We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality to match a beautiful place”
Review of Lyth Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyth Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lyth Hill House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lyth Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent two nights at Lyth Hill House, but got more than a week's worth of great personal care from Clive and Gwendda. There was nothing that Clive wouldn't do to make this stop more convenient and rewarding. The house was on a single floor (Great for hauling bags on our own, even though Clive graciously insisted on helping.) There were fresh flowers everywhere. Our room was large, very comfortable, and quiet. The facilities were very modern, clean, and impeccably maintained. Gwendda's breakfast was ample and consistently delicious. It's a little tricky to find, but the location affords fabulous views both there and from vantage points within easy walking distance. Clive's directions make finding Lyth Hill easy. It's only a short drive to Shrewsbury. You should not miss this choice place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayakers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 54 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent a few nights here for our wedding anniversary. This is a truly luxurioius place to stay and could not have been better in any way.

The only 'problem' - the bed was soo comfy that getting up in the mornings took longer than it should have! Once up though, the breakfast was sumptious and kept us going throughout the day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillQuenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We found this delightful B&B through browsing the internet and I'm really glad we did. From the cheerful greeting to the final wave goodbye everything was perfect. Great location at the end of a little lane means no traffic and a great view over the fields. The room was spacious and fully equipped with everything the visitor could require. I was a bit dubious about the "wet room" en suite but it worked a treat.
A word of caution beware the breakfast - the quality of the food is very very good but the portions are very very generous!
I would happily recommend the Lyth Hill House except I'm worried it may be booked up the next time we want to stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I would like to thank the Lyth Hill House B&B, where my parents, husband and I stayed for a few days over my wedding week. They treated us (and even my four-pawed brothers) as family, allowing us free, if respectful, range of their immaculate and stunningly-located home, amazing pool and garden, as if it were our own. And believe me, I wish it were. The lovely couple who own and run the place even waved us off when we left, and I won’t be surprised if we will be back there again soon to celebrate an anniversary, or just a weekend :-p

Room Tip: They are all great rooms; it's a lovely house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Perfect in every way! We arrived as guests, left feeling like friends, from the warm greeting at the door to the final hugs goodbye and the wave into the distance on leaving, you feel at home. I echo all previous reviews, but it still does not do this wonderful retreat justice. It is amazingly comfortable and kept to the highest standard in every way imaginable, having most comfortable beds I've ever slept in outside home. Many little extras dotted around, i.e. sweeties in the lounge area, handy toiletries in the changing room/shower room, fridge for our use. Nothing is too much trouble for this genuine couple, even when they prepared a 0600am breakfast on the morning of our daughters' wedding! They put up with our two very grumpy and tired Shih Tzu's, who loved the garden, exploring the many winding paths. At night the place takes on a new ambiance with a beautiful lit fountain to the front driveway and lights out on the patio to the back. It is a stunning residence run by a very sincere couple. We cannot thank Gwendda and Clive enough for making our stay an excellent place to relax, especially in the exhausting and stressful days before the wedding.

Room Tip: Room 3 access to and over looking the garden through sliding patio doors at the rear of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheekycherubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

If anyone deserved to succeed at B&B this delightful, helpful, obliging and generous couple are they. From the second we parked the car to the second we drove away we felt as though our enjoyment of the facilities and our stay in shropshire really mattered to them. The place was spotless and the breakfast to die for. This is customer service at its best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millymoo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked our weekend at Lyth Hill House as a romantic weekend break. We arrived on our Motorcycle (Garage space available if wished)on Friday evening, Clive Greeted us and showed us to our recently refurbished room . Room 3 is a double room with patio doors into the garden and a lovely BIG bathroom with spa bath and a seperate shower. After a full tour of all the amenities we were offered tea and some of Gwendas (Delicious) home made cake, which we took in the beautiful garden. We then went for a swim in the heated indoor pool, which was as spotlessly clean as the rest of the establishment. Breakfast was amazing. Cooked to order and to perfection one can order as much or a little as required, there are also cereals and fresh fruit etc. We both really enjoyed our weekend at lyth Hill house and we will certainly be returning there soon. The best Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lyth Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyth Hill House

Address: 28 Lyth Hill | Lyth Hill, Lyth Hill, Shrewsbury SY3 0BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Lyth Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lyth Hill
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyth Hill House 5*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing