We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay”
Review of Le Chai Catalan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Chai Catalan
Ranked #3 of 7 Ortaffa B&B and Inns
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

You could not wish for a friendlier stay with very helpful hosts. Breakfast in the garden in the sunshine under the trees was such a great start to the day.Our room was superb and the en-suite was the same. If we ever return to the area we would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: I am sure that all the other rooms are of the same standard as ours was. So choose any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
62
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Chai Catalan was our last stop on a 2 week vacation. It was beautiful, peaceful and relaxing, a perfect ending to our trip. The room was very comfortable and luxuriously decorated, the garden was lovely, breakfast fresh and delicious with lots of local specialities. Having the pool was great especially in the heat of the summer and away from the crowds on the beach. There was enough space for the guests to have their privacy in the garden. Pascale was very helpful recommending local attractions and restaurants in the nearby villages which were all very good. I wish we could have stayed more than 3 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spacious and comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated. Lovely breakfast served in the quiet, shady garden. Pascale and Tim are knowledgeable and helpful hosts. Our two small dogs were welcome.
Pool refreshing after a day of excursions. Good restaurants in neighbouring villages. Wine country all around.

Room Tip: English speaking hosts are helpful for foreign travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2shoes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent a few nights here in June, taking a break on an otherwise busy holiday. It was the perfect place to relax for a few days. The host, Pascale, was very attentive and friendly without being intrusive in any way. Our room was very welcoming with a great ensuite shower room and a large, comfortable bed. The spacious communal area added to the comfort factor and offered a couple of fridges, one to keep our personal food and drink cool and the other was a well stocked honesty bar with beer and wine, perfect for drinking on the terrace around the pool in the evening. All in all, this was a lovely place, and just what we needed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT LAUDERDALE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Chai Catalan. Built into the wall of the ancient town, the former winery has been beautifully remodeled and designed for guests with spacious rooms (we were in Grenache) and a large atrium decorated with interesting art. Very comfortable bed with luxurious bedding. The ensuite bathroom was a tiled work of art. The lovely French breakfast was a nice start to each day with good coffee, many choices of breads, fruit, yogurt, etc. Fresh squeezed orange juice was a special treat.

Pascale is a fantastic host who knows her surroundings well and offered loads of suggestions for places to visit, restaurants, wines. She is a pleasure to converse with, warm and gracious. She made a restaurant reservation for us and made sure that the menu had items we would like. Ortaffa is an interesting little town and a good central point to discover the mountains and the beaches of this most southern area of France. Perpignan, Collioure, Elne, and Ceret are our favorites and are all just minutes away. We will definitely stay here again when we visit France.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms are up some easy to walk stairs - Grenache is one of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyDANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjacquot, Propriétaire at Le Chai Catalan, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
All my thanks for your lovely review. It was real a pleasure meeting you and I certainly do hope that you will come again. I am always finding new places to visit both in French and Spanish Catalonia and I love sharing my discoveries. It is such a varied region.
I wish you all the best for the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My parents-in-law from New Zealand stayed there with us and everybody really loved it! The host speaks perfect English, the restaurants she suggested were great as well and her breakfasts are the most amazing (fresh fruits, catalan delicacy, lovely conversations). Thank you for everything, Pascale, your place is amazing. We had a great time and we felt at home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brumante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjacquot, Propriétaire at Le Chai Catalan, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a real pleasure to welcome you both and your parents in law to the Chai Catalan and our little corner of the world, especially as they had come from so far away. I am happy that we contributed in a small way to their discovery of this (beautiful of course!) part of France and I am pleased that you all enjoyed your restaurant meals and our breakfasts, after all it is an important part of being on holiday. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chai Catalan in May 2012 for a few days and fell in love with Pascale, our host, her property and the surrounding area. The Chai Catalan is in a quiet area of France, which we loved, and is positioned between easy drives to the beach or to the mountains. We were particularly drawn to the village of Ceret known for its cherries and its history as a haunt for 20th century artists such as Picasso. A museum of art now celebrates this relationship with works that one would not see in the big museums.

Pascale is one of the loveliest hosts I have met to date...gracious, authentic, helpful and easy to converse with. I highly recommend her property, especially if you like ancient, thick walls and high ceilings, friendly black cats (there are two of them!), delicious breakfasts, and lots of helpful guidance about places to visit. We felt completely at home with her which made our trip all the more meaningful. It was the kind of visit that made you really think about retiring to this area of the world.

Room Tip: Each room has its unique qualities. We stayed in the Grenache and enjoyed it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortaffa
8.9 mi away
Casa Pairal
Casa Pairal
#3 of 16 in Collioure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Madeloc
Hotel Madeloc
#1 of 16 in Collioure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
5.0 mi away
Auberge du Roua
Auberge du Roua
#3 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Nyx Hotel
Nyx Hotel
#1 of 46 in Perpignan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau d'Ortaffa
Chateau d'Ortaffa
#1 of 7 in Ortaffa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.0 mi away
Peu del Causse
Peu del Causse
#4 of 5 in Thuir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chai Catalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chai Catalan

Property: Le Chai Catalan
Address: 14 rue du Chateau, 66560 Ortaffa, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Ortaffa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ortaffa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pascale and Tim are happy to welcome you in their picturesque b&b, an old winery built onto the medieval castle walls. We focused on creating a comfortable house with comfort and innovative architecture but also in the respect of the past. Situated in the heart of the Roussillon plain, close to Collioure and the sea, our four guest rooms offer an ideal base from which to discover French and Spanish Catalonia and enjoy historical and cultural sites and outdoor pursuits (walking, cycling, horse riding, watersports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Chai Catalan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing