We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keepers Cottage”
Review of Soulton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Soulton Hall
Ranked #3 of 4 Wem B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed in the cottage on at least 6 occasions and have , never been disappointed.
The owners are unfailing helpful and courteous.
We love the woods, fields and the wildlife.
The cottage is comfortable and well worth the money. It is situated off the road, and down a track, but there is no need for a4X4. Indeed, the owners are always willing to drive you home after a meal at the Hall. Our vehicle is a saloon car and we have never had a problem, in any season of the year.The visitors book in the cottage bears witness to the enthusiastic comments of those who have stayed there.
If you want a restful, country holiday, this is the place.

Room Tip: For self catering,ask for Keeperes Cottage, but not when we want to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 205 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our second visit to soulton hall and did not disappoint.Our room Hill was large, bright and very comfortable .Dinner was excellant and the menu changed daily .The family and staff always accommodating. We found soulton hall an ideal base for exploring shropshire and also a peaceful haven for chilling out .We think soulton hall is an ideal escape from the stresses and strains of modern life ,need i say more ?

Room Tip: rooms are all different
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selkybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We visited Soulton Hall for a meal in the restaurant and it was lovely. The hall has a quaint old world charm with a small bar area and lounge both with large fires which would be fabulous lit in winter. The restaurant is like being transported back in time with oak panelling, large oak tables and another fab fireplace. I had chicken terrine, followed by Shropshire beef and then strawberry pavlova all washed down with a very nice Tanners Bordeaux red. Hubby had the terrine and duck and a lovely cheese board. The food is excellent, the service was quick, the waiter and I think his mother were delightful and couldn't do enough for us both. Coffee in the lounge afterwards was very relaxing and we were not felt rushed to go as the hall is also a hotel. For something different and a little bit special, try Soulton Hall and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Exvoguemodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

A fantastic location for a few day's away.
A little under a quarter of a mile of the road into a wood!
The cottage is perfectly situated in the wood that surrounds the main building, Soulton Hall.
A reasonably sized garden surrounds the cottage which is great to sit in and enjoy all the wildlife that lives in and around the wood.
The cottage has three large bedrooms, 2 with a double bed in and one with twin beds.
One bathroom with sink and toilet and 1 seperate toilet are on the ground floor.
The living room/dining area is large enough for 6 people to relax and enjoy the stunning views through the large glass windows.
One small but adequete kitchen serves the cottage and contains a dish washer, oven/grill, microwave oven and a fridge freezer.
The only thing that reduces the score is the decor of the cottage, it really needs to be a little better than it presently is. Some of the wood work work needs attention as does the outside of the cottage.
Overall this cottage is well worth a look, plenty of space and things to do in the Shropshire area.
We had a lovely stay, the owners, Mr & Mrs Ashton are very friendly and most helpfull.
We shall be looking forward to a stay over next year.

Room Tip: Sleep downstairs, the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

we enjoyed staying at soulton hall march 2012 for 3 nights .The hotel is run by the ashton family anne john and son tim and we were made to feel extremely welcome .The hotel itself has the authenticity of a family owned and loved ancient house and oozes real character .Breakfast was excellent and dinner is not to be missed ,we dined on all 3 nights and the menu was varied made with fresh local ingredients and the food was quite simply amazing .I would recommend soulton to anyone who enjoys the peace of the shropshire countryside, superb food and a unique glimpse into life in a tudor manor .

Room Tip: speak to anne for more imfo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank selkybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I have visited the Soulton twice, the first time was in December 2011 when I stayed with my fiancé for my birthday (as it was recommended by my sister) and then more recently in February when I took my parents for an evening meal. The hall is a family run hotel and is excellent! One of the best hotels/restaurants I have visited!! The evening meal is delicious, if you can manage the starter, sorbet, main, desert, and then coffee (to be honest we did not) and certainly worth the £39.95! Nothing is too much for the staff to make your visit comfortable. When staying in December we found the room to be excellent, with lovely furnishings and the ensuite was very clean – we stayed in the hotel house rather than one of the other buildings. The breakfast the next morning was equally of high standard, although we were still quite full from the night beforehand. My parents eat out quite often at various restaurants and they agreed that it was an excellent meal with exceptional service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We traveled from Connecticut in United States to the UK and stayed at Soulton Hall for about four of days from late September to early October, We had a wonderful time. Our room was clean with an authentic historical feel ... and to our delight, the bathroom and plumbing were modern! The owners were also very hospitable and went out of their way to advise us (when asked) on places in Wales we might enjoy visiting. We followed their advice and were not disappointed. My husband mentioned how much we had been enjoying the dinners at Soulton Hall and stated that we had been staying in hotels that seemed to have a shortage of English food and served up what the hotels apparently considered rather "grand" French nouvellu cuisine (sp ?). We mentioned to them that in one hotel our dinner looked like a sparse/minimalist abstract painting, while somewhat attractive on a canvas our dinner could have fit into a tea cup! Don't get me wrong, we adore French food but not the new extreme version. Some of our meals at some hotels were so unsafisfyingly tiny it was laughable.
The proprietor of Soulton Hall asked what my husband would have liked to have eaten and my husband said "roast beef with Yorkshire pudding" like his mother who had English roots used to make. The proprietor promised him that in a few days time she would make him just that and to our surprise she remembered her promise. Our meal was magnificent! We visited England because we wanted an English experience and that is exactly what Soulton Hall made complete.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wem hotels
0.9 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Moorhead Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The Coaching Barns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soulton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soulton Hall

Address: Soulton Road, SY4 5RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wem
Price Range: $149 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient manor house of mellow Tudor brick and honeyed sandstone in the delightful, intriguing county of Shropshire. Candle-lit dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Soulton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soulton Hall Hotel Wem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing