We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay at a superb family boutique hotel.”
Review of Mas de Jouas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mas de Jouas
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Mas de Jouas. Being greeted with friendly smiles, a glass of wine and help with our luggage was a fabulous start!
The rooms are outstanding, every small detail has been thought about. From the luxury bed linen to the books and toys in the children's bedroom. We took our three children with us aged six, four and eight months and each one of them (and mummy and daddy) were superbly catered for. The children adored the beautiful grounds, trampoline, play area and heated swimming pool whilst mummy and daddy thoroughly enjoyed the DELICIOUS evening meals, wine and brilliant company in the evenings.
The area has many attractions for little ones. Our eldest son was fascinated by the castles in the area and on the sunny days, the nearby rivers provided hours of endless fun, paddling, fishing and swimming for all of us.
Abbi and Danny work tirelessly to make the holiday extra special for everyone! They even surprised us with a bottle of fizz on our anniversary!
All in all, a superb holiday for everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft room, which was gorgeous but, speaking to the other two families there at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzieanddave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

We understand how difficult it is to go on holiday with children, and having 3 in tow can be a chore, so we are so delighted we took the weight off and you all had a great time!! It was our pleasure to make your special day even more special!!!

The castles locally are a real treat for those budding knights and often have little boys and girls running around with their newly acquired wooden swords and helmets!!!

Warmest wishes to you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 87 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We've just returned from a week at Mas de Jouas. This was our second visit, however our fellow guests (who were all delightful!) were on their fourth and sixth visits, which surely gives an idea of the appeal of this place!! We stayed in the loft suite - a spacious suite with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms which had ample room for our family of four. The hosts children were lovely playmates for our girls, and together with the other children staying they had lots of fun together, often taking themselves off to the trampoline or wandering around the lovely large gardens. Abbi spoilt us with delicious restaurant quality food including paella, bouef bourgignon and a scrumptious salted caramel chocolate tart. The weather was excellent while we were there so we spent lots of time in the large swimming pool and had all dinners on the terrace, often going late in to the evening (ahem!). Danny entertained us with great music and excellent company and was a big hit with the children as well as the parents! Mas de Jouas offers a small boutique setting (I believe only 3 families max stay at any one time) which allows the owners to give a very personal level of service. If you use the babysitting service offered, I would recommend a meal at 'Terre et Galet' a restaurant in nearby Villeneuve where we enjoyed fabulous champagne cocktails with hibiscus flowers and delicious seafood. Thank you Abbi, Danny, Lauryn and Maddy for another fabulous week!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

You and your family are just such a delight, and the perfect playmates for our girls too! We had some lovely days out with you ensemble, and so pleased you enjoyed the local restaurants as well as our meals, we are spoilt for some lovely places around here!
Miss you lots and can't wait to catch up with you all again soon!

xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our main summer holiday for my wife and I and our 9 month old baby - it simply could not have been better.

Mas de Jouas is located in beautiful, unspoilt French countryside, with views to die for and peace and quiet we could never find at home in London! Our room (the Loft Suite) was excellent - lovely room for us and then a separate room for the baby with virtually pitch black curtains, which meant he slept like a dream all week (no doubt all the fresh air, attention and food helped too)! The grounds were very pleasant, well-tended and buzzing with wildlife – ducks, swans, chickens, cows, and some very elusive tree frogs!

The food was faultless all week and Abbi went out of her way to make sure the food she was cooking for the other children would be suitable for the baby. And, any extra was neatly packaged up and put in our space in the fridge for us to use the next day - very considerate and that helped us out on more than one occasion! As for the adults - I'm just glad I took my running kit! Wine flowed freely at the meals, beers and wine were available in the fridges and kitchen at other times and the food was stunning - a match for any restaurant, showing off local produce and dishes, and yet served in a comfortable and homely environment that meant you were always at ease.

Abbi and Danny could not have been more welcoming to both us and our son - he loved them and it was clear that they were both more than comfortable with children of all ages and knew how to get on their level. They both worked so hard to make sure we had a good time and were relaxing and enjoying our holiday – nothing was too much effort. Their two daughters were also lovely, polite and friendly and were part of daily life to the extent that it genuinely felt like we were staying with friends for the week rather than at a hotel or other commercial establishment.

Cannot rate our holiday highly enough and we were sorely disappointed to leave. We're now working on friends to come with us next year as we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamsa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thankyou so much for taking time to write us such a lovely review, we are delighted we provided a break that met your expectations, and you had a great time, and you are right we do recommend the running gear!!
We really can't wait to see you and your gorgeous family again!
x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

There is a small part of me as I write this that wants to refrain myself because the simple truth is when you stumble across a holiday destination and experience such as this you want to keep it as a secret all to yourselves!!! My husband and Richard arrived late on Saturday (frustrating rental car delay) and from the second over the threshold as Abbi and Dan greeted us you literally feel your shoulders relax, you breathing slow down and you start to experience the odd sensation of relaxing on holiday you know the one you used to feel long before your bambino's came along and shook up your entire life. You are provided with a holiday experience that considers everything. The setting and grounds are stunning - nestled in lush, green hills and a building with all the characteristic french charm you would wish for. I had a sneaky feeling this was going to be a special holiday before we came but it's so very rare that your expectations are exceeded like this. We did not have great weather at all - but it did not matter. We were treated to sublime dining.....(be warned you may gain a few pounds)......exquisite wine choices and an intuition towards what we needed for our family consistently on a daily basis.
We drove away with that odd tug in your heart that you are leaving behind something you are not quite ready to part with. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieKatStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

You and your family we also so incredibly special and your review is just so delightful and summarises what we have tried to achieve with Mas de Jouas. Every year we add a little something new, and try to consider what every one may require from their holiday!
We miss you all and thank you so much for introducing my girls to makeup and jewellery so much so that their Mummy is now a stylist! hihi!! xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Mas De Jouas is a perfect place to go with a young family! The setting is beautiful, views are stunning and the rooms are gorgeous. The grounds and garden are amazing for little ones - our girls could happily have spent the whole holiday on the swings and trampoline, in the pool, or playing with the rabbits. The food - for adults and kids - is delicious and Abbi and Danny are incredibly thoughtful, kind and welcoming hosts. There are also loads of really memorable day trips locally - so plenty to do if you can tear the kids away from the garden. We came away totally relaxed. Would highly recommend this holiday. Thanks to Abbi, Danny and the girls for such a lovely trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

We are so delighted you had a lovely stay with us and the children had a great time too!! We wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent in every single way, the whole property is amazing, the girls are so sweet! Abbi's cooking is up to a 5 star standard and this is coming for someone who has spent a few years working in the 5 star service industry for more than 3 years! The paella is the one of the finest I've ever eaten and I don't think ill ever find better

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canonball1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent in every single way, the whole property is amazing, the girls are so sweet! Abbi's cooking is up to a 5 star standard and this is coming for someone who has spent a few years working in the 5 star service industry for more than 3 years! The paella is the one of the finest I've ever eaten and I don't think ill ever find better

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canonball1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtot, Owner at Mas de Jouas, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

WOW, that is such a complimentary review, thank you so much!! We also had a fabulous time with you and so did our girls, who really are quite a huge part of Jouas!! Warmest wishes to you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-de-Rouergue
1.4 mi away
Les Fleurines
Les Fleurines
#1 of 4 in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
405 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Relais de Farrou
Le Relais de Farrou
#2 of 4 in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
206 reviews
4.8 mi away
Riv'Hotel
Riv'Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maleville
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel balladins Villefranche de Rouergue
Hotel balladins Villefranche de ...
#4 of 4 in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
68 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
#1 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
1,027 reviews
10.7 mi away
Logis du Commerce
Logis du Commerce
#1 of 1 in Rieupeyroux
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de Jouas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de Jouas

Address: 12200 Saint Remy | Saint Remy, 12200 Villefranche-de-Rouergue, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family and baby friendly Boutique B&B business. 7 Night minimum stay with meals, drinks, children's meals, one night baby-sitting and some activities included. Three 2-bedroom suites and 1 smaller family room. Guests have access to a shared fridge, microwave, crockery, cutlery etc. There are baby and children's accessories/toys and equipment available for guests use. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing