We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you so much!”

Windmill Cottage Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston-under-Redcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windmill Cottage Guesthouse
Reviewed May 30, 2013

At 9.30pm on a cold ,windy night, we were stranded just outside Shrewsbury when our pre booked overnight accomodation attempt had failed. We had been handed a card for Windmill Cottage- 'just in case' by a helpful receptionist. At 10.00pm we rang the number and explained our predicament to a cheery sounding lady. OK she said and gave us instructions to the cottage. We arrived at 10.30pm and were warmly welcomed by Lorainne. We were shown to the 'Weston' room which was beautifully prepared, with fresh flowers , a small bottle of wine and glasses, and a welcome tray. After a rather fraut experience we enjoyed a really comfortable nights sleep and awoke, refreshed to enjoy a fabulous 'Full English Breakfast' with all the trimmings, Nothing was too much trouble for Lorraine, who was welcoming, cheerful and friendly- an excellent hostess. Such a lovely location too and we hope to visit again - And guess where we'll stay!! Thank you so much. Andrew & Brenda H

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshireLorraine, Owner at Windmill Cottage Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it was very nice to meet you both.
There will be a warm welcome waiting for you on your return to Windmill Cottage,
hopefully not on another cold and windy night !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 50 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at windmill cottage for one night as we were attending a wedding at hawkestone hotel. The welcome from Lorraine, the accommodation, and the breakfast were outstanding. The standard of the rooms were immaculate , so clean and fresh and we thought the little extras like the wine and toiletries , welcome tray and locally purchased jams that accompanied the breakfast were all excellent. Lorraine and Gino spent some time talking to us after breakfast and they are the friendliest and warmest people you could meet and so committed to their business and keeping guests happy. Thankyou for the pleasure of staying with you and we hope to meet again soon. Valerie Paul lulu and eve nagington.

Room Tip: We occupied two of the rooms on the fist floor and they were the same as regarding standard , both w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshireLorraine, Owner at Windmill Cottage Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and once again a lovely review !!
Many people like yourselves arrive here as guests but leave as friends, hope to meet
you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Me and my partner booked into the cottage on 29th march 2013 as we were attending a wedding the following day.From the minute me and my partner arrived at the windmill cottage lorraine couldn't do enough for us, she made us feel very welcome, she showed us to our room, and what a beautifull room it was,there was a tray with tea ,coffee ,fresh milk and bottle of water for the kettle and some melt in the mouth biscuits.The bathroom was a really good size, as was the shower, every thing was immaculate.The bed was very comfortable with lovely fresh clean bedding.The next morning we went down for breakfast,lorraine and gino set about making our breakfast , i had tea and toast with fresh juice, while my partner had juice and cereal,then when we had finished we had a full english breakfast, which set us up for the day.It was good to see they were using locally sourced jams and produce. Lorraine and Gino are really friendly people and very lucky people living in the beautifull surrounding.We will be going back to shrewsbury in august for a christening, and i know where we will be staying Thanks for sharing your home with us

Room Tip: We did not find anything at all to complain about
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshireLorraine, Owner at Windmill Cottage Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and what a lovely review !!
'Best B & B ever', that means so much to us.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to maybe seeing you again in
August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Beautiful accomodation in quiet, rural surroundings near Hawkstone Follies. Lovely bedroom with exposed wooden beams. Clean and comfortable with en-suite facilities. On-site parking was handy.

Although the small bottle of wine on arrival was a nice touch, as was the variety of different teabags, we’d have preferred a better breakfast instead. The portions were tiny, and we weren’t offered any more. The food was also generally lacking in taste and seemed like cheap supermarket food, which didn’t fit with the high standard of the accommodation. A rural location like this has excellent local suppliers of fresh, good quality food right on the doorstep - eggs, jams, sausages, bacon, bread, etc. Using local produce doesn't cost much more, yet it supports local producers and tastes better, leaving a lasting good impression. Instead, our final impression of Windmill Cottage was disappointment, as if we’d eaten a rushed breakfast in the canteen of a supermarket. This is a shame, as our stay was otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NightOwl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshireLorraine, Owner at Windmill Cottage Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

We have run the bed and breakfast for 15 years and this is the first negative comment about our breakfast. If you watch our u-tube advert on our website the portions you see are exactly
what we serve, if you are a hearty eater then all you had to do was say and we would have cooked you extra.
Regarding the quality of the food, the meat is bought from an independent butcher and it is
unfair to compare us with a supermarket breakfast. We feel we offer good value for money
and this is verified by reading what our guests have written in our guestbook.
We have taken on board some of your comments and have now sourced some locally made
preserves which are delicious, so thank you for that !!
Hope you will return in the near future and maybe we will receive a five rating !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Windmill on 24th August as we were attending a wedding nearby....on arriving our room was ready early which were very grateful so we could get ourselves ready for the wedding. It was spotlessly clean as was everywhere.
The owners are such lovely, warm and friendly people who made us feel so welcome,nothing was too much trouble.
Our lovely kingsize bed was so comfortable we didnt want to get out of it in the morning.
I would highly recommend Windmill Cottage and would give it 100% for cleanliness and hospitality.
Posted by M.Tortoishell and V.Tyers from Uttoxeter Staffs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in june 2012 & would thoroughly recommend, comfortable bed, immaculatly clean room & bathroom & extremely friendly hospitality. Would love to go back again one day.

Room Tip: We had the 'weston room' & recommend this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floss d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at Windmill Cottage for one night in June 2012. It was booked due to its close proximity to a wedding reception venue.
Excellent breakfast, lovely room and made extra special by them leaving a bottle of wine in our room on arrival. The owners were friendly and welcoming.
Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EveWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windmill Cottage Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Cottage Guesthouse

Address: Weston-Under-Redcastle | Nr. Shrewsbury, Weston-under-Redcastle SY4 5UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Weston-under-Redcastle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-under-Redcastle
Price Range: $66 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmill Cottage Guesthouse is a charming 17th century black and white cottage situated in the quiet picturesque Village of Weston Under Redcastle, 10 miles north of the Medieval Town of Shrewsbury and adjacent to Hawkstone Park Hotel with its two 18 hole golf courses and famous Follies. We offer a warm, personal and professional service in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, with thoughtful extras wine/water, homemade biscuits and fresh flowers in all en-suite bedrooms. WINNERS of the channel 4 programme 'Four in a bed' 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windmill Cottage Guesthouse Weston-Under-Redcastle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing