We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wandering around Spain and Portugal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pedras d'el Rei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pedras d'el Rei
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wandering around Spain and Portugal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We chose this village to stay in because some friends had booked 2 weeks and we wanted to meet up with them. I loved the place - very relaxing. We always choose dates where there are no children so this was a plus, as it was quiet. I thought the apartments were a little dated but clean enough and as we were only there 2 nights we didn't want to move, but next time I'd upgrade and get a Bungalow. The pool was very clean and a lifeguard was there all the time. We ate out in Santa Luzia and Fuseta, both good restaurants. The one in Fuzeta was especially good value for money - it's one of the first ones you come to called Casa Nova (I think !) but you can't miss it as it has a huge BBQ in the road. You go in, pick a table, order drinks and then choose your fish which is on ice in boxes, probably just landed from the boats. The waiter brings you fresh salad as much as you can eat and delicious potatoes. Your fish is then prepared and cooked for you and brought to your table. We had a jug of white and a jug of red wine, 3 bass, sardines for me and the whole lot came to 40 Euros (he writes the bill on the tablecloth). We left a 5 E tip and he brought us another glass of wine each !

Unfortunately we didn't have time to experience the beach at Pedras but similar reviews I'd agree with, staff, cleanliness etc.

Room Tip: If you are staying more than 2 nights upgrade to a Bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrystiannehayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    83
    52
    21
    17
See reviews for
83
88
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Main advantage of the resort is its location - right next to Ilha de Tavira, 15 minutes walking to the beautiful beach of Praia do Barril. The hotel also provides free mini-train to the beach, if you mind walking, however it usually takes longer by train...

The apartments are very simple and a bit worn out, but still clean inside and well-equipped. If you're looking just for a place to stay for a few days near Ilha de Tavira (as we did) and maybe prepare some meal, that's not a bad choice. I wouldn't recommend that place to spend your holidays at, especially that we've been to better seaside-located hotels for the similar price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kspr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The accommodation was pretty basic and really needs modernisation but that would probably put up the price! We had a studio apartment with a very pleasant outlook. A large room with 2 single beds and upon opening what we thought was an expansive cupboard we found 2 more bunk beds! The hanging space for clothes was in the kitchen bizarrely so you wouldn't want to do any frying. But everything worked. Lovely gardens, pool and a train down to the beach all included. The restaurant does wonderful grilled fish.

Room Tip: They do have 'superior' accommodation but I was only going for 3 nights and trying to keep p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMcNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at Pedras and would recommend it all the way. We have an 18month old in tow and were looking for some tranquility and calm to relax in the sun and we certainly found it here.

The Complex:
It is tucked away in a lovely spot on the edge of the Ria Formosa national park, which stretches out to the sea. In fact we asked for a sea view(not really expecting to get one) and our apartment looked out over the flat wetlands towards the sea, a wonderful sight with the sun rising! At high tide, the sea was only about 100 metres away.
The accommodation is made up of many small bungalows (the apartments) and some larger villas (I think these are mainly small studios), all whitewashed and covered in burgonvilia and surrounded by palm trees, eucalyptus trees and hibiscus shrubs. Idyllic. The grounds are well looked after and it feels like a little village, the atmosphere certainly reflects this too.
There is a supermarket which has a fairly good selection, including fresh bread daily. They will even deliver your shopping for you! Although we didn't use this service.
There are a lot of cats roaming around the complex and although this didn't bother us, we did see some cat poo that hadn't been cleaned up.

The Apartment
Basic, clean and homely! The first SC place we've stayed where the Sharp knife is actually sharper than the spoons! AND there was a corkscrew. The kitchen was generally well equipped and we needn't have taken the travel kettle. There is air conditioning, but we found it a bit chilly to have it on at night, so we were glad to have packed a travel fan. We requested a cot and they honoured this, although we didn't know whether to expect one or not as we booked through another agency so if you're in the same position, it might be worth contacting them directly to check they have one available. It will save lugging your own all the way there.
The apartment was clean and we had service 8 days out of 11 and this wasn't a problem at all. It's actually refreshing to be somewhere where the towels aren't changed every day, cos its not necessary.
The only thing we found was that ants were liable to descend if we left anything out, the slightest crumb makes for good ant bait. But we simply kept all food in the fridge or clipped up in the cupboard and kept the surfaces clean.

The Service/amenities
The reception staff can't do enough to help. We found them incredibly helpful and friendly. We arrived at night and they called a colleague to take us in the minibus directly to our apartment and they collected us on our last day. They also spent a long time one day investigating trips to go snorkelling along the coast and this wasn't too much trouble for them.
The service in the bars and restaurant was very good as well.
We found the restaurant food very good, but a little over priced, as was the cafes at the beach. They have a captive market because it's quite a walk to Santa Luzia for alternatives. It was delicious in the restaurant though, and they were welcoming and friendly and didn't seem to mind having an 18month old running around.
We had breakfast at Bar Nora once and this was fine. Buffet continental, croissants, cheese, sami, eggs, cereal, bread, yogurt. Sort of thing you'd expect. It was €6.50 each and coffee was included, although we ordered coffee from the waiter and they charged extra. He also didn't mention the buffet breakfast and just gave us the normal menu, which incidently is not very good. If you want the buffet, just go up stairs and help yourself or ask about it specifically. We made lunch out of it too, so it was good value!
The pool is lovely, really clean and a relaxed feeling. Only open to residents so it didnt get over crowded. We always found sun loungers and a parasol available and its a safe place to set up camp and let little one run around a bit.

The beach and train:
The beach is a 20 minute walk through the wetlands and sand dunes, an easy flat walk with walkway, easy enough with a buggy although narrow if you have a double buggy or a wheelchair. Very pleasant walk. The train is a great alternative and great fun for kids without taking anything away from the peaceful surroundings. It's free for residents at Pedras if you show your card.
The beach is lovely, flat and far reaching with a shallow entrance to the sea and at low tide, it gives a great area to explore if you're a toddler!
The only draw back we found was that it isn't a great spot for snorkelling, I think this is something to be found further to the west where the jagged coastline is.
We found the cafe on the expensive side for what you get, but the tapas may be better value, something we didn't try. The self service restaurant was great value, recommend having the fresh fish as they grill there and then in front of you, but other hot dishes are pre prepared and Sat in a bain marie. The swordfish and the sardines were amazing.

Local area
Santa Luzia is the nearest village, approx 30mins stroll away, quiet and pretty and a few more fish restaurants here, we didn't try them.
We took a boat ferry to Ilha de Tavira, a lovely little beach to spend a couple of hours on.
Tavira is a bus ride, you can get the bus on site and costs a little over €2 each. It stops in the town centre, or outside the railway station if you want to go further afield, although train service isn't very regular, so you spend most of the day waiting for a train.
We visited Olhao down the coast, but wouldnt recommend it. It's a small fishing port with much less charm than Tavira and SLuzia and feels a bit more tacky. Although you can do some nice looking boat trips from here. The train is much cheaper than the bus.

Generally, this a wonderful retreat for those looking for a tranquil alternative to the boozy nightlife offered further along the west coast of the Algarve. It seems to attract Portuguese families and retired people and is wonderfully peaceful. Everyone has been very friendly and we haven't felt awkward about having an active and sociable toddler with us, although equally it doesn't feel over run with children as they
were are all so well behaved and just played with each other.
We would certainly recommend Pedras del rei and may even return one day. The locals are incredibly friendly and welcoming and we had many conversations where we didn't even share a single common word!!
Lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheHoneymooners2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Me and my friend arrived after midnight and were taken to the apartment we booked which consisted of a very small kitchen, bathroom and front room which contained wardrobe space and two bed settees. We slept there the first night but the day after asked for an upgrade (at cost) and were placed in a one bedroom bungalow which was well worth the extra cost and just what we wanted. The complex was fairly quiet and there didn't seem to be anyone in the bungalows near us which was great.

We ate breakfast in the little cafe onsite and ate in the onsite restaurant a couple of nights and ate out in Santa Luzia a couple of times. The shrimp kebabs in the restaurant were delicious and we were very impressed with the service (the manager/waiter was very nice!)

The beach was a short distance and we took advantage of the complimentary train which led down to the beach which was beautiful. There were a few bars/restaurants at the beach which was perfect for our lunch time drink!

We went by train to Albufeira for the day which we enjoyed but i was glad to be staying at Pedras as it was very quiet and not very touristy (like Albufeira).

We also made a couple of trips to Tavira and enjoyed a meal or two there.

We took taxis to Santa Luzia at a cost of about 5 euros but nowhere was too far. A lot of people seem to hire cars but as i drive every day at home i don't particularly want to drive when i'm on holiday which is why we took taxis.

We would definitely go again - it was perfect, very quiet, staff very nice, but we would probably book a bungalow next time to save changing rooms.

Room Tip: I would recommend booking a one bedroom bungalow and not a studio apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dukkykaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked & paid through Co-op travel (i.e flight, hire car & accommodation) & arrived at Faro Airport at 8.30pm. We eventually after collecting car (see separate Goldcar review) arrived at 11.30pm & were led a considerable way over the site to a bungalow apartment which smelt of cigarette smoke & was drab, we asked to be moved & were placed in a modernised bungalow nearer the centre of the complex that night. We assume we were not put there first as we are oap's, & the receptionist thought we would like to be quiet! The road through the site is used by the locals to access the beach, so there was some light traffic, also a bungalow near us was being renovated, but we didn't mind. We were near the restaurant and breakfast Cafe. We booked half board. The accommodation consisted of 2 single beds, bathroom, kitchenette & Lounge, with a generous terrace. Cleaners came in every other day, at irregular times. We stayed 10 days & bed linen changed at least twice, towels every other day. There is free air conditioning & electricity for cooking, fridge, freezer & t.v. Restaurant:- traditional : It was strange to us in the restaurant to be read out our options which were 3 choices each night of a starter, main & desert. It was waiter service which we appreciated having recently experienced the chaos & free for all at Buffets! However, we felt a bit 2nd rate as customers coming in for the occasional meal, were given the menu to choose from. But all the meals were good apart from one, which we were over compensated for. We were also surprised with the horderves which were presented on the table whilst we waited for the meal i.e. olives, bread, sardine pate' & sometimes goats cheese, however these were charged at about 50p a portion. We were not told that these were extra, & didn't expect it having received Turkish hospitality free bread etc., but wine about 2.5euros a glass. Continental breakfast served on a tray of fresh bread, sliced cheese, ham, boiled egg, jam, margarine, butter, mixed fruit, tea or coffee. The bar is open until 2pm, and the barman was very obliging & friendly & gave us a lot of information about the local area. There is a supermarket on site which is very reasonable & two small gift shops. There are buggies that can be hired to get around locally. The beach is endless & beautiful approached by foot 20mins. over a conservation area or by a little train. There is a Cafe on the beach. I found this place idylic as I don't like clubs, & commercial entertainment. When we were there the temperature was higher than normal up to 36degrees. There is a swimming on site which is cleaned daily with an attendant all day. We visited Tavira 5km away very quaint & has a roman bridge. San Antonio near the Spanish border a bit bigger & more modern. Inland we visited the Pink Palace & roman ruins & as far as Alburfeira. Fuseta small fishing town well worth a visit, can take boat trip. We often saw local farmers still using horse & carts. We avoided the motorway as we heard stories of people being charged for toll fees from previous car rentals. We found English tourists to be in the minority, but all staff spoke good English, very pleasant & helpful. We would definitely go again as sooooo relaxing, & good value for money.

Room Tip: Hire car is a must as a bit out on a limb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised at how decent pedras was considering the low cost.
If you want a great family holiday in fabulous setting away from the boring same old hotels and apartments along the algarve, this is the place for you.

Clean, friendly, great pool, stunning gardens and close to fantastic beaches.
Local restaurants in Santa luzia were excellent.

Train to beach was fun for the kids.

Would def go back in June or September when it's not full.

Room Tip: We asked for a newer 2 bedroom apartment and got one with new looking bathroom and kitchen. All mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 953Rachelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Luzia
3.2 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
12.3 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedras d'el Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedras d'el Rei

Property: Pedras d'el Rei
Address: Aldeamanto Turistico Pedras d'el Rei | Ria Formosa Natural Park, Santa Luzia 8800-531, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Santa Luzia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Santa Luzia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedras d'el Rei 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the small town of Santa Luzia - Tavira, Pedras d'el Rei is a well known touristic resort in the Eastern Algarve. With a wide variety of accommodation available (from Studios for 2 persons up to Villas for 8 persons), all apartments are fully equipped, providing a cosy stay within magnificent green areas in a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pedras d'el Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedras d`El Rei Hotel Santa Luzia
Pedras Del Rei
Pedras D'el Rei Portugal/Santa Luzia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing