We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly food, 70s vibe”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nant-Y-Ffin Hotel & Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llandissilio
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Heavenly food, 70s vibe”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

At first glance I wondered if we'd stepped back in time. It is pure 1970s, the furniture, panelled walls of the restaurant, the 3 bar fire with veneer surround in the porch.
I was half expecting to see Double-Diamond on tap with Babycham for the laydees.
70s yes, but it was also clean, fresh and warmly welcoming.
And then we sat down and ordered from their 3-course Sunday lunch...
There were plenty of choices to each course, entrées arrived quickly and slipped down very nicely. We were a sizable party so ordered most of the menu, no-one was disappointed.
Mains- the meats were juicy, nicely seasoned and beautifully presented.
Puds- too much choice! All delicious, maybe they should offer a 'taster' version.
In all honesty this was the best Sunday lunch I have had for many years. Clearly the word is out as the large dining area was packed out.
Two words of advice:
Book soon.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrumTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

On a cottage holiday to Carmarthenshire and found a comment about this restaurant in the visitors book. Called in on spec one night, greeting, drinks & food great, even free nibbles while we waited and we only ordered a main course. Enjoyed so much decided to return for a final night farewell treat. Not disappointed, starters and main excellent, particular praise for the lamb special. Lady who waited on us was great, wonderful sense of humour and couldn't do enough to ensure we had a good night. Don't be put off by the word Motel, the restaurant is well worth a visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-on-Sea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A lovely, well appointed hotel and motel conveniently situated within easy reach of Fishguard, Narberth, Tenby and other varied and interesting attractions in West Wales. The Motel accommodation is excellent, and the breakfasts, which are served in the beautiful dining room, satisfy even the largest appetite ! Excellent lunches and dinners are served in another comfortable dining area, and the varied meals are available all day, including Sundays, up until 9 p.m. Every member of the staff whom we encountered was extremely helpful and courteous. In all respects, we found this to be a quiet, cracking little gem of a place to stay, suffice it to say that when we return to Wales, we will look no further than the Nant-Y-Ffin ! .

Room Tip: All are of a high standard, but No.1 Motel is brilliant !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claybreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We often have family Sunday lunches here and the food is always great. In what is now around 15 years of returning to the Nant-Y-Ffin, I can honestly say we have never had a bad meal there. Would highly recommend. Warm welcome too. Plenty of food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnydaysintheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for business trip Basic accommodation stayed in motel part bit dated but clean and tidy walls a bit thin. Food was good and plentifull , staff friendly and helpfull ,good location for visiting the south, would stay again which says a lot, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Stay at back of hotel if noise is an issue busy road at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A1PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here,the room was EXACTLY what I asked for and as it was described on website.Nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff,including ringing up local garage to get my puncture fixed immediately
Also worth mentioning the superb food in the resteraunt,generous portions,expertly cooked and served by staff who conduct themselves like they genuinely care about you.Will definitely be back in the near future.

Room Tip: Able to park right outside your motel-type room,bonus !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craignure
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Room booked in motel was not acceptable but we were immediately offered two superior rooms at no extra cost. This kind of attitude is praiseworthy indeed and I recommend this hotel without any qualms. We only slept there as we were visitng family in the area so I cannot comment on anything other than the accommodation and the proprietor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandissilio
5.3 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,192 reviews
7.1 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
493 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
292 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
295 reviews
10.8 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 6 in Haverfordwest
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nant-Y-Ffin Hotel & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nant-Y-Ffin Hotel & Motel

Property: Nant-Y-Ffin Hotel & Motel
Address: Llandissilio Clynderwen, Llandissilio SA66 7SU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Llandissilio
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llandissilio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Nant-Y-Ffin Hotel & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nant-y-Ffin Hotel And Motel
Nant-y-Ffin Hotel Llandissilio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing