We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
“Simply Perfect in Every Way”
5.0 of 5 stars
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the Taos House Retreat!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Taos House Retreat!
From the private, enclosed courtyard - a view east - evening light on the Sangre de Cristo Mts. Hot tub (for 6) facing private, enclosed courtyard; views outward to mts.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 stars
Excellent
22 reviews
Welcome to the Taos House Retreat!
From the private, enclosed courtyard - a view east - evening light on the Sangre de Cristo Mts.
Hot tub (for 6) facing private, enclosed courtyard; views outward to mts.
private courtyard with covered seating, hot tub (for 6), garden, and fire pit
Welcome! Entry Gate
sunset view from the hot tub
entrance from foyer to living space
Living room kiva fireplace
living area with mountain views
dining for 8
fully equipped kitchen with convection oven/microwave & traditional oven, dishwasher, washer & dryer
fully equipped kitchen with convection oven/microwave & traditional oven, dishwasher, washer & dryer
Master bedroom (king bed) with kiva fireplace, TV & DVD
looking into master bedrm, kiva and antique, wooded doors
Bedroom #1, queen bed, mt. views
Bedroom 2, queen bed, views to mts.
Master bath, walk-in shower (in laid wood features)
Hall bath with shower and tub (in laid wood features)
unique wood features throughout the house
season's first snowfall - view from front window
Winter season night view of courtyard gate
Rainbow view to the west
Sunrise over the arroyo - seen from the courtyard
wonderful fishing abounds for young, old and anywhere in between!
Village of Arroyo Seco
Rafting
Great hiking
minutes from Rio Grande Gorge Bridge
Disc Golf at Taos Ski Valley - exhilarating!
10.8 miles from Taos Ski Valley
Welcome, entrance to courtyard
amazing meteor showers in August (over the skies of Arroyo Seco)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

 of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LLD187
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Perfect in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Catherine and Craig have created a beautiful retreat. The views are stunning and so is the garden and outdoor seating area. The house has everything, including a very well-appointed kitchen, well-stocked bathrooms (lotion--much needed in the drier climate!) and comfy beds and chairs. Great selection of games and CDs too. Very private and peaceful but just minutes from Arroyo Seco and Taos. We especially appreciated the ample firewood and instructions on how to build a proper fire in a kiva. We'll be back!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kathryn & Craig Traves
TX
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Tampa FL
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Loyd Harper
Texas
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Austin
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Greg & Renee
TX
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
marciadig...
Lyons, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We rented this property with our small children ages 1 and 3 and grandparents as well as my sister and brother-in law. First of all, the house itself is amazing. The finishes and decor are very well thought out and authentic to New Mexico. So many antique doors and archways. It is also well set up for small kids. The front yard with amazing views is totally enclosed with an adobe wall which made for relaxing conversations without worry that the kids would "run off". My mother and father-in-law don't get around very well and the fact that there weren't any stairs, and a walk in shower was a huge bonus. We lived in Taos for a year about 6 years ago, and, I have to say....this is the very best location. We had a problem with a leaky sink the first night we were there and the property manager was very attentive and had plumbers over first thing the next morning. Also, there is a hiking trail right across the street....great way to burn off a little energy. We can't say enough good things about it and are already trying to figure out when we can make another trip, hopefully it doesn't book up!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Views and finishes.
Liked least: I liked everything
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Any
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing