We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, shabby & overpriced!”
Review of Soulton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soulton Hall
Ranked #3 of 4 Wem B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dirty, shabby & overpriced!”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2010 & we will NEVER go near the place again! When we saw the brochure it looked lovely, a proper country house hotel & we were looking forward to our stay which was meant to be an anniversary treat. However, as we walked through the front door & saw the nasty red patterned carpet, we had a feeling we'd made a mistake & we were right! This is a family run hotel & it shows - they're amateurs & unprofessional. The greeting we received was from a man who told us to "fill the registration form" before disappearing through a door. We were shown to our room which, whilst large, had only a 4'6" bed - it could have taken a superking size easily - it was also uncomfortable. The tea tray had sachets of instant Nescafe coffee, Tetley tea bags and those plastic UHT milk containers - no biscuits. I noticed the bed's valance had been tucked in with the sheets, so pulled it out - I then realized why it was tucked in - it was marked & stained. However, the worst was to come: in the ensuite the extractor fan was full of fluff and dirt; the shower didn't drain away and the trim on the shower was hanging off and covered in mould. The bed was not only just a 4'6" size, but was uncomfortable too. We had dinner on the first night, which was an overpriced and very ordinary experience. The breakfast was equally disappointing - the service, choice and quality of food was not of the standard we were expecting for the price we paid. On the first morning I complained about the filthy extractor fan, the shower not clearing and the mouldy trim. We were out all day, so it gave them the perfect chance to give the ensuite a really good clean. The 3 problems I'd mentioned were sorted, but I'd forgotten to mention the scale buildup on the shower head and the cobwebs - complete with dead flies. Needless to say the scale on the shower head & the cobwebs were still there! We love old buildings and don't mind squeaky floorboards and old metal windows but there is ABSOLUTELY NO EXCUSE FOR LACK OF CLEANLINESS. This beautiful building needs a deep clean and a make over to rid it of the DIY jobs that have been inflicted on it - including the electrical connections to the outside lights on the trees which are protected from the elements by upturned buckets!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JayJay080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    32
    6
    14
    15
See reviews for
48
97
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stayed a single night in this wonderful old, beautifully-tended house, which is set deep in acres of pretty countryside. Our large bedroom was attractively decorated and the bed very comfortable. Our evening meal was excellent, and a good, interesting short wine list was available. While we were there, arrangements for a wedding party at the weekend were being organised; it looked very promising. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duane33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is a stunning historic family home, that has modern conveniences but retains a fantastic atmosphere. All the rooms are beautiful with lovely views across the estate. The family are very friendly and welcoming and can't do enough to make sure your stay is an enjoyable one. The supper by candle light is highly recommended, excellent local produce, cooked to perfection. Highly recommended

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This is my second stay at Soulton Hall and I've really enjoyed both stays. I've stayed in the Soulton Hall on my first visit and stayed close to the hall on the second visit. On both visits I've been treated very well by all the staff who made sure that anything I wanted was available. The food on both visits was really nice, and I like my food! On both visits, I've enjoyed a walk around the grounds and the woods and it's a beauitiful area. I also liked looking at the buildings and the history of the site. Well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed at Keepers cottage for a four day break, found the cottage to be very dated, shabby and not very clean, a lot of insects in the kitchen and bathroom. It stated it had been done up in the 60s, and not much seems to have been changed since then. Also tried to charge me an extra one hundred pounds having "forgotten" about my deposit. Will not return to this cottage. as it felt like a waste of money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank philslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Wow thank you so much Ann,Tim and Family for all your help in making Richard and mine a wedding to remember.
Everything from the food, wine service,room and bedroom were amazing and all my family fell in love with your stunning hotel!
we will see you soon!
love
Mr and Mrs Floyd
x

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemrShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This family run hotel has none of the pretentiousness of so many 'Country House Hotels'. The bedrooms in the main house are large, comfortable and traditionally furnished with great elegance. Mrs Ashton makes lovely home-cooked food. The setting is beautiful as is the house itself. Very good value and family friendly.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Morton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wem
7.4 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
14.2 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
19.9 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
8.8 mi away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soulton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soulton Hall

Property: Soulton Hall
Address: Soulton Road, SY4 5RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient manor house of mellow Tudor brick and honeyed sandstone in the delightful, intriguing county of Shropshire. Candle-lit dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Soulton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soulton Hall Hotel Wem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing