We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent eatery”

The Blonde Bear Tavern
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Skiing originated in Europe and was refined in world-famous resorts throughout the Alps. The Blonde Bear Tavern gives you a taste of classic dishes from those regions interpreted through the casual laid-back attitude for which Taos Ski Valley is known.
Kerrville TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were in TSV for a 3-day music festival and stayed at the Edelweiss Hotel. The best part of this was the Blonde Bear. Food was excellent, service was excellent, and overall the place was a bargain. We'll happily eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texasbob93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, quality ingredients, good service. Enjoyed the fireplace, bar produced (awesome bartender) great drinks (fresh squeezed lime margaritas). Acoustics are a bit loud as the room is small, still great Apre' Ski experience

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went there twice this last ski trip and loved the food. It was crowded but they seated us quickly without a reservation. Had the pot pie one time and a burger the next and enjoyed both. Our waiter was a little overworked but we never felt neglected. The atmosphere reminds me I'm on the ski mountain with the central fireplace, bar and mountain crowd. I think the Blonde Bear is one of the best restaurant choices in the Taos Ski Valley.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Way too loud!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The noise in this restaurant was truly deafening! We were a party of four and we had to talk directly into each other's ears to be heard. As for the entrees, I had the pot pie and it was very bland. My husband ordered a chicken entree that was uninspiring. The other couple ordered beef stew over noodles and a hamburger. Okay food if you're really hungry, but not a fine dining experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank leeski5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eat anywhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

What a terrible experience. We were there on a non holiday weekend. Arrived on time for 630p reservation. Had cocktails for thirty minutes. Waiter arrived for dinner order. We ordered filet mignon. Waiter comes back thirty minutes later saying they are out. We order NY strips, Waiter comes back in twenty minutes to say they are out of that too. By now, we have been in the restaurant for one and one half hours. We fall back to burgers. Thirty minutes go by and STILL NO BURGERS. So two hours and no food. We left. Will never go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aaddsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon M, Manager at The Blonde Bear Tavern, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I don’t blame you for being angry. No one should have to wait so long for food, especially after a full day of skiing! I’m always saddened when we make mistakes with our guests, and well, this one was a doozie.

It was the evening of Taos’s annual Wine Festival, and we were one of only two restaurants open in the Village. That, coupled with it being the first weekend after a 20” powder, it turns out we had the season’s highest number of skiers that day. We were simply overwhelmed by the number of folks who came in at once. And as the dinner hour approached, we began to run out of food. Quickly.

We should have planned better. Although the previous year’s Wine Festival day was relatively quiet for us, we should have communicated with TSV to check the number of skiers, and also checked with the Chamber of Commerce to see how many restaurants were holding private wine dinners that evening.

We held staff meetings the next day, both with individuals and teams, to address what we knew was a bad experience for your large party. I am glad, however, that we paid for your 2 or 3 bottles of wine, cocktails, and appetizers. It was the least we could do. But we all felt terrible that you left half-fed, frustrated, and angry.

Thanks for writing, and as I told you that evening, I offer my sincerest apologies. We can’t undo your experience, but we have certainly learned from it and going forward we should have the ability to prevent such an occurrence from happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blonde Bear Tavern also viewed

Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
 
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
 

Been to The Blonde Bear Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing