We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newell Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Newell Beach B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 21, 2010

we went to mantaray for our last holiday without baby (three months to go) and we really enjoyed the place (beautiful and clean) and the gorgeous hospitality...they even let us use their kitchen (being Italian and Greek we need a kitchen). And lovely pool. Great idea for us because Port Douglas is way too tourist and resort style for us. Highly recommended
Fabio and fanoula

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabiof1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Quiet retreat in beautifully designed balinese rooms, with adjacent swimming pool. Five mintes away from beach. The owners are lovely and serve you a delicious breakfast on request. Close to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra4769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

My fiance and I stumbled upon this gem by accident - another B&B in the area did not have room and suggested Manta Ray instead. When we arrived we were thrilled with the accommodations. The room, bathroom, and house were all spectacular. This is the place to come to if you want a peaceful and relaxing getaway. We loved the marble finishes in the bathroom and the daybed by the pool. Anne and Fernando are wonderful hosts - always willing to loan some beach towels, beach chairs, or whatever else you need. They are very knowledgeable about the area and very friendly. The breakfasts are amazing - with every type of tropical fruit you can imagine, warm buttery croissants, and something special that Anne whips up for you. We researched (and even stayed) at other B&Bs in the area and the value and accommodations they offer are NOWHERE near what Manta Ray offers. We can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyandhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We as a couple really loved this place, the service and local advice we received made our short break so much more enjoyable. We found some excellent Spots off the beaten trail with their local knowledge. I would most certainly go back there when up in Port Douglas. The Food served was also a highlight.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Manta Ray is gorgeous. The room has marble floors, the bathroom is spacious and elegant. Everything is spotless. It's a very romantic setting. There are only 2 rooms, and they try to rent just one room at a time, for privacy.

Newell beach is just a few minutes' walk and is a long, nearly empty beach. The water was the warmest anywhere in Queensland!

Anne & Fernando were super-helpful, friendly, and served fantastic breakfasts. Highly recommended!

P.S. Anne is a wedding officiant - showed me photos of a wedding they had there on the beach - beautiful!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FijiJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stade
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2009

It is a small location, very private,very relaxing, very nice and helpful people, wonderful swimmingpool,extraordinary breakfast.
Very good spot to visit Cape Tribulation and Daintree Forest.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mannotanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

My husband and I recently spent 10 glorious days at Manta Ray, Newell Beach, Queensland for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel the place was ours. Together with the luxurious Balinese theme inside and out from the fantastic four poster bed, garden shower, magnificent pool and day bed, surrounded with Balinese statues and glorious tropical gardens you could be forgiven if you thought that you had just stepped into an exotic Balinese location. It doesn't end there, each morning we were treat to the most incredible breakfasts by the pool comprising of orange juices, cereals, yogurts, fresh tropical fruits, croissants and hot cooked breakfasts, followed by the most amazing cappuccinos The owners, Anne and Fernando were so kind and thoughtful. They booked tours for us and couldn't do enough to make our holiday completely stress free. The only stressful part was having to leave The property is located an easy two minute walk from the beach, 5 minutes drive to Mossman and twenty minutes to Port Douglas and the Daintree.
We couldn't think of a more delightful place to spend our honeymoon. We will definitely be returning to Manta Ray in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gigigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newell Beach
11.9 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
523 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
467 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.1 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
916 reviews
13.7 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast

Property: Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast
Address: Manta Ray Bed and Breakfast 23 Coulthard CL, Newell Beach, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Newell Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newell Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing