We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value For Money”
Review of Old Rectory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wem
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value For Money”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had a 2 night stay following an enjoyable visit a year ago. Beautiful Georgian building with tastefully landscaped grounds, in which we were encouraged to walk our elderly greyhound before dropping her off at the local kennels. Staff (most notably Claire) were all very friendly and both breakfasts & the evening meal we had on the first night were faultless. There was a wedding reception on while we were there, which didn't in any way impinge on our space, in fact added to the general bonhomie of this friendly hotel. The dining room & the conservatory are smart, comfortable places to eat, especially with the early morning autumn sun cascading into the latter. Room 6 was well equipped with fine traditional furniture & a well stocked refreshment tray. All in all & thoroughly enjoyable & relaxing break.
PS. You must pop into The Fox, less than 100 metres away & one of the friendliest pubs we've ever visited.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCMCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    60
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
126
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a 2 night break at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our deal included dinner on the first night from a set menu which was fairly limited but perfectly adequate and breakfast was fabulous. The room was large and airy with huge windows overlooking the gardens. As well as the usual tea tray, a bottle of water was left in the room each day. I found the whole place quite charming with the antique furniture, chandeliers, grand piano in the drawing room and creaky staircase. A refreshing change from large faceless chain hotels.

Room Tip: We paid a supplement to upgrade to room 16 which had an ornate wooden carved king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neesot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this great country hotel, and although we had the small double ( will make sure on future bookings we don't get that again) it was well appointed. Friendly staff, comfortable lounge and a great conservatory.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarkhamBodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights , the staff are all great with no exceptions , all very helpful a credit to the hotel. We ate in on two evenings joined by family and friends who wished they had stayed there! Food and service first class . Accommodation was lovely and the bed so comfortable if in the area again ,we wouldn't stay anywhere else.Highly recommend the old rectory.

Room Tip: We had room 6 executive double king size bed lovely .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersgloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. A lovely quaint old hotel offering good sized rooms - we were in room 8 overlooking the rear garden. Friendly and helpful staff, especially Claire. Good qualiy food but the special Living Social menu was a little limited. The inclusive boat trip along the reiver from Shrewsbury was enjoyable and informative.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely staff, brilliant food and a very quaint hotel. Had a lovely stay and would definately go back again. Eight of us stayed for a two night break and it was delightful. The staff couldnt do enough to make our stay enjoyable and the food was excellent both at night and breakfast. Excellent weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinaandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is an excellent hotel the staff are very very good and helpful nothing was too much trouble, the food we had during our stay was very good as well, this place is well worth a visit if you are in the area, it is highly likely we will visit again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo_jones41_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wem
6.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Grinshill
The Inn at Grinshill
#1 of 1 in Grinshill
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
407 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
13.4 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory Hotel

Property: Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Lowe Hill Road, SY4 5UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, LateRooms, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Wem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing