We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if busy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atcham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid if busy!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The setting is beautiful, the staff are unable to cope when the restaurant and bar are busy! We had terrible service from start to finish, for over priced food! We won't be returning or recommending in the future

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxy B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    117
    82
    29
    30
See reviews for
79
165
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in March 2014. The location/setting/grounds are lovely. There is a bus stop right out side the hotel which is handy for getting in to Shrewsbury etc. The taxi fare from Shrewsbury (picked up outside the Lion Hotel) back to the hotel was £5.50. We used Comet taxi company which is cheaper than using the black cabs.

The bar and dining area is lovely. Yes.. it is a bit pricey, but a lovely setting. All the staff that we engaged with were really nice.

I booked with the hotel direct and chose one of their offers - dinner (3 courses), bed and breakfast in a standard room for £130. After I had booked, a Travel Zoo deal came up for dinner with 2 course meal and an upgrade to a superior rom (£119). I phoned the hotel, and they agreed to an upgrade to the superior room immediately... they were really good. I chose the Atcham Superior room. It is on the top floor (about 2/3 flights of small narrow steps... there is no lift), which was okay for us, but not if you are less mobile. The room is lovely and large, and the view of the bridge and river is indeed lovely. And I personally like old fashioned, vintage furniture so liked the ambiance of the room. However, it is in need of refurbishment. The carpet was threadbare in parts, there was an iron mark, scuff marks and generally was very worn (as was the stair carpet leading up to the room). Their was a broken pain of glass in the bathroom. Their was rust around the outside of the toilet at the bottom which was not nice at all. The water pipes in the room have been painted, and this is peeling off. In its heyday it would have been a gorgeous room. Bearing in mind this is classed as a Superior room. However, I still loved the room and would certainly stay in it again.... just a shame it is a bit run down. The bed and pillows were really comfortable and we had a decent nights sleep.

On checking out the room, we had an additional bill for the food. The receptionist said that we were only allowed £50 for the 3 course meal and the meal had gone over the £50 (which certainly was not explained when we booked). When we arrived in the dining room, we were given a sheet of paper stating Dinner, B&B guests with the menu items listed... and there was no price by any of the items. She promptly gave her apologies and said they must have put it through the till incorrectly and gave us the money back. However, please note that there is an extra £5 supplement when you choose the steak.. which is clearly stated on the sheet of paper that they give you. I never thought to ask on booking whether or not the 3 course menu was different to that which you could have if you had not pre-booked the dinner with the accommodation... that's a lesson leant. To be fair, the menu only had a few items missing... but that is not the point.... it is not properly advertised and we did not know about the £5 supplement for the steak on booking. But as I say, she promptly apologised and altered the bill. I do really like the staff there, they are very obliging and courteous.

The meal was okay.... my husband had the ribeye steak, which it said was alright. The chips were lovely, and the battered onion rings were cooked really nicely. The mushrooms on toast were okay too. I had a fabulous starter (crab, prawns, crayfish), followed by the salmon (with tai curry which was lovely). The cheese and biscuits were nice. My dessert (frangipane & pear tart with a bit of icecream) was quite dry and the crust was burnt. For the meal, I would give about 7/10.

It is a very warm, inviting hotel I feel... just a shame the Atcham Superior bedroom needs a refurb. All in all, I enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: The Atcham Superior is a large room, but in need of a refurb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaJeanJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding in the middle of February and I would love to come again in the summer. The location is stunning, right next to the river and opposite the entrance to Attingham Park. An old coaching inn, it is full of charm and tastefully decorated. Our visit in February meant we were welcomed by a roaring log fire in the busy bar/restaurant area.

The wedding ceremony and breakfast were in the converted stables, while the the courtyard was covered with a glass roof and filled with garden furniture, so it made best use of the natural light.

The food was excellent, and the range of options at breakfast the next morning was impressive and well cooked.

Our room was a superior suite and was very comfortable and a good size.

Overall a good quality hotel and a great location for visiting the local area.

Room Tip: The stairs would be a bit awkward for anyone with mobility issues but there are rooms on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for one night after family funeral.Welcome was super and nothing was too much trouble,especially helpful as we had travelled from N.Devon during the worst of the rain and gales!
The post funeral reception was handled very compassionately and efficiently.
The overnight stay saw us in large,quiet, comfy and spotless rooms with excellent decor and antiques age appropriate to the building(the old rectory I think).All in all it was like being at home or staying with a friend albeit much cleaner and tidier!
We had a great meal both at dinner and breakfast and it felt as if we were leaving old friends.
Despite the distance I am trying to work out an excuse to return!

Room Tip: modern" standard" rooms in old stables are smaller but fine and the superior bedrooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marypiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in a large kingsize room with a river view which was very nice, although the windows rattled in the wind ( nothing a bit of newspaper didn't resolve) the staff were helpful and we had a great evening meal that was included in the price. Breakfast was good too. We would definitely return if back in the area.

Room Tip: Room 4 was large, with a little seating area and great river view. However not for anyone with mobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a pleasant one night's stay which included an excellent Full English Breakfast and dinner which did not quite meet our expectations regarding food and service.
The bedroom was well appointed with good toiletries in the bathroom and an excellent selection of items to drink with little complementary cakes and sweets. However, the sleep quality was poor as the bed was not very comfortable and creaked and it was impossible to control the heating in the room which was far too hot. There was also a large cobweb in the corner!

Room Tip: in the main building bedrooms unsuitable for people who cannot climb narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked the Mytton Suite,overlooking the river and the Atcham Bridge.A lovely spacious room with a huge 4-poster.We paid for it of course but it was worth it for a birthday celebration.
We had been attracted by the prospect of live music starting at 6 pm.By 7pm,no sign of any music.On enquiry we were told the singer had phoned in sick -so no music ! Attempting to eat in the restaurant was chaotic. We had done a deal regarding the menu, but the waiter/kitchen staff seemed totally incapable of agreeing what we would be allowed to eat.After being presented with 3 different menus,we finally manged to reach agreement.I chose as my main course the cassoulet, which was a duck confit with haricot beans, pancetta and Toulouse sausage.The duck was fine, but alas no sign of either Toulouse sausage or pancetta.Not at all what I'd hoped for.My comments to this effect resulted in a complimentary glass of Merlot.
We ended up having an early night, and definitely a good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed and with very little traffic noise from the road outside.
Breakfast was briilliant !
Any hotel that serves eggs benedict as a breakfast option goes right up in my estimation,and it was truly delicious,with ham from Buttercross Farm,near Market Drayton. Most ingredients in the various dishes served are locally sourced.Another indicator for me of a quality establishment is their breakfast sausage.At the Mytton and Mermaid the sausage is Wenlock Edge,which would please even the most discerning sausage lover. And yes,we did ask to sample a sausage in addition to our Eggs Benedict.So,full ten out of ten for breakfast.
However,we were really disappointed about the loss of the live music (the main reason for our booking) and the Fawlty Towers-style start to our evening meal.
So,good in parts, but we did receive some compensation for our disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0ssHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atcham
6.2 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
3.6 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel

Property: The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Address: Atcham, Shrewsbury SY5 6QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Atcham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atcham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a grade II listed building, built in 1735 standing on the banks of the River Severn. A central location less than 10 minutes from Shrewsbury town centre and 5 minutes from J7 of the M54. The entrance to Attingham Park (National Trust)is directly opposite the hotel. Seasonal menus feature local produce. Log burner for cooler days. Local ales and fine wines to compliment good food. Free parking on site. Picturesque black and white cottage also on site. Flexible accommodation, doubles including Superior, twin, single, family and ground floor options all available. A perfect location to discover Shropshire. Alternatively if business brings you to the area the Mytton is perfectly placed for Telford, Shrewsbury and further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mytton & Mermaid Hotel Atcham
Mytton And Mermaid
Mytton Mermaid Atcham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing