We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chavin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Londinium Chambres et Tables d’hotes
Ranked #1 of 1 Chavin B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our second stopover on the way travelling down to the Haute Garonne and we were so pleased we stayed here. James and Val made as feel most welcome in their beautiful home with lovely views. We stayed in the Garden Suite, which was spacious, very clean and had really comfortable beds with the biggest en-suite I've ever used. Val cooked us a lovely meal in the evening and we sat chatting with them both until late in the evening and enjoyed a taste of home made sloe gin. Breakfast was good and plentiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 27 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We ended up staying with Val and James quite by chance as the original property we had booked got flooded and was uninhabitable . Our original host found them as an alternative and we weren't in the slightest bit disappointed. In fact I was amazed he managed to find us such a top quality accommodation at short notice in the middle of high season!
It really is the perfect place to stop over to break up a journey further south. That said It would also provide a wonderful base for your holiday to explore a very beautiful and less touristy area of France. We certainly would of liked to stay a little longer.
Val and James work really hard and it shows. They do everything themselves without any help from staff. Vals cooking is splendid and James keeps the very large garden in tip top condition. The rooms are spotlessly clean and our beds were very comfortable.
We arrived quite late in the day to be treated to dinner with our fellow guests on the patio with a splendid view. The atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxed and the meal was superb. Val cooked me something special as I'm vegetarian which was very tasty. It's not easy being a vegetarian in France and she spoilt me. I can't honestly say the other places we ate out in during our holiday were as accommodating.
The breakfast was sumptuous and really set us up for the second leg of our journey. Vals home made preserves are a treat. I'd never had quince before and it was delicious as we're all the others. Another first for us were her famous coddled eggs also delicious.
All in all I fail to see how anyone staying at londinium Chambres would not be entirely satisfied. We would certainly stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.
After a spell of serious illness and four years without a proper holiday it really was the perfect way to start a long awaited for holiday.
Good luck for next year Val & James you run a wonderful establishment and deserve every success.
Claire and Steve. Lincs xx

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stopped here to break the journey on our way back from holiday in the Charente and were really pleased we did. Val and James were wonderful hosts and welcomed us into their immaculate home. We had dinner on the patio with the other guests and it all made for a wonderful evening. We breakfasted with our temporary friends and sampled Val's coddled eggs (hadn't seen those for years!) and home-made jams and selection of honeys. This is the way to do overnight stops: beautiful surroundings, good company and extremely good value.

Room Tip: We had the garden Room, beautifully furnished with a fantastic en-suite, but the others looked good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisnPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

On our way to the Dordogne we decided to split our journey into 2: a stay in Chavin seemed perfect. And it was: a warm welcome and a very pelasant stay after a day's driving!

Not only dinner was great, also the breakfest was excellent.
Both James and Valery paid much attention to detail and were very friendly to our kids as well.

Staying at Londinium is very much recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jurriaan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lovely hosts, James played cricket with my son in the garden and showed himself to be a very handy bat! Both he and Val are very easy company and they work as a team to provide lovely food, relaxed chat and a perfect tonic from two hours of Paris grid lock! Rooms and bathrooms are immaculate. It seemed to be a bit of a cheat to stay with English folk in the heart of France but this was a fantastic start to our holiday and so much better than a soulless hotel or a disinterested money maker. We will be back and we will be sending James some up to date photos of his Alma Mater when my son returns form his cricket festival this week!

Room Tip: As a family of four we went for the two adjacent rooms at the old end of the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BaxterSulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We recently stayed at Londinium on the way down to the south of France with our 2 boys (aged 4 & 2 ½) and can’t recommend it highly enough.
James and Val were fantastic hosts, so welcoming to both us and the boys and also great fun. Val cooks up a fantastic 3 course feast, which was one of the best meals of our holiday, just what you need after a long drive through France. James took the boys on a tour of the garden hunting for animals and nuts. We stayed in the inter-connecting family room which was perfect and the boys loved the cupboard full of wooden toys. After the boys had gone to sleep we sat out and enjoyed a lovely glass of wine (or 2!) and took in the wonderful view.
We will definitely be going back the next time we head down to the South of France! A lovely addition to a holiday rather than just a stop-over.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We chose Londinium Chambres as a stop on our way from The Lot Valley to Paris. Next time it will be on our itinerary as a destination. The setting is spacious, serene and rural. Our hosts, Valerie and James, were friendly, warm and generous. Our rooms were very clean and very comfortable. Valerie cooked us a delicious 3 course dinner, which all of us enjoyed before heading into town for a concert of Peruvian music in the little church with it's vibrant frescos.
We all slept well, and then went down to a table set with a stunning array of local honeys, jams, french butter, pastries, cereals, fruits and yoghurts, teas and coffee. Valerie also coddled eggs for us with bacon! We had a lovely, lovely stay at Londinium, not only because the food was so good, but also the warm hospitality was very genuine. Carla and Stig Australia

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Londinium Chambres et Tables d’hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londinium Chambres et Tables d’hotes

Address: Les Moreaux, 36200 Chavin, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Chavin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chavin
Price Range: $80 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil setting in the heart of France. Small hamlet with stunning views from the house. This is set in 2 acres of land. Home cooking, preserves. Then end the day with a walk around the garden. Be prepared for a relaxed sleep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Londinium Chambres Et Tables d’Hotes France/Chavin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing