We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful pub, rooms and location”

The Mytton & Mermaid Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mytton & Mermaid Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Atcham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: This is a magnificent grade II listed building, standing on the banks of the River Severn, it has been tastefully decorated and captures the charms of its original coaching inn days, reflecting an atmosphere of comfort and tranquillity. The hotel has been awarded 3 AA stars and provides quality food and service in a welcoming environment. Food is served all day and the range of menus feature fresh seasonal produce produced by the talented kitchen brigade. The venue benefits from a central location and is ideal for meetings and functions. Resident guests can enjoy a range of short breaks in well appointed bedrooms.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful pub, rooms and location”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We paid a little extra as this was a treat and had a suite, overlooking the river, gorgeous, sumptuous, comfortable. Location is fantastic with Attingham Hall and park just across the road and the river and church just adjacnt to the hotel. Places like the Wrekin are just a stones throw away if you enjoy walking and fantastic views (weather permitting!!).
Lunch was very nice, fantastic choice of foods and drinks, sofas and tables, coffees, etc. Great service. Evening meal was a little disappointing, sides were delayed and barely cooked. The restaraunt wasn't busy but service was slow.
Overall, a lovely stay.

I have been here a number of times for lunch/coffee and would highly recommend it, if I was close by, I would go out of my way to stop in!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    209
    97
    74
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The Mytton has always been a favourite of ours and Sunday lunch is no exception.
Book ahead as its always very busy.
3 courses for £18.95 traditional roasts plus other dishes served with dishes of mixed veg and potatoes cooked to perfection.
I would prefer to see a choice of either 2 or 3 courses for set price.
Good wines by the glass.
Relaxing, great family atmosphere,good service.
Tea/coffee can be taken in the comfortable seating area adjacent to the main dining area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzieshrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Lunch around”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

What a breath of fresh air! Good food, good service and wonderful atmosphere. The meat was the best we had tasted in a long time, and we eat out a lot. The Staff were helpful and quick, obviously well taught! Would recommend highly but, this might not be in our favour, as the dining room will be even more busy!! Keep up the good work. You have got it right!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Setting”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Menu is quite expensive but the setting, menu and quality selection make it a worthwhile treat on special occasions

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KandN001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Busy Friday evening - but still spot on!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We pay a visit to the M&M whenever we are in Shrewsbury and have stayed on previous occasions. Visited for an early dinner last Friday. The sun was shining so the bar area was bustling and busy. The atmosphere was great - just what you expect when the staff are professional, attentive, friendly and diligent. Love the bar area, it's like a large eclectic country sitting room. As usual the food was spot on, our guests were impressed and even the needs of the baby we had with us were catered for without fuss or disapproval. It's hard to deliver this standard of food without being serious and stuffy but, as i say, someone here knows what the customer wants and delivers it in a quietly confident fashion. Go M&M, you deserve success, please don't change a thing, we love the place!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 358ISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mytton & Mermaid Hotel also viewed

Upton Magna, Shrewsbury
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Mytton & Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing