We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Balinese inspired haven in a special and picturesque part of Queensland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newell Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Newell Beach B&B and Inns
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Balinese inspired haven in a special and picturesque part of Queensland”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

This was the perfect place for us to de-stress. The bedroom was very comfortable with a romantic four poster bed and the bathroom was very spacious and stylishly decorated. With the lovely pool outside our door it was very easy to take a dip when we needed to cool off. It is a central location if you plan to tour this spectacular region and want a more personalised holiday experience. While we did go to Mossman Gorge one day, as Cairns locals we enjoyed lounging around the pool surrounded by lush gardens. Our hosts, Anne & Fernando, were gracious, generous and great company and the breakfasts were stunning. Anne is a great cook. We were looking for a quiet, tropical haven and this place exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliet63David61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bolzano, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We loved Manta Ray.
Anne and Fernando are wonderful people, they answered all our questions, gave us free internet access and made us feel like long time friends.Our room was immaculately clean and the breakfasts were delicious.
We would stay at this place anytime and recommended it to all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zirme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Right from the start we felt that Anne and Fernando were there to help us have the best experience possible. They were our personal trip planners and when the weather would not cooperate they helped us make plan B work! We started each day with an awesome breakfast - Anne should be a professional chef! She is amazing and so kind. The traveling tips helped us so much - where to go to eat, how to get to the Daintree Forrest. They made arrangements for our trip out to the Barrier Reef and up the river to see the crocodiles. Whatever we wanted to do - they offered assistance. Coming home at night was always relaxing - the pool was just a bit of heaven. The room so lovely, immaculately clean, quiet and romantic. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay there. We would return again in a heart beat! If you like beauty, peace and serenity this is your place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merrymary56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Manta Ray B&B. We were made to feel right at home, comfortable and at ease. The serene Bali -inspired setting and tranquil pool allowed for relaxation and fun for all. We practically had to drag the kids out of the pool! Not only did our lovely hosts, Ann an Fernando, provide us with lovely breakfast but also provided helpful local tips and advice and a casual and relaxed atmosphere. Located in quiet and laid -back Newell Beach with all your conveniences only a 10 minute drive away in Mossman and a 25-30 minute drive from the beautiful world of the Daintree and The Great Barrier Reef.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeafyDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2010

we went to mantaray for our last holiday without baby (three months to go) and we really enjoyed the place (beautiful and clean) and the gorgeous hospitality...they even let us use their kitchen (being Italian and Greek we need a kitchen). And lovely pool. Great idea for us because Port Douglas is way too tourist and resort style for us. Highly recommended
Fabio and fanoula

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabiof1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Quiet retreat in beautifully designed balinese rooms, with adjacent swimming pool. Five mintes away from beach. The owners are lovely and serve you a delicious breakfast on request. Close to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra4769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

My fiance and I stumbled upon this gem by accident - another B&B in the area did not have room and suggested Manta Ray instead. When we arrived we were thrilled with the accommodations. The room, bathroom, and house were all spectacular. This is the place to come to if you want a peaceful and relaxing getaway. We loved the marble finishes in the bathroom and the daybed by the pool. Anne and Fernando are wonderful hosts - always willing to loan some beach towels, beach chairs, or whatever else you need. They are very knowledgeable about the area and very friendly. The breakfasts are amazing - with every type of tropical fruit you can imagine, warm buttery croissants, and something special that Anne whips up for you. We researched (and even stayed) at other B&Bs in the area and the value and accommodations they offer are NOWHERE near what Manta Ray offers. We can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyandhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newell Beach
11.9 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
510 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
459 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
736 reviews
6.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
899 reviews
13.7 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast

Property: Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast
Address: Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast 23 Coulthard CL, Newell Beach, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Newell Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newell Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing