We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at Chai Catalan”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Chai Catalan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Chai Catalan
Ranked #3 of 7 Ortaffa B&B and Inns
FORT LAUDERDALE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Chai Catalan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Chai Catalan. Built into the wall of the ancient town, the former winery has been beautifully remodeled and designed for guests with spacious rooms (we were in Grenache) and a large atrium decorated with interesting art. Very comfortable bed with luxurious bedding. The ensuite bathroom was a tiled work of art. The lovely French breakfast was a nice start to each day with good coffee, many choices of breads, fruit, yogurt, etc. Fresh squeezed orange juice was a special treat.

Pascale is a fantastic host who knows her surroundings well and offered loads of suggestions for places to visit, restaurants, wines. She is a pleasure to converse with, warm and gracious. She made a restaurant reservation for us and made sure that the menu had items we would like. Ortaffa is an interesting little town and a good central point to discover the mountains and the beaches of this most southern area of France. Perpignan, Collioure, Elne, and Ceret are our favorites and are all just minutes away. We will definitely stay here again when we visit France.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms are up some easy to walk stairs - Grenache is one of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyDANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjacquot, Propriétaire at Le Chai Catalan, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
All my thanks for your lovely review. It was real a pleasure meeting you and I certainly do hope that you will come again. I am always finding new places to visit both in French and Spanish Catalonia and I love sharing my discoveries. It is such a varied region.
I wish you all the best for the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
62
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

My parents-in-law from New Zealand stayed there with us and everybody really loved it! The host speaks perfect English, the restaurants she suggested were great as well and her breakfasts are the most amazing (fresh fruits, catalan delicacy, lovely conversations). Thank you for everything, Pascale, your place is amazing. We had a great time and we felt at home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brumante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjacquot, Propriétaire at Le Chai Catalan, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a real pleasure to welcome you both and your parents in law to the Chai Catalan and our little corner of the world, especially as they had come from so far away. I am happy that we contributed in a small way to their discovery of this (beautiful of course!) part of France and I am pleased that you all enjoyed your restaurant meals and our breakfasts, after all it is an important part of being on holiday. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chai Catalan in May 2012 for a few days and fell in love with Pascale, our host, her property and the surrounding area. The Chai Catalan is in a quiet area of France, which we loved, and is positioned between easy drives to the beach or to the mountains. We were particularly drawn to the village of Ceret known for its cherries and its history as a haunt for 20th century artists such as Picasso. A museum of art now celebrates this relationship with works that one would not see in the big museums.

Pascale is one of the loveliest hosts I have met to date...gracious, authentic, helpful and easy to converse with. I highly recommend her property, especially if you like ancient, thick walls and high ceilings, friendly black cats (there are two of them!), delicious breakfasts, and lots of helpful guidance about places to visit. We felt completely at home with her which made our trip all the more meaningful. It was the kind of visit that made you really think about retiring to this area of the world.

Room Tip: Each room has its unique qualities. We stayed in the Grenache and enjoyed it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Wicklow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

I found Le Chai Catalan via Trip Advisor and it looked interesting and well located for the coast and city. The accommodation is purpose built and comfortable. Pascale is an excellent host, providing information and recommendations on nearby restaurants and facilities.Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourtycoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

I've spent a few holidays here and have enjoyed every minute . The service is great and is perfectly located for tranquility but you also have easy access to cities such as Perpignan and Barcelona. All the rooms have a perfectly personalised decor and excellent facilities, I've never slept heavier than when I sat here.

The one drawback, on occasion, is the villages lack of a bar which has recently been rectified. There is nothing better after a grueling hot days expedition than to go night swimming which I'm a new fan of.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAINTERCOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying here for just the one night (business schedule ruled out longer) mid October 2010. Pascale was a wonderful host/ess, and the village lived up to my expectations of being quiet, off the main roads and full of local & quaint history.
Le Chai itself is stylish, modern, full of light and nestled in the centre of the village ... nothing in the village is more than a 10 minute walk away, and yet supermarkets etc are 10 minutes away by car in nearby villages/towns.
I'm eagerly looking forward to re-visiting Le Chai Catalan soon and really unwinding.
Just a word of caution though - BEWARE the triffid in the garden!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruggiero54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights in July 2010. Our room (Muscat) was fantastic and was completed to an exceptionally high standard - as was the property as a whole!

Our hosts were very welcoming and could not do enough for us, whether it was advising us on places to see, on routes to get to our next destination or simply where to find the English channels on TV.

Their English is perfect; I just wish my French extended beyond the basics so I could return the compliment (so to speak).

Our room was extremely comfortable, very quiet and made for a very relaxing stay.

The breakfast was superb. The bread and pastries were delicious - as were the home made muffins and the fresh fruit!

It was easy to find - with a little help from Google street view and was in a lovely location.

We cannot fault a single thing and we will definitely be back and will recommend to friends and family!

Many thanks again!


Jason & Rebekah.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravity17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortaffa
8.9 mi away
Casa Pairal
Casa Pairal
#3 of 16 in Collioure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Madeloc
Hotel Madeloc
#1 of 16 in Collioure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
5.0 mi away
Auberge du Roua
Auberge du Roua
#3 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Nyx Hotel
Nyx Hotel
#1 of 46 in Perpignan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau d'Ortaffa
Chateau d'Ortaffa
#1 of 7 in Ortaffa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
9.0 mi away
Peu del Causse
Peu del Causse
#4 of 5 in Thuir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chai Catalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chai Catalan

Property: Le Chai Catalan
Address: 14 rue du Chateau, 66560 Ortaffa, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Ortaffa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ortaffa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pascale and Tim are happy to welcome you in their picturesque b&b, an old winery built onto the medieval castle walls. We focused on creating a comfortable house with comfort and innovative architecture but also in the respect of the past. Situated in the heart of the Roussillon plain, close to Collioure and the sea, our four guest rooms offer an ideal base from which to discover French and Spanish Catalonia and enjoy historical and cultural sites and outdoor pursuits (walking, cycling, horse riding, watersports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Chai Catalan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing