We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non Golfer at a golf hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Non Golfer at a golf hotel!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We chose this particular hotel for its location, and because it was half way to our final destination! We love the Shropshire countryside and this hotel is ideally situated to visit the beautiful countryside.
Our room was small but adequate having a good disabled shower, but not sure how convenient it would be for some one with severe disability. The room would, I think, be too small for a wheelchair user but OK for us as we just struggle using baths or small showers.
The grounds were fantastic, as you would expect for a golf hotel, with the added bonus of a Folly next door, owned by the hotel it was great for a wander round, if somewhat steep in places, and easy to get lost in! The entrance was about a mile away with a small charge, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fed_up_me_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizt931, Guest Relations Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, in particular regarding the adapted room. We are currently reviewing the facilities we provide for guests staying in that room and it is likely that we will make some further adaptations. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of a spare day to enjoy a visit to Hawkstone Park Follies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    137
    104
    45
    42
See reviews for
67
119
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Booked a party of 8 ,2rounds of golf Sun&Mon, Arrived Sun could not get in rooms till 2pm
Tee time moved back 1hour seemed to be playing twilight golf,back in the hotel 7.30 down for dinner 8.pm. Staff said no room till 9.00 pm, first course arrived 15 minutes later,waited 40 minutes for second and 20 minutes for sweets, asked for wine list went to the bar myself 15 minutes later, staff did not smile even when buying a bottle of wine for £24 ,this is the worst service,worst food,a god weekend spoiled by awe full service and extortionate prices

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizt931, Guest Relations Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We normally pride ourselves on our customer service so I am sorry that you experienced delays in the dining room. If you decide to return to us in the future for golf on our fantastic courses I am sure that you will have a better customer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weston-under-Redcastle hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Yet again our faith in staying here and playing golf were rewarded by some great golf, some lovely food and a comfortable room & bed. Yes the hotel is tired but some external work is beginning to bear fruit. Yes the prices are high for the wine & the beer but the quality of both is fine. The hotel staff and green keepers are a great asset to the hotel. We will keep returning for the challenge of supporting this unique venue with its 3 golf courses ( 2 18 hole & 1 9 Hole) using the modern golf centre and excellent golf shop.

Room Tip: Stay on ground floor with view of Golf Course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JefandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizt931, Guest Relations Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding our facilities and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hawkstone Park again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The positives. There are only 2 and both are golf courses. Both are interesting and well maintained. Challenging for all levels of player.

The hotel is a disappointment. Unloved. We were in the chalets which would not be out of place in Butlins. At best functional, but honestly shabby is the best description. The mattresses were old and spongy. We ate in the hotel restaurant, we were a party of 15. Uninspired choices with a £9 supplement for a streak, which is a bit steep. The streak and ale pie was chip shop standard and was obviously bought in. The room was dated, maybe from the 70's. We asked for a 2nd bread roll and were told but our waitress "I'm not suppose to". Incredible, its only a bread roll. But when it comes to charging for drinks the hotel is 5 star.

The staff are fine. it's the owners, De Vere, flash name for a company based in Warrington, who are decided that a refub of this hotel can wait and wait and wait.

So good for golf but don't bother otherwise.

Room Tip: if you find one let me know
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank researcher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizt931, Guest Relations Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Will not be going back there again. We went as a half way mark for a funeral the following day. If you have walking difficulties as I do, then stay away. Our room was on the 1st floor and there is no lift just creaky old stairs. Each time some one came up you could hear every foot step and the the fire door bang. My parents were kept awake by people on the stairs and we were kept awake by people just walking past our room and the echo of the fire doors. The breaksast wasnt bad, but the bacon was very dry. Lovely scenery but an awful sleep. I was in so much pain after climbing to our room and the staff weren't very caring. Very disappointed with the old coavh house hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizt931, Guest Relations Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
The original hotel was built in the 18th Century to accommodate visitors to the Park and it is listed by English Heritage. We are therefore unable to make certain alterations to the structure and this is the reason why there is no lift installed. However we are sorry that you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Played the mixed open there in June the last one I'm sorry to say due to lack of support for the event we going to miss it next year the course was great apart from the weather giving it a beating the last few weeks only down side on the course was the greens very hard to read after the poor wet weather the food after was look warm with low price side meats the sweets got the yes vote but the club house bar prices are a killer ! £4.25 a pint the pro shop and staff all made us very welcome and we hope to support opens as they come up

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank johnwhite18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for your review, i am sorry that you will miss this particular event there are many others to chose from which are planned for next year, alternatively we have some great value Golf breaks available where you can enjoy both courses whilst staying with us overnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have just returned from a two night golf break at Hawkstone Park and have to say what a disappointment it was. As soon as we pulled up in the car park we could see how run down it was. Reception was very small and dark, but check in was efficient and speedy and reception staff polite and friendly. Our rooms were on the ground floor, and instantly depressing. The bathroom was compact but modern , clean and bright. The main bedroom however was dark dreary and grubby. The radiator would not turn off and the window would open a few inches and there was an impressive cobweb complex on the ceiling above the radiator! I had to ask for the kettle to be changed as it was dirty on the outside and green on the inside,awful! A quick note to the maintenance man who was sent to replace the kettle: If you are going to talk about the guests in a derogatory manner,make sure they are not within earshot!! Breakfast was fine with a fairly good choice but everything was lukewarm.Dinner was not at all good with a poor choice of cheap quality produce badly cooked. The chef seems to think that presentation is everything, it isn't! The golf courses were very good although wet,and the setting excellent. The staff were on the whole very good and doing their best in a difficult situation. It is such a shame that this hotel has been allowed to fade to such an extent, let's hope that it has not gone past the point of no return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beckamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkstone, General Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for your review i am sorry there were some maintenance issues in the bedroom, i am assured these have been rectified. All the team will see your feedback in order to assist them in making sure our visitors expectations are met
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston-under-Redcastle
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.8 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury North (Harmer Hill)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
23.3 mi away
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
4.4 mi away
The Inn at Grinshill
The Inn at Grinshill
#1 of 1 in Grinshill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkstone Park Hotel

Property: Hawkstone Park Hotel
Address: Hawkstone Park, Weston-under-Redcastle SY4 5UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Weston-under-Redcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston-under-Redcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawkstone Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawkstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hawkstone Park
Hawkstone Park Hotel Weston-Under-Redcastle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing