We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for every season-any season”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the Taos House Retreat!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Taos House Retreat!
From the private, enclosed courtyard - a view east - evening light on the Sangre de Cristo Mts. Hot tub (for 6) facing private, enclosed courtyard; views outward to mts.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Welcome to the Taos House Retreat!
From the private, enclosed courtyard - a view east - evening light on the Sangre de Cristo Mts.
Hot tub (for 6) facing private, enclosed courtyard; views outward to mts.
private courtyard with covered seating, hot tub (for 6), garden, and fire pit
Welcome! Entry Gate
sunset view from the hot tub
entrance from foyer to living space
Living room kiva fireplace
living area with mountain views
dining for 8
fully equipped kitchen with convection oven/microwave & traditional oven, dishwasher, washer & dryer
fully equipped kitchen with convection oven/microwave & traditional oven, dishwasher, washer & dryer
Master bedroom (king bed) with kiva fireplace, TV & DVD
looking into master bedrm, kiva and antique, wooded doors
Bedroom #1, queen bed, mt. views
Bedroom 2, queen bed, views to mts.
Master bath, walk-in shower (in laid wood features)
Hall bath with shower and tub (in laid wood features)
unique wood features throughout the house
season's first snowfall - view from front window
Winter season night view of courtyard gate
Rainbow view to the west
Sunrise over the arroyo - seen from the courtyard
wonderful fishing abounds for young, old and anywhere in between!
Village of Arroyo Seco
Rafting
Great hiking
minutes from Rio Grande Gorge Bridge
Disc Golf at Taos Ski Valley - exhilarating!
10.8 miles from Taos Ski Valley
Welcome, entrance to courtyard
amazing meteor showers in August (over the skies of Arroyo Seco)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
steviewea...
Cedar Hill, TX
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect place for every season-any season”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Wow! This is a special accommodation in a special place! We love staying here. We feel our souls breathe when are here, and begin to unwind immediately. The Taos House Retreat is our home away from home when we are on vacation. Catherine and Craig, the owners, have the thought of everything to make this beautiful home perfect for their guests.

The proximity to the Ski Valley is great for winter sports. There are so many wonderful trails to hike in the warm months. Taos center is just 10 minutes away for groceries, restaurants, and shopping. We look forward to our next visit, and every visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: flower garden and spectacular views of the mountains
Liked least: Taos is a destination, but one needs own transportation to access
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & found this place as magical as we do! I agree; every season offers something special for all the senses. The Taos House awaits your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karie G
1 review
“Magical Stay!”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We could not have felt more blessed to stay in such a special home with such spectacular views. It felt like we were in another country. The features of the home were unique and one of a kind. We made use of the hot tub and fire pit to make smores. A true Gem!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
We are delighted your stay was so special & magical! The Taos House awaits your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonio f
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
“Great Vacation, everything just as advertised”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a great time, we were two families, 4 adults and 4 chldren from 7 to 11 years old, the house was just as advertised, 15min from town and 15min to the ski area; plenty of room for everybody, we will try to comeback next year, regards

Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2016
We are so delighted that you all had a wonderful stay at the Taos House Retreat! Taos offers so much for family fun all year round! We hope you will return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki L
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place with Beautiful Views”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a wonderful time in Taos and absolutely loved this house! We went to celebrate my husband's and mine 5 year anniversary. It was us and our daughter joined by my best friend and her husband and daughter. Our daughter's are 4 and they loved the house as well! They loved the games, esp Candyland and loved playing outside in the front, which is completely enclosed so we didn't worry about their safety. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, utensils, and dishes! The house was the perfect size and our favorite feature was the fireplace, which we used everyday! I would definitely recommend this house and would stay again for a future visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: Some of the kitchen knives weren't very sharp
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vac_12
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for families; close to ski area”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Best-equipped kitchen of any rental we've ever stayed in. Easy to get to -- about halfway between town and ski area. Excellent view. Be aware that while it sleeps eight, that includes two people sleeping on a sleeper sofa in the living room.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2016
We are delighted you found the house the "just right" location for your family ski vacation. We are especially happy you mention the sleeper sofa as we made sure we had the "top-0-the-line" sleeper with solid platforms that provide even support with no bars, no springs, and no sagging - so the house could comfortably accommodate 8. We hope your guests who slept on the "pull out" found it as comfortable as we do! And thanks too for your nice words about the kitchen! We know skiers and hikers can be a hungry crew after a long day on the mountain, so we hope you find all you need to make anything from an easy George Foreman or crock-pot meal, to a gourmet meal! Please come again. The Taos House Retreats awaits your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y3513NEel...
2 reviews
“Heaven”
Reviewed December 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This home exceeded our expectations! Everything was perfect and I can't wait to come back! The owner was very personable and extremely helpful...nothing was overlooked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyewacket...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enchanting Taos Retreat”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I cant say enough good things about this house--it is beautifully designed, appointed, and the views are spectacular. I was looking for a peaceful retreat that was a short drive to downtown Taos and this charming house completely met my needs. It was about 15 minutes from town and is also very close to Arroyo Secco, which is a small artsy town with interesting shops and restaurants. Every morning and evening we relaxed in the nicely landscaped courtyard for coffee or a drink, enjoying the sunrise or amazing sunsets. The house has everything you would need (grills, fireplaces, hot tub)--this truly is a little piece of heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and beautiful courtyard
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
Thank you for these kinds words! I am thrilled the Taos House was the perfect retreat for your stay in Taos! Please come again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing