We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm and relaxing retreat, fabulous.”
Review of Soulton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soulton Hall
Ranked #3 of 4 Wem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm and relaxing retreat, fabulous.”
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Delightful location, wonderful hosts and delicious food. Couldn't be better. I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelmarQuidsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    31
    5
    14
    15
See reviews for
47
96
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Lovely old building with rooms of character and some with very sloping floors!
Family run hotel but with staff who can not remember what drinks you order and one who had no idea why we would want some olives with our drinks!
The food was fair with very poor selelction of deserts - nothing like the pictures on the web site - crumble, fruit and meringue, or ice cream both nights. The staff found it very difficult to adapt to minor dietary requirements even with quite a lot of notice. The addition of the bill was a mamouth task!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jq002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Stay at Soullton Hall as a birthday treat. Lovely countryside around the hall, the hall it self could do with a little updating in the lounge area, the room we stayed in the barnet room was a good size but again needs updating on the soft furnishing bathroom new ,spoilt by 20 year old curtains lots and lots of spiders in the bathroom but otherwise very clean. Service was very good had a lovely meal in the dinning room which was the highlight of the stay.
The broucher makes the hall appear to be much grander than it was and we were diaapointed on the positive side staff very friendly had a lovely if expensive meal. The walks around the hall grounds were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Friendly and well run. The building is amazing. Had a two night stay, food is great, was really relaxing in lovely countryside. The house is rather old, but the bathroom was really modern, obviously re done recently which was great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I recently booked Soulton Hall entirely to celebrate my 40th birthday with my 20 closest friends. We had an amazing Easter weekend in this beautiful house with its magnificent rooms. The Ashton family made us feel incredibly welcome and tempted us with amazing homecooked food. I cant wait to go again !

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinderella3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Just stayed one night (wished it could have been more) but had a fantastic meal. The five of us all enjoyed the stay and meal, accomadation excellent and the warmth of the Ashton family great. The meal was superb "really good tasting food"and the choice we were allowed excellent. Fantastic find hope to return someday.

  • Liked — Family atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeaGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Me and my boyfriend visited Soulton Hall to celebrate it being two years since we had met, and had a really fabulous weekend. On arrival we were served coffee with home made biscuits, and then shown to our room by the owner. We were in the Deakin room; spacious; huge princess and the pea style bed; and lots of windows that opened out and showed all the countryside around and let in all the lovely noises of birds and animals. We had a beautiful dinner, 3 fantastic courses (we had to have a break to lie down between main and pudding as we were SO full) in a candlelit room, again with fantastic views overlooking the gardens. We went for walks in the grounds of the hall, into the farmers fields and by the mound that dates back to just after 1066, and all in all came home so chilled out and rested. If you are coming here make sure you order dinner, it is extremely good value. We paid circa £200 for our room, dinner, and breakfast. They didn't charge us extra for coffee or juice before we left, a really nice touch. We felt as if we were staying in someone's home: which we were as the family do live in the house. It takes a lot for me to fully unwind and chill out when I do leave Manchester and head off into the country, but here I really had no choice and welcomed the slow pace and step back in time offered by Soulton Hall.

  • Liked — The sounds of all the animals and the open space, plus the food of course!
  • Disliked — Maybe a larger TV with a proper arial would be good, if they could keep it in the trad style.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tangledlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wem
0.8 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
7.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
The Inn at Grinshill
The Inn at Grinshill
#1 of 1 in Grinshill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
17.3 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
10.6 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soulton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soulton Hall

Property: Soulton Hall
Address: Soulton Road, SY4 5RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient manor house of mellow Tudor brick and honeyed sandstone in the delightful, intriguing county of Shropshire. Candle-lit dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Soulton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soulton Hall Hotel Wem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing