00...and breakfast had this amazing homemade tomato jam that is still in my dreams...) and pleasant staff. All we needed was promply organised and we got excellent tips from the owner. We followed all her advises and had a perfect day at the Douro Valley with a picnic on the traditional boat, a wonderful lunch at Alice cottage in the natural park, a great visit to the famous Mateus Palace and Port wine tasting. All recomendations were excellent and that's why i am recomending this place.

Room Tip: We stayed at a room in the main house. There are cottages with kitchen but not available the day we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Real
1.4 mi away
Hotel Miracorgo
Hotel Miracorgo
#1 of 3 in Vila Real
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quinta do Paco Hotel
Quinta do Paco Hotel
#2 of 3 in Vila Real
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
10.0 mi away
Casa das Pipas
Casa das Pipas
#1 of 2 in Sabrosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
13.0 mi away
Quinta de la Rosa
Quinta de la Rosa
#1 of 2 in Pinhao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Agricola Da Levada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Agricola Da Levada

Property: Casa Agricola Da Levada
Address: Rua da Capela | Timpeira, Vila Real 5000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Vila Real
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vila Real
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Agricola Da Levada 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming guesthouse just outside the town of Vila Real with rooms and cottages for 2,4 and 6 people.Family farmhouse with 6 hectares of garden and wineyard. Seven granite-stone houses totally renewed are spread in the terraced garden. This is lovely spot for those who wish to combine country with easy access to town. 3 Kms from Casa de Mateus, 10 minutes from the heart of the Douro Valley and from Alvão Natural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Agricola Da Levada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing