We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lumsden 'must stop'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bafe

The Bafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Lumsden
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: All goods baked fresh on site daily. Delicious cream donuts, home-made pies and wholesome sandwiches made with our own fresh breads.
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Lumsden 'must stop'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Been a while since I visited Chris & Judy at the Bafe - took a young grandson, who had finished school for the holidays, for lunch. He had a ham sandwich & I had one of their freshly baked tasty pies. I suggested we share the one cream/jam do-nut but he assured me he could eat a whole one so Judy kindly prepared some more. Always good coffee & you can add your comments to the walls - & ceiling.
Can be found on your left as you drive thru Lumsden from Invercargill but from Gore you need to turn south. often the Bafe closes late afternoon - they run out of fresh food - they make great bread as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJR555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gore
1 review
“Fantastic pastries and great folks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Doughnuts, pastries, sandwiches all top rate. All made in the shop! Great breads too! Good coffee and hot chocolate. Chris and Judy, the owners are great folks. A must visit any time passing through Lumsden, Worth a special trip too!
We stop in on every trip to New Zealand, can't miss the treats! Always something new to try on each visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary Random Find...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

While passing through Lumsden on a Sunday morning..we stopped to take a photo of this eccentric little café / bakery with it's murals and signs. Being a Sunday morning it was closed....but the owner came out to do some chores in the yard and said he'd open up for a couple of coffees! we went inside and also bought a couple of wonderfully fresh baked muffins.
Great coffee....and very friendly and chatty couple. Thanks a lot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cramsicnarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Port in a storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

End point of Stage in the cycle tour of Southland. 150 km in the rain. Great sandwiches, nice surroundings. Coffee in a real cup. If you are stopping in Lumsden its a really xhilled stop..

Helpful?
Thank peterjdaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Called here today first time visited ,Its a gem,One beef and Cheese pie one toasty Sandwich.
Will call again on return trip.
Got to have some more from here its one in a Million.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bafe also viewed

Lumsden, Southland Region
Lumsden, Southland Region
 
Lumsden, Southland Region
Lumsden, Southland Region
 
Mossburn, Southland Region
Mossburn, Southland Region
 

Been to The Bafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing