We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive Retreats poor service”

Mystique Beach House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newell Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mystique Beach House
Ranked #2 of 2 Newell Beach B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Executive Retreats poor service”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We rented another of Executive Retreat's properties earlier in the year and though the house was beautifully situated on the beach, it was poorly equipped - no jug for water, no where to hang wet washing, no sharp cooking knives and a really substandard array of cutlery and china. When we arrived we were locked out notwithstanding that we had repeatedly called to flag our arrival. The food we had ordered was not in the fridge as promised, and when it did come there were things that we had paid for missing from the order. Next we discovered the dishes were dirty and there was a year's worth of dust on the two very ineffective fans. Not good with an asthmatic child in tow. When we complained, someone came to clean one fan and left the other filthy. Lastly, when we let ER know that we had left things in the house and could they a) find them and b) return them, they basically just ignored us. I do not know how they managed to get the award they tout on their emails. When there are these kinds of systemic problems you know the culture of the organisation is pretty poor. However, with a pattern of these kinds of reviews, you would think the motivation to change their way of doing things would be high.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had similar problems with Executive Retreats at another house in Port Douglas. Check in was chaotic to say the least, the pool was filthy and nothing was explained to us. The remote controls for fans TVs etc were dead and we had to go out and buy batteries to get them working. The freezer didnt work so our food spoiled, the iron didnt work, there were just many problems. When you pay so much money for a house is it unreasonable to expect a certain level of maintenance and operation of basic items, and don't tell me every room has a tv when you mean those little square CRT boxes that are about 20 years old. I would never book through Executive Retreats again - very very poor service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doris222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Amazing house right on the beach with spectacular outlook. The house is beautiful and and in a perfect location. The service was great and we could not fault any part of our stay. Having travelled extensively around the world for many years it was great find such a beautiful location and house to stay in Australia's far north. We could not agree with some of the earlier reviews which seem to focus more on matters unrelated to the house itself or its location. There is also a good restaurant in nearby Mossman called Mojo's. All in all a beautiful tropical holiday spot and its very good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank levis501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My family and I had the pleasure to stay at Mystique. Firstly, we were personally greeted by the hosts, shown everything at the house and assured that if we needed anything they were just a phone call away. They made us feel so welcome. What a relaxing and enjoyable two weeks.
The location was amazing (right on the beach) large deck which we had many BBQ's and sipping on chilled wine. Wonderful pool overlooking the beach. Ample space for all 5 of us. Plenty of walks on the beach in the morning and evenings, we hardly had time for sitting around watching tv. Close to Port Douglas, the Great Barrier Reef, trips to the Daintree (all booked and advised by our hosts - cannot thank them enough for our experiences!!) We did it ALL!! but to come back to Mystique after tours and exploring was totally relaxing. Thanks again and I am now planning a stay here with my girlfriends to just totally relax. Can't wait

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sascha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at another Executive Retreats property in Newell Beach and were deeply disappointed. We flew half way across the world to enjoy a wonderful holiday at a beach house in Australia only to be told upon arrival that we could not swim in the water due to the marine stingers that are deadly. These stingers are in the water from November through May. This little tidbit of information was never shared with us when we were booking the house. And when I contacted them to complain about their lack of disclosure -- they ignored me for weeks, then finally sent an email saying EVERYONE in the world knows about stingers and that I should be "grateful" that we were told to not swim because it was dangerous. They advertise the beautiful beach, the kayaks that are available, but only tell you when you get there it's not safe to use. Truly disappointing when you spend a lot of money to go somewhere that does not live up to what was sold to you. The woman at Executive Retreats really could care less about this problem and basically put the blame back on me to know that it was stinger season. She was completely unapologetic . Complete false advertising if you ask me.

We stayed at the Azure House and the air conditioning in the house was not working properly, our phone service went out for days, so we had to make long distance roaming calls to the establishments around town. The phone was finally fixed, then the internet service went down. When we checked in she forgot to give us the key.

So for everyone who doesn't know -- Stinger season in Australia is from November to May and you cannot swim at the beach unless there are stinger nets.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ddd123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newell Beach hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We spent two weeks at Mystique. The home has a lovely position and a good layout. However for $650 a night it has a disappointing fit out. Inside, the main issues are a very uncomfortable lounge and dining setting, a very poorly equipped kitchen - cheap crockery, utentsils & cookware, and only one tv. When you are in a four bedroom home with 6 people for a fortnight, being able to relax and cook in comfort is important. I appreciate the sentiment of disconnecting from the world by only having one tv, but in reality, in a big home with 6 people, there are times when you want to enjoy different entertainment. Outdoors, the deck is large but hasn't been furnished properly. There just isn't anywhere to lay about and relax as there is only a table and chairs. It needs a nice outdoor lounge to let you to really enjoy the location. The deck has also been recently painted/ varnished (as opposed to oiled) and is very slippery when wet. The photos of the outdoor bbq area were obviously taken a little while ago as the fridge is now rusting and all a little worn. I would also warn those with kids that the outdoor deck is not fully fenced. There are also no flyscreens on the property, so anti-mozzie/ sandfly plug ins were a must for a quiet night's sleep. Overall, we've stayed at better properties in the area for much less.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KateW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at another property managed by Executive Retreats and had a similarly bad experience with the managing hosts. We had problems with noise at night from a neighbouring property that we had tried to resolve ourselves to no avail. When we asked the host to come and assist he yelled at me that it was not his problem and was very rude and aggressive. There was no apology for the inconvenience, just blaming someone else, including us, the guests, saying that we should fix it ourselves! The house we stayed at was beautiful but we would definitely not stay at an Executive Retreat house again.

In my view a hotel is a safer option, providing a more professional and courteous service

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2chilliforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newell Beach
12.5 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
524 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
467 reviews
4.7 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
3.1 mi away
Demi View Motel
Demi View Motel
#2 of 2 in Mossman
58 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystique Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystique Beach House

Property: Mystique Beach House
Address: Olive St, Newell Beach, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Newell Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newell Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing