We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go here if you’re looking for relaxation, beautiful tranquil surroundings and excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pedras d'el Rei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pedras d'el Rei
Ross-on-Wye
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go here if you’re looking for relaxation, beautiful tranquil surroundings and excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Pedras d’el Rei Review

Title: Do go here if you’re looking for relaxation, beautiful tranquil surroundings and excellent service!

Don’t go here if you’re looking for nightlife, shops, entertainment and crowds! Do go here if you’re looking for relaxation, beautiful tranquil surroundings and excellent service! We booked 10 days in early February and would go back tomorrow if we could get the time off work.

Our apartment was small but very comfortable, with a panoramic view of the sea and nature reserve. The beach was about 1km away and was deserted out of season, just a short walk or [free] train ride away.

The nearest village, Santa Luzia, was a pleasant 20 minute stroll away, and had a few nice bars and fish restaurants, but not much else. Heaven!

The nearby town of Tavira (about 5km away) was a fascinating old town, on the river. We spent many a happy hour wandering around the ancient cobbled streets admiring the classic combination of beauty and squalour.

We hired a car for three days – it’s well worth exploring in land to get even more off the beaten track and witness more beautiful scenery. We got a good deal on car hire from reception – service was always excellent there and the free Wi-fi was an added bonus.

Overall, a fantastic break and we would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to get away from it all.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony and were rewarded with a splendid sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon_and_Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    83
    52
    21
    17
See reviews for
83
88
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We live 3 days at the begiing of october 2011. That was a low season and room costs 22 euros per night. That's excellent value for money. Comfortoble, very spacy room with aircon and private big balcony was very good.
There are everything to cook inthe room but we prefed fish restraunts in Tavira (10 minutes by car) or Santa Luzia.

Beach is 10 minutes walk from the hotel and can be reached by train. Pool is not big but clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank boris_sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We set off for a few days of doing as little as possible, rest somewhere quiet and comfortable and enjoy the beach.
The accommodation, a 1 bedroom villa, was clean, comfortable and furnished to a very high standard.
The restaurant and cafe facilities in the resort and on the beach served good quality food and drink.
The resort, garden, swimming pool etc. are very well maintained. I don't have children but this resort looks very child friendly.
The 24 hour reception is very convenient as we arrived just before midnight, there was always at least one member of staff who could speak perfect english, very helpful throughout our stay.
Lots of space to walk and explore in the marshlands and the beach stretches to the horizon, both sides! The little steam train that take visitors to and from the beach is a great perk after a lazy day on the beach.
Very affordable, all amenities reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly upgraded villas/rooms as not all of them have undergone an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alichia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire - UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Booked a verrrrrry cheap break here in September, so wasn't expecting much.

However, the accomodation surpassed our expectations. The word "bungalow" doesn't appear on any of the listings, but that is exactly what these are. Yes, they could probably do with a bit of updating, but they are clean, spacious, and actaully quite charming (in a rustic kind of way). Air con, clean, comfy beds, TV, and private patio area.

The complex is great with tidy, well tended gardens everywhere.

The pool is nice, but a tad small.

The on-site restaraunt is great, and not too expensive.

The train to the beach is quick & easy. You'e on the beach after a pleasant 10 minute ride.
When you get to the beach, it is great. Lovely long stretch of soft sand with a few cafes and restaraunts.

Santa Luzia is a 20 min walk akong the front. Not much there, but the restaraunts that we visited were decent quality and good value.

The major downside for us was the mosquito's... As this this on a nature reserve, not much can be done about them. Just make sure that you pack some repellant!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BondMacclesfield-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

A well maintained residence with all services at accessible price. The old glory of the villas is a bit lost throughout the time with the reduced quality of the rooms. But if you are not looking for top luxury, this is a great place for families. Very gentle personnel and affordable prices.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prrmra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

I usually go for vacation every year to Pedras because it has great Beach ( Praia do Barril ) and the Restaurants in the tows nearby are really good specially in Fish.
The Hotel is quite good the rooms where i stayed in they had A/C small Kitchen TV and 2 bedrooms and bathrooms and nice Dinning / Living Room and small balcony to sit at the end of the day and relax while our Kids run around the grass in front of the balcony but make sure when you make the reservation you ask for the Renovated Rooms because from what i know not all the Rooms have been Renovated.
The Hotel has Pool Tennis courts Kids Park Sailling Sports and they rent bikes and Golf carts to get around. They also have a small snack bar where we can have some Sandwich´s / Hamburguers / Pizza´s for a quick meal or just go to the restaurant wich i ear it´s pretty good but honestly i never ate there i rather eat outside the Hotel area and exploid all the good Restaurants around the towns nearby.
The way to get to the beach is great for the kids they really enjoyed it you walk down to Pier and hop on the old styled train that will take you straight to the beach in a trip that usualy takes 10 minutes or you can take a walk down to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athayde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

When i was a kid (25 years ago) used to come her with my parents so i know the place well and maintain the tradition of coming back, at least once a year (most of the times for a long weekend). Now that i have my own family i just keep coming back. I usually come off season (June) when weather is reasonably good (could get unlucky) and prices are still reasonable.
It is a resort with all kinds of different apartments (they all have kitchenettes). There are apartments on 2 floor buildings, there are individual villas and you have the modern luxury apartments.
This time I chose the luxury apartments since I was travelling with several family members and this way it was possible to guarantee that the apartments were close to each other, since the luxury apartments aren’t scattered throughout the resort, like the other older apartments.
For the group of 13 adults and 3 kids (< 5 years old) I rented one T2 and two T1’s. In spite the indication “T2” and “T1” these luxury apartments actually have an extra room then indicated: The T2 actually has 3 rooms + living room with sofa bed and the T1 actually has 2 rooms + living room with sofa bed. Living room has joined kitchenette that has dish washer, washing machine, micro-wave, oven+burners, toaster, etc. There is also a LCD television and fireplace. The T1’s are all located on the ground floor. They have a large glass door with access to the terrace which has direct access to the grassy garden. There is a plastic table + chairs outside so you could have your meals here (you could also have them inside though). The T2’s are all located on the top floor and have 1 main terrace (obviously without direct access to the garden) where you could have your meals. The T2’s are very similar to the T1 except it is a duplex. The second floor of the T2 has a room +bathroom + private balcony. The T1 has a 1 public bathroom + 1 bathroom in the suite. The T2 has 2 private bathrooms + 1 public. The apartments have air conditioning but not in all rooms.
In June the luxury T2 cost 175 €/night for 6 people (with 3 individual rooms) and the T1 cost 145 €/night for 4 people (with 2 individual rooms). The living room has a sofa bed so you could have at least an extra person sleeping in the living room (although I think they charge extra). They put a baby bed (for 2 years old) in our room free of charge (although they announce charging 7,5 € a night for this). I booked through “www.booking.com” which comes out cheaper that through the official Pedras Del Rey site.
In the past have stayed at the other older apartments and villas. These are very cute looking and romantic from the outside but inside are a bit rustic. Since it is a big resort you have to watch out to where you stay since some apartments are closer to the beach others closer to the pool area (lots of kids) and others are more distant from these. The older apartments are ok (but opposite to the luxury) not really inviting to stay inside. Better indicated as a dorme which is also ok since you don’t come to sleep. All these apartments have a balcony or a terrace where you could have your morning breakfast or other meals. Since there is a lot of green/vegetation you have to beware bugs: mosquitos (specially at dawn and at night), I have spotted cockroaches in some of the older apartments (specially the ones on the ground floors)) and have asked to change. If you are not careful with sugar and bread you could also get ants storming in. But this is the risk of being in such a beautiful area in contact with such a nice garden and vegetation. The older apartments might or might not have air conditioning. Some of these apartments are privately owned so some could be better than others.
Whether it is for the older apartments/villas or luxury apartments, you could also try to reserve directly since the owners of the privately owned could choose to rent the apartments directly or through the resort’s management. You could find some of these apartments through www.homelidays.com
A 5-10 min walk away from the luxury apartments you have the central area of the resort where you could go for breakfast (to have your morning expresso coffee). In the central area you also have a supermarket where you could buy fresh bread (just out from the oven) and all other groceries. You have a newspaper kiosk, ATM (be aware since at times it could run out of cash in which case the alternative is Santa Luzia village), restaurant, bar, cafés, small playground for children, tennis court and pool.
Renting an apartment at Pedras Del Rey entitles you to a pass (per person) for the train that brings you to the beach (otherwise it is a 1,5 km walk to the beach). From the luxury apartments it is a 5-10 min walk to the pool area. And from here an extra 5-10 min walk to the train. The train takes about 5-10 min to the beach + the waiting (the train is slow so sometimes it is even faster to walk – 10-15 min if you are a fast walker). But kids just love the train! Once you arrive at the beach (Praia do Barril) you have a restaurant + café and a bikini shop. You also have toilets in this area. The beach is several kilometres long so if you walk a bit you will reach a deserted area where the nudists usually go.
The beach usually has the warmest waters of the Algarve usually at least 2 to 3º C warmer than Portimão. Usually there are no waves but I have surfed 1m waves here. The Algarve is relatively calm but when you get Southeast winds usually the temperatures of the water goes up and you could get big waves. Usually this could last 2-4 days, then the ocean calms down again, and the water gets cooler. In average you could get these waves once a month in the summer months (more often in the winter). From June to September water temperature could be between 18º C and 23º C. The weather in this area is also usually warmer and drier than the rest of the Algarve.
In the proximity (2-3 km) from Pedras Del Rey you have Santa Luzia village where you could go for supper (try “Canto Azul” for a nice romantic evening (average 20-30 €/person with wine) – the owner is a somewhat eccentric German woman + very nice husband – food is delicious and somewhat different, not the typical Portuguese plates). For cheaper meals, and typical fish, etc, you have several other restaurants in the area. Also not far (about 10—15 km away) from Pedras Del Rey you have the town of Tavira. Could also hop to Spain (Ayamonte) which is about 30 km away. Of course for these you need a car.
Overall the resort is great, especially for kids, especially because of the pool area, train ride to the beach and grassy gardens.
Also very romantic if you travel with your spouse/partner. In this case stay away from the pool and on the beach walk away from the crowd to the deserted parts.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want (read review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Marco1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Luzia
3.2 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
12.3 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedras d'el Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedras d'el Rei

Property: Pedras d'el Rei
Address: Aldeamanto Turistico Pedras d'el Rei | Ria Formosa Natural Park, Santa Luzia 8800-531, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Santa Luzia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Santa Luzia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedras d'el Rei 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the small town of Santa Luzia - Tavira, Pedras d'el Rei is a well known touristic resort in the Eastern Algarve. With a wide variety of accommodation available (from Studios for 2 persons up to Villas for 8 persons), all apartments are fully equipped, providing a cosy stay within magnificent green areas in a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pedras d'el Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedras d`El Rei Hotel Santa Luzia
Pedras Del Rei
Pedras D'el Rei Portugal/Santa Luzia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing