We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay (again!)”
Review of Soulton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soulton Hall
Ranked #3 of 4 Wem B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay (again!)”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was my fourth mini-break at Soulton Hall, and once again it did not disappoint! The family that own and run this business were very friendly and professional. They have managed to retain the amazing character and warm atmosphere of the historic house and surrounding working farm, whilst also offering all the modern conveniences one would expect from a hotel (e.g. in my room there was a warm, powerful shower next to a delightful free-standing bath; I watched the news in the morning on a wall-mounted TV from a huge four-poster bed). I managed to dodge the December rain and get out for a couple of bracing walks in the charming fields during the days, and thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the evenings in the sitting room with a book next to the log-fire. I am looking forward to coming back in 2014!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    32
    6
    14
    15
See reviews for
48
97
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We're told a different rate to what we were charged. Food was mediocre. Breakfast was very poor. Rooms cold, beds very hard. Awe flu smell from the open fire. The lady in charge was miserable. The elder man was ignorant until he learnt that we were staying. I feel for my friends as it was their wedding they were mis-sold on what they received. Never hold your wedding reception here!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky_h1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Always great staying here very comfortable, great food, very nice owners and a real piece of old England. Having stayed in lots of different hotels/ B&B's in the UK this is my favourite by a long way, it always seems so nice and welcoming, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at Soulton Hall on several occasions as it's a very convenient - not to mention peaceful and beautiful - location for family gatherings. The service is always friendly and attentive, the rooms are sumptuous, the food is second to none and the dwellings situated on the grounds are a treat with stunning views. With sprawling fields and woods to explore, this really has it all. File under: 'best kept secret',

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dai_Cardiff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I photographed a wedding at Soulton Hall a while ago - not only a BEAUTIFUL place, but the staff there were a pleasure to be with, which made for a wonderful wedding. Got some great shots in the grounds and of all the fun....I highly recommend this place as a spot to get married. Paul Read Photography

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulReadPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Had a lovely weekend at Soulton Hall a few weeks ago. This was a return visit and it was just as pleasant, tranquil and enjoyable a trip as my last one. The main house is a beautifully preserved building full of character and history but as warm and comfortable as any new hotel I've been to. Spent a perfectly relaxing evening in the lobby sitting by a log fire, reading a good book and sipping a gin and tonic having enjoyed the delicious food in the adjoining restaurant; just what the doctor ordered after a busy week in the city. We stayed in one of the cottages, which was spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable - bed was great and it was so nice waking up to the silence of the countryside, and being able to go for a morning walk in the fields nearby. We were warmly welcomed and we left feeling recharged and very happy with our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I was at Soulton Hall with a wedding party. We were mostly impressed by the staff, they were so friendly and helpful amongst the chaos of the wedding, they really made an effort to make you feel at home.
The food was spot on, so many times we've been to weddings and food has been rubbish but this was lovely.
The Hall itself is stunning and so full of character, I highly recommend staying here. Definitely not your average country stay, we will be returning !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wem
7.4 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
14.2 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
4.9 mi away
Abbey Green Farm bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Willington Lodge
Willington Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whitchurch
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soulton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soulton Hall

Property: Soulton Hall
Address: Soulton Road, SY4 5RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient manor house of mellow Tudor brick and honeyed sandstone in the delightful, intriguing county of Shropshire. Candle-lit dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Soulton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soulton Hall Hotel Wem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing