We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, Peaceful getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Villefranche-de-Rouergue, Aveyron, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
DanniStra...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent a delightful two weeks staying in the cottage at Les Fontaines. The cottage was clean, and airy and had a beautiful big kitchen and courtyard area for al fresco dining. The pool area was a welcome hideaway in the hot weather and we spent several days there relaxing into the evening.

The cottage is ideally located for exploring the Aveyron region of France and further. We spent many days taking in the stunning nearby scenery, villages, towns, rivers, markets and countryside. Our favourite adventure was to St Cirq-Lapopie we went there twice because we enjoyed it so much. We were never stuck for things to do, even in the abnormally wet weather we had in June. Supermarkets and restaurants are a mere 10 minutes drive away and there is a delightful bakery in walking distance.

Steve, Andrea (and Spencer!) were wonderfully welcoming and always on hand to assist with any problems (of which there were none) . If we are ever in this part of France in the future we would love to come back here.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxing by the pool
Liked least: the bad weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Dear Guests. Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed the cottage, pool and surrounding areas so much and we very much look forward to your return visit in the future.

With kind regards.

Andrea, Steve and Spencer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBoheme5...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Prize winning wisteria and a tinkling fountain...perfect peace.”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Once again we returned to a favourite gite, Les Fontaines. It's situated in a most beautiful and tranquil spot, yet only about 10 minutes drive to Villefranches-de-Rouerge. This whole area is filled with fascinating places to visit. We still have more to see, though we also enjoy the quietude of staying in the gite, owned by Steve and Andrea. They are lovely hosts, discreet, but available when needed. It is immaculate, well decorated, and comfortable. This May was unusually cool, though we always were able to sit outside by the fountain in the sun, and a few hot days were interspersed for sunbathing! The amazing, scented wisteria was in full bloom, and much larger than we've seen in England. We will always return, and can most highly recommend Les Fontaines.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and tranquillity.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
Dear Guests
Thank you so much, once again, for your extremely kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your return stay in the cottage and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards.
Andrea & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canary221...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Perfect. The earlier reviews say it all!”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

There's really not much I can add to the earlier reviews. We stayed in the cottage - perfect for 2, fine for four with two bedrooms upstairs. Spacious downstairs, really well equipped. Lovely pool which is shared access with the accommodation in the main house - but that was unoccupied during our stay. A perfectly peaceful, relaxing place with just bird song and the fountain to listen to. The hosts are perfect: able to help when needed, but otherwise discreet and left us to our privacy. This part of France is unspoilt yet very pretty and plenty of places to go and things to see. We will come back and next time we might use the main house_ it is beautifully restored and decorated. Easily the best two gites we have ever stayed in or seen.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicholas...
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and relaxing - just what we needed”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed in the cottage of the main house. Les Fontaines. This is the not in the main house but is a separate building with 2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and living area.

On our arrival, our hosts had very kindly provided the essentials as far as bread, jam, croissants, tea, cofffee, butter etc. This was a lovely touch.

The cottage was immaculately clean and had good cooking facilities with all the equipment that you would need. The beds are really comfortable and we could get a good night´s sleep. The rooms aren´t that dark in the mornings but on a nice day, you want to be up and about anyway as the area is so beautiful and has a lot to be discovered.

There is a pool belonging to the main house that you are able to use, we didn´t.

There is a collection of interesting dvds that you can watch in an evening and a music system with some cds too.

There is good and quick wifi there too but no mobile phone reception that we could find. Perfect for what we wanted.

Our hosts were charming and very welcoming.

The cottage is perfect for disconnecting and just relaxing and being with your partner.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The floors creak upstairs wherever you walk
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2015
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent visit to Les Fontaines. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the beds in the cottage very comfortable and enjoyed a really good night's sleep. We know how important this was for you both.

Just to clarify a couple of small points for you, in case you do decide to return. Although there isn't a mobile signal inside the cottage, The vast majority of our customers do find a signal either in the courtyard or around the pool.

Also, just to avoid confusion, the pool is situated inbetween the main house and the cottage and is for shared use by guests in both properties. It doesn't actually belong to the main house.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean G
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful place, lovely countryside area, something for everyone”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The photos do not do Les Fontaines justice. This is a beautiful place. The pretty cottage was well equipped, clean and comfortable. We were happy to eat meals in the lovely courtyard, and spend afternoons/evenings by the fabulous pool. Darts and pool table were also a favourite.
The hillside villages and surrounding towns are attractive. We particularly enjoyed visiting St Cirq, St Antonin (recommend sitting in a café in the Square, the Sunday market and kayaking), Belcastel (interesting part- renovated castle in a lovely setting), and Villefranche (Thursday market is great, and the bell tower in the square is worth a visit). The surrounding area is lovely and the roads quiet. There is easily much more to visit but we liked spending time relaxing at the cottage and the pool.
Thank you to Andrea, Steve and Spencer, this was a really good holiday.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property (very attractive) and immediate area
Liked least: I can't think of anything
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy J
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely part of France”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at Les Fontaines with our two young children (5 and 3) and can't recommend it highly enough.

Andrea and Steve's beautiful cottage was imaculately clean, tastefully furnished and very well equipped throughout. It was very spacious, more than enough room for our family of 4.Their hospitality and Andrea's extensive list of recommended day trips, local markets and places to eat made sure that we really experienced all that this stunning area of France has to offer, including daily morning visits to the local Boulangerie to pick up our fresh bread and pastries.

The pool area was fantastic and a real hit with our kids. Altogether a fantastic cottage, in a lovely part of France.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculately clean, spacious and extremely well equipped
Liked least: The weather in the 2nd week!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBoheme5...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace, perfect peace...”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our second visit to Les Fontaines. Arriving all tired from the drive south, to be welcomed back by Andrea and Steve, we could feel all the tension floating away. By the time we'd unpacked and were sitting out in the beautiful courtyard garden, drinking cold white wine and hearing only the birds and the soft tinkling of the fountain, our pleasure was complete. We mainly self-cater, for which the large kitchen is amply equipped. A welcome pack is provided. The owners are always happy to recommend restaurants, for those who would prefer to eat out. We ourselves enjoy a pizza at Le France in Villefranches, a large brasserie frequented by rugby fans and players. There are so many interesting towns and villages in the Aveyron, which Steve and Andrea can tell you about. This trip we went to Figeac and Albi, though in truth we prefer the villages, especially the "bastides". The Sunday market at St Antonin de Noble Val is always a must. The cottage is very clean and spacious, with all mod cons. One note for guests--if it looks like rain and you're going out, it is best to close windows before leaving, as it REALLY rains down in that area. Thankfully Steve closed them for us as it had blown in through the windows! We will be returning to Les Fontaines, regularly, as it is a gem of a place.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, the tranquillity, the house itself, the friendliness of the owners.
Liked least: Not reallly anything significant. The phone signal isn't good inside, but in the garden it's fine.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing