We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic value Golf Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have organised many golf breaks for our group, which varies between 4 and 8 members. We recently booked a 2-day break (for 4 of us) at Hawkstone Park, via YourGolfTravel.com. We paid £79.00 for two rounds of golf with an overnight DBB stay. We were returning to the venue for the first time in about 12 years. Previous experiences had always been good (especially the golf on the 'Old' Hawkstone Course and it's stunning setting), however we were a little surprised by some of the negative reviews we had read. But, with having only paid £79 we weren't too concerned. Well, you can only judge by your own experiences, and I have to say that what we got was excellent from start to finish. We played golf on the Hawkstone course on the first day, and although I have to say that the old course has lost a little of it's aura, we still enjoyed an excellent round in what is a beautiful setting. When we checked in at the Hotel we were welcomed by a very cheery and attentive chap on reception, and allocated our rooms with the minimum of fuss. After booking a table (and time) for dinner (again no fuss), we decided to enjoy a couple of pints in the late afternoon sunshine. The young lad behind the bar was friendly and efficient, and quickly set up a tab for us. When we got to our rooms they were a little basic, but very clean and comfortable (just what 4 lads on a golf break expect)! Dinner was exceptionally good value, three very well prepared and presented courses, served by a young waitress, and a waiter who were attentive without being overbearing. Both had a good sense of humour and appeared to enjoy what they were doing (rare these days)! After a good night's sleep we enjoyed our second round on the much improved Championship Course. Check out was again easy and without fuss, and a charming and chattly lady wished us a safe trip home, and hoped to see us again. All in all, an excellent, fantastic value-for-money short trip. Thanks to all the staff at Hawkstone Park..!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miltonrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizt931, Guest Relations Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

A great review for Hawkstone Park hotel and golf - many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 432 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

I was one of a party of nine returning to Hawkestone Park for a three day, two night stay. A number of our golfing group have been coming back for up to twenty years. Both golf courses provide a good challenge . The Hawkestone course has some of the best scenery I have seen in this country, and worth a walk round for non golfers. The hotel could do with brightening up a bit, it is a bit dull. I stayed in a large single room which was clean, well furnished and had a very comfortable bed with good class bed linen. The television was small but included Sky Sports.
The good sized bathroom had a shower and bath tub. The staff at Hawkestone Park, from reception to servers and bar staff were very polite, efficient and friendly. A breakfast buffet was provided with an excellent variety of cereals, fruit and juices as well as a full English fry-up. Kippers and smoked haddock were available upon request. We were asked to pre-order dinner from a menu which provided a good selection. The food was well presented and cooked perfectly. Portions were large, accompanied by heaps of vegetables.
There were a few moans about the price of drinks at the bar, and the price of the buggies but we shall be returning for more next year, and probably the year after.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizt931, Guest Relations Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

The title of your review says everything we want to hear! Many thanks. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hawkstone Park Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I arrived with my family in anticipation of a stay in a great hotel. We had requested a suite, as in the past, suites have always delivered that "something special" to a break. (Opting for this over the Premier Inn down the road).
On arrival, the young receptionist was blunt, after eventually prizing herself away from the phone.
We were given vague directions to our room and sent on our way.
The hotel itself, is a great venue. I can see the pull for wedding receptions and parties.
However, the room itself is the old adage of mutton and lamb.
The room was clean, but a little run down.
The four poster bed was more of an annoyance than a feature.
Admittedly there were 2 TVs, but they only receive 7 channels of the hundreds available in the UK today.
The bathroom was clean, but old.
And the tea/coffee facility was very limited.
After an uncomfortable nights sleep for myself (everyone else slept soundly) we headed to breakfast, and it was as though I had woken up ion a completely different hotel.
The service was exemplary, the array of food was stupendous, and, what appeared to be a locally produced cooked breakfast was delivered to my table, hot and in a timely manner. This was divine.
On checking out, the receptionist was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable of the local area.
What a shame it's the first impressions that count.
3.5 out of 5 would be my overall rating. Good, not very good.

Room Tip: Save yourself the money. Get a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alpha2one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizt931, Guest Relations Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We very much appreciate your feedback and we are glad you were able to depart on a high note!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I think I've only ever left 2 negative trip advisor reviews which underlines how bad this experience was. We visited the hotel as part of a group of 7. The alarm bells should have been going off for me in advance of the trip as I contacted the hotel by email on the 1st July to allocate rooms for my guests and pre-book golf however I did not get a reply.

We got to the hotel after a 6 hour drive and were given forms to complete for our rooms. We were not offered any assistance to take our bags to our rooms and neither we were shown the way, we were merely pointed in the general direction. Two of our party had golf clubs and asked if they could store them, again no assistance was offered, they were simply given a key for the store.

We were then handed a form to make our choices for dinner which seemed a little excessive for only 7 people however we conceded that we would pre-order and returned our completed forms by 6pm. We arrived for dinner at 7:45pm and were instantly given our starters – we were not offered drinks and had to go to the bar to order a couple bottles of wine. We had to ask our waiter to change the dirty glasses which welcomed us at the table. The starters were good and we actually only had a complaint about the food when it came to the mains. Our mains were delivered before 8pm – one of my guests felt her chicken had been boiled and never ate most of it. Two of us had the sirloin and it did not taste right either. I asked for a peppercorn sauce and was given a jug of the sauce that the beef came with. The meals were edible however we left a great deal of waste and were surprised that the waiter didn’t ask if there was a problem. We asked for coffee and were disappointed, however by this point not surprised, to hear the coffee machine was broken and we were offered instant instead. Even though we had 3 courses we were out of the restaurant by 8:35pm.

Breakfast was the next debacle. The food was fine however when I asked to sign for the bill the lady said it would all be sorted out automatically. This seemed strange to me as I didn’t know how the waitress would decipher which of the 4 rooms had cooked and which had continental breakfasts however it soon became clear when all 4 rooms had 2 cooked breakfasts on the bill each day even though there was 1 room with single occupancy!! Suffice to say we went out for dinner on the 2nd evening and only 3 of 7 returned for breakfast the following day.

I would avoid this hotel and certainly won't be back!

Room Tip: Suite was a waste of money upgrading!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizt931, Guest Relations Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We are a friendly 3 star hotel in a peaceful and beautiful parkland setting and are very sorry that during your stay we did not meet with your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the customer service was outstanding. The staff couldn't do more for us.

Golf course was great although buggies for non members was expensive at £30.

The evening meals and breakfast were great too. Full English breakfast and 3 course evening meals which caters for all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizt931, Guest Relations Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we really appreciate your great feedback concerning Hawkstone Park Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A group of us stayed here for a wedding nearby and, after being in SE Asia recently, it was a disappointment to be honest. the decor is tired and needs a major refresh but I suspect that the availibility of a good golf course helps them get away with that for golfing types. Despite what others say the quality of the breakfast food was very good and replaced regularly which is important as places can stint on quality of ingredients too often. For over £100 a night for a room for two people in the Midlands (and it wasn't full) it was not worth themoney to be honest although it could have been good.

Room Tip: Probably not much choice in the area and fine if you want the golf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notdunroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizt931, Guest Relations Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest
Our golfing customers are of course important to us but we aim to ensure that we provide a quality experience for all our valued guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. With regard to our rates, these do vary depending on the time of the year and whether you stay mid week or weekend. Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Liz Tiernan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stopped here for a wedding, it’s a pleasant hotel with golf course attached. Nice walks in the grounds. The room we had was good, not huge on size but clean and had everything we needed. The staff were helpful. Breakfast was a little disappointing, the usual hot buffet style which was OK but nothing special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMysteryCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizt931, Guest Relations Manager at Hawkstone Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback which is appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you back on a future occasion.
Kind regards
Liz Tiernan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston-under-Redcastle
8.1 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.5 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
23.3 mi away
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
14.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkstone Park Hotel

Address: Hawkstone Park, Weston-under-Redcastle SY4 5UY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Weston-under-Redcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston-under-Redcastle
Price Range: $115 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawkstone Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawkstone Park is a modern and stylish hotel that is ideal for golf, family breaks, conferences, weddings and social events in Shropshire. It is situated in 400 acres of beautiful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawkstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hawkstone Park
Hawkstone Park Hotel Weston-Under-Redcastle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing