We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Village Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taos Ski Valley
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great ski trip and everything was wonderful in our room. Looking forward to next years ski trip with friends. Great restaurants in the ski valley, weather wonderful, too. Thanks so much. Ours friends loved it too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 157 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Spring break skiing was great. This place is adorable! We love that they are pet friendly. The staff always has a smile on their faces and goes above a beyond to make sure that your stay is perfect. Restaurants are steps away. Loved the ski in ski out. Not crowded, which was surprising especially for spring break.Would definitely go back. We stayed in a lofted room that sleeps 4. From what I understand all the rooms are appointed differently which makes this place even more unique.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our group of 9 stayed in the Taos Mountain House and it was perfect. Plenty of space and close to the slopes, the drive was maybe a half mile. The beds were cozy & loved having a washer & dryer. Plenty of room to move around, the kids loved it. We were a little disappointed that the hot tub was less than a mile but when we arrived it was so nice and not crowded at all. It was very large & our group went every night. Great place, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2bamomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I hardly ever write reviews but I was just a little perturbed with your recent stay there. We went just before the spring break season. We arrived late because we had a late flight. After driving 3 hours from the airport - is started to snow and the conditions on the mountain were not good. We finally make it to the hotel just after midnight - and guess what - the doors are locked and no one is in the lobby. Literally no one else was in the area - it was actually really scary. We called the emergency number and of course no answer and no return phone call after leaving several messages. After driving around and looking for help for almost and hour we returned again trying to bang on the door. I luckily saw a little mailbox hidden in the corner and of course our keys were there in an envelope. My question is - why didn't anybody call or email us to notify us of this? There was no instructions on the welcome email stating there would be no front desk person after a certain time?? It was very unprofessional. And then when we did get the room - it was right next to the front desk. At 6 am we start hearing people talking and you could hear everything. They were nice enough to move us so I give them credit for that. The hotel room was nice but a little dated. There is no food in the hotel. There are ski lockers which is nice. And the location is pretty good - close enough to the slopes that it wasn't a difficult walk. There are other nice hotels closer and that have restaranuts/bars in the hotel. You might want to consider one of them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wes9661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our first time out to Taos and really wanted a ski in ski out experience so not to have to travel up a mountian for an hour. This place made that happen! Granted you have to walk about a total of maybe a block and a half, but worth it! The hotel was also a great place to stay. The rooms were large and accommodating. Nice view of the mountain and fire place made it cozy too. The little kitchenette was small, but met all of our needs (Small fridge, microwave, pots, pans, plates, cups, etc.). Room was clean and kept clean throughout the week. We were by the elevator, but was not noisy at all. Front desk were very nice and answered all of our questions. Free wifi too. close to small shops and restaurants so did not move the car once while we were there. One of the restaurant (Bavarian, good too) at top of mountain brought shuttle down (at no charge, we tipped) so that made it nice too. We are planning to return next year as a result. I do recommend!

Room Tip: Forgot to mention that there are lockers on bottom floor to store your skis so another nice amenity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooneyes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This charming and quaint place resembles more of a resort than a hotel! With its small size (only 20-ish rooms) and alpine aura with great attention to all details, it just oozes coziness! The whole place is bedecked in garland, authentic metal fixtures, twinkling lights, framed black bear paintings/prints, mural-like motifs of alpine touches, all scented with some subtle but perfect fragrance. One example that demonstrates the details....some frames are made of old wooden skis / replicas. Some lamps were of faux-skins, lined with wild bird feathers. Every floor has its own unique cushy public spaces. Windows abound. The third and first floors have exits to different sides of elevation.

We rented two rooms for a family of four...we splurged. The adult room was spacious, with many windows, a fireplace and 2 TVs. It could have accommodated all 4, with the couch pullout. There was storage space for ski equipment in-room, but also they provided lockers on ground floor. The kitchen was perfectly sized and functional. The shower worked well (strong and hot). The bedroom (even had door) had ceiling fan, and i was GRATEFUL for the humidifier, as i suffer from nasal issues with altitude and don t appreciate radiator -style heating. The bed was huge, soft but firm with down bedding. The rustic furniture was perfect, as i always unpack the suitcase , into the drawers. We never heard any neighbors....could hardly tell there were other occupants.

The teens had a much smaller room, still with great attention to detail. It was perfect as a stand-alone, with only one problem. Rooms 24/25 are on same floor as sauna, hot tub and "public" restrooms. So, there were several unpleasant ramifications. The worst was the excessive heat....probably bc of the excess of radiators in the common space .... To keep folks warm before/after sauna or hot tub. It was oppressively hot. Secondly, there was much loud activity from hottub etc. Their neighbors were also rambunctious and audible.

The place is so close to base of mountain....i was not looking forward to walks in ski boots....and sore shins, but truly it was much better than expected. We thought the walk from front door shortest. Also, renting equip from cottams was convenient, right next door, and professionally handled. We even got to " know" the cleaning staff from daily smiles ... pleasant and never pushy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 24/25 on floor 2 with sauna /spa. There is no restaurant....which i accidentally rated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bschmidtandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My family just spent 4 days at this location and it was amazing. The hotel is only a short distance from the ski slopes. They offer free lockers for your skis and snowboard. Personally, I like to get a locker at the base of the mountain so I don't have to walk the stairs in the ski boots though. Our suite had everything we needed to fix meals. The pull-out sofa bed had a memory foam mattress. Everything was clean and neat. We had a fireplace and two T.V.'s in our room. The view from the balcony was great. The staff and housekeepers were always helpful. The only thing I wish they had but did not was a pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracytravelsfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos Ski Valley
0.1 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
127 reviews
14.9 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,244 reviews
8.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Suites
Alpine Lodge & Suites
#5 of 9 in Red River
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 9 in Red River
586 reviews
8 mi away
Three Bears Lodge
Three Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Red River
196 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 9 in Red River
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Village Suites

Address: 100 Thunderbird Road, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range: $111 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine Village Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Village Hotel Taos Ski Valley
Alpine Village Suites Taos County/Taos Ski Valley, NM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing