We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If we are going to Taos Ski Valley, we are staying in Austing Haus”
Review of Austing Haus B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos Ski Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Austing Haus B&B
Aus
1 review
“If we are going to Taos Ski Valley, we are staying in Austing Haus”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We booked Austing Haus based on availability, pricing and reviews posted on the internet. We stayed for 4 nights from Dec 27 to Dec 31 - likely the busiest time of the year. First time I had called about a reservation, I spoke to Sarah - she was very nice and accepted our request to hold the rooms while I got some breathing room to make the decision. She was also very helpful and forthright about the location, food options and other activities. The pricing was the lowest (when compared to all other options). They also did not have the minimum night stay requirements that other hotels in the area required from us. Since this location is not right next door to the lifts, they provide a very convenient shuttle service (very accommodating for special requests). AH is located about 1.5 miles/5 mins to the lift s and is right on the road to the Taos Ski Valley - so very convenient that way.

We stayed in the room with the loft. The kids had a blast going up n down. The loft is spacious. The AH is a slightly old facility, so I would not expect state of the art fixtures. They have a fabulous breakfast room with decent breakfast and really friendly service. In fact, the family of the owners was helping out and they made us feel at home.

Special mention:
- We had our daughter spill nail polish all over the carpet in the loft and were concerned about the cost of getting the damage fixed. The owner promptly came over, brought nail polish remover, stain remover and scrubbed off the whole thing (he spent > 30 mins after 9pm to get this done). Really nice of him to do this and he made sure that there are no additional charges
- They let us use the laundry rooms for personal use

Pros:
- Super nice people
- Nice old feel to the place
- Excellent people (best part of our stay)

Cons:
- The bathrooms can do with a bit of a face-lift
- Would be nice to have a bit better TV and a few more channels

Conclusion:
We've been to Taos a couple times and there is no question we will go back again. And we will stay at no place other than Austing Haus!

Room Tip: Loft rooms come with a spacious loft and kids will love it. The downside could be that the lower ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nagesh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    4
    5
    8
See reviews for
25
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This place is cozy and perfect for a long weekend. The staff is beyond accommodating and shuttle you back and forth upon request- Joe made sure we were always taken care of! Good warm breakfast every morning and good ski packages for reasonable prices. Overall a great experience and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaErwinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The Austing Haus has a wonderful quaint charm. We stayed the last few days of 2011 and being fairly cold (at almost 12,000 feet) we enjoyed our fireplace room everyday! Our dog enjoyed it too - we appreciate "pet friendly" places very much. Each day started off with a really good breakfast in a very nice dining room - beautiful stained glass all around. The eggs and meat were different daily and you could cook your own waffle - GREAT COFFEE! Internet is available (great for those who need to check in with their businesses) and cell phones worked in most areas. TV is somewhat limited, but hey, that's not what you're there for - just have the kids bring their interactive toys and they'll be fine. When possible, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The customer service was very helpful and informative. The breakfast was great and the lodging had a lot of character. Close to the lifts and very affordable. The owner was friendly and helpful. I am already planning a second trip back with my friends. Probably my new favorite place to ski and sleep. More local feel to the whole area.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Great little place to experience the Taos Ski Valley. Friendly staff goes out of the way to make sure your stay is pleasant. If you enjoy architecture you will love the timber frame construction of this lodge. Well stocked fireplace will keep your room toasty warm. Great breakfast to get the day going. Shuttle up to the mountain saves waiting for a tram.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoscoeNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I called them looking for a competitive price and that is what I got. Small very friendly staff run the plce. Owner makes breakfast every morning that is fresh, delicious, and filling. They shuttled us every morning and picked us up without a hitch. Couldn't have asked for more. This is where I'm staying next time I am in Taos Ski Valley. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowhawk02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

After reading a the reviews I decided to go against my better judgement. I paid 200 plus tax and service fees for a very small room. The room itself was not that bad if you like sleeping on a board. Me and my pregnant wife ended up leaving the room after a bout an hour. It was very cold and the fireplace didn't do anything but fill the room with smoke. Coudn't say about the food I drove into town at 2 am an got another room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos Ski Valley
1.9 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
139 reviews
14.1 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,160 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Columbine Inn & Conference Center
Columbine Inn & Conference Cente...
#2 of 6 in Taos Ski Valley
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amizette Inn
Amizette Inn
#5 of 6 in Taos Ski Valley
43 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austing Haus B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austing Haus B&B

Property: Austing Haus B&B
Address: 1282 NM 150, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Austing Haus Hotel Taos Ski Valley
Austing Haus Bed And Breakfast
Austing Haus B&B Taos County/Taos Ski Valley, NM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing