We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing boutique hotel with extraordinary history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Rothschild Kempinski
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Coming up the drive-way late at night through the park, a beautiful small and artfully illuminated 'castle' suddenly appears between the centuries old trees. A short drive away from Frankfurt and very close to the main aorta of Europe's arterial tree of motorways - here you find the extraordinary small luxury hotel that is Villa Rothschild. Built in the late 1800's as a summer residence for the Rothschild family, it lies high on a hill, overlooking the valley, at a safe distance from the city noise. All the rooms are individually decorated and to the highest standards. Apparently having undergone a recent extensive restoration. But retaining much charm and old historical photographs of life on the estate many many years ago adorn the walls of some of the hallways.
Having chosen this hotel as part of a stop-over driving through Germany, and for 2 main reasons: they accept dogs and have a 2* Michelin restaurant - well, we were not disappointed. When entering the room, the first thing that caught the sniff of our 2 very large dogs were 2 dogbeds lined up in the corner of the room near the fire place, and a full set of bowls incl biscuits for each of them. This level of service is rarely seen for our four-legged friends, and it was an adequate benchmark for the rest of the stay, and we were not let down. We had a superb meal in the main restaurant that evening, led by Ms Lopez and her fantastic team of young, cheerful but extremely professional staff. A great concept of either 3, 4, or 5 courses (or even 6?) and a wine tasting menu to go with that. Excellent and very complimentary wine choices for the different dishes. Everywhere in the hotel the service was excellent - from check-in to check-out. The sister hotel a few minutes away by hotel shuttle apparently houses the spa and the fitness, but unfortunately we didn't have the time for that. All in all a very wonderful stay in a jewel of a hotel.

Room Tip: If on a special, go for the theme rooms with working fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaDanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 116 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is a delightful place. Beautiful surroundings, generous & personalized service, elegant rooms, and amazing food. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josanpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We received such a warm welcome here and were looked after so well throughout our stay. The staff are excellent. Breakfast is a treat, dinner is fantastic. We loved the quiet location, away from the centre of town, and with a gorgeous garden. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunrisenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

awesome. brilliantly efficient service, a sublime location, gorgeous rooms, fantastic history and some of the finest two michelin-starred cooking in europe. frankfurt airport is close at hand, the city also nearby, with shuttles to both. book now. exceptional

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickyfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I have been lucky enough to stay at Villa Rothschild three times this year (January, March, and November), and I hold precious memories of each stay. The house is magnificent, in a beautiful and peaceful park setting that seems a million miles from nearby Frankfurt. A short walk takes you to the picturesque town of Koenigstein, with half-timbered houses and lovely shops and restaurants. Don't miss breakfast at the villa's restaurant, with personal service and superb choices in a beautiful, light-filled room.

All that is enough to set this property apart. But what has made it so special to me is the extraordinary friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Returning there is like going home. The staff has taken extra care to provide just the right accommodations for my husband, who has some disability. Such genuine kindness and consideration are heartwarming.

If you want a hotel with large staff, predictable rooms, and impersonal service, stay elsewhere. But if you want a unique, historic property in the Taunus woods, where you feel like you are stepping out of the rat race and back to another time, stay here. When I need a mental escape, my mind floats to Villa Rothschild. We'll be back in 2011.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Excellent small hotel, enjoy the view over Frankfurt from the bar and the outstanding service. All in all, definitely a recommendation. Food is sensational. Shuttle to gym is available. Some rooms do not have air condition, which is the only fault I could find. Had about ten nights here this year out of about 100 nights in hotels across Europe. Will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pesawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

Big room, very good bed, great wooden floors, excellent century old atmosphere, nice and cosy.
Ordered from the room service the best tomato soup and club sandwich ever.
Good breakfast after good sleep.

Our stay was short - arrived late and left early for our flight.
But enjoyed every bit of the stay.

Though situated in the village on the hills in tranquility, drive to the Franfurt airport was short - maybe 20 - 30 minutes in the morning rush hours. So good location.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaatinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Konigstein im Taunus
Schlosshotel Kronberg
#1 of 3 in Kronberg im Taunus
744 reviews
Falkenstein Grand Kempinski
#1 of 6 in Konigstein im Taunus
228 reviews
Romantik Hotel Schloss Rettersho...
#1 of 6 in Kelkheim (Taunus)
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,434 reviews
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof - Hotel Frankfurt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rothschild Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rothschild Kempinski

Address: Im Rothschildpark 1, 61462 Konigstein im Taunus, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Konigstein im Taunus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Konigstein im Taunus
Price Range: $241 - $976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Rothschild Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Rothschild Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing