We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to stay for a ski vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Columbine Inn & Conference Center
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect place to stay for a ski vacation”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We recently stayed at the Inn for a ski trip with our family. The loft room ws perfect for the kids and the size of the inn is nice - not too big and not too small. The location was awesome and the shuttle to the mountain was super convenient. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hot tub was a nice break at the end of a long ski day. Only down issues were no ESPN on the TV and the room temp was too warm at times. Overall this place is an excellent value for the money and if you have kids, the breakfast is a greaqt way to start each morning. I would reccomend this place highly and if we go skiing in Taos again, we would stay here again!
Katy, Texas

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank principal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    25
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Me and my family stayed here for two nights over the Labor Day weekend and enjoyed our stay other than the breakfast that was offered.
Good points:
Location! A beautiful area with tons of outdoor activities
Rooms, quaint small rooms, but clean and fun for bigger kids with the loft that's only accessible by ladder.
Rates, I appreciate that they offer a rate for military

Not so good point: The breakfast. Based on the website which trumped up the breakfast as a delicious buffet with a changing selection of popular items, I expected a fresh, like homemade, even B&B quality breakfast. I was disappointed with what was served.
First, it was served late for breakfast. 8am, which delayed our day's plans. Then the breakfast was sparse, barely what I would consider a continental breakfast. There were 2 cold cereals, oatmeal packets, bagels and previously frozen French toast that had been warmed up. The website should just say that some breakfast type items are available later in the morning, but by no means should they advertise what is served as a breakfast.
Go to one of the restaurants down the hill or near the resorts for a good breakfast and only depend on Columbine for a nice clean room.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armymed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Incredible location and delightful staff. We are planning on making our stay there an annual event.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanTTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

This hotel is in a really nice location for skiing. You can either drive to the lifts yourself or use their shuttle (maybe 5 minutes if even). The service was great and the staff had good suggestions for restaurants! The breakfast was included and really good. They have a cute little hot tub on the second floor. Felt like great get-away hotel for a skiing trip!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countryskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed at this hotel so that we didn't have to drive from all the way from the town of Taos. We were a few minutes away from the ski area. You could check snow conditions by looking out the window. When we weren't skiing, the kids played non-stop in the deep snow outside, a great treat for them because we don't get deep snow at home. The hotel has an outdoor hot tub in a perfect setting. Cant beat it for relaxing after a long ski day.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AhtiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We really enjoyed our recent trip to Columbine. Susie & Marie were very nice and accommodating. I talked to them several times prior to our arrival due to a possible change in plans, arriving late, etc. and they were so nice. After I arrived and met them in person (along with Paul), I immediately realized that they were the "real deal"--hard working nice people who are trying to see that their guests have a great time.
Pros-clean, fairly priced, well-located, warm breakfast included, free shuttle to ski area, hot tub, gameroom w/big screen tv, refrigerator and microwave in room.
Cons-Can be loud if the other guests are loud, but if you let the office know about it, they will take care of it.
Overall, this is a well-managed hotel and a good overall value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix , Az
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

We wanted to get in some early season skiing at Taos and stayed at the Coumbine. The hotel had a lot to offer and was very comfortable at a very fair price. The owners and staff were great and made you feel like you were welcome friends. Between the hot breakfast the shuttle to the base area and the general friendliness of everyone there we know where we will be staying our next time in Taos. Al and Beth

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tachedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos Ski Valley
1.8 mi away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
75 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
139 reviews
9.0 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#6 of 8 in Red River
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
523 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
7.2 mi away
Adobe & Stars Bed and Breakfast Inn of Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn & Conference Center

Property: Columbine Inn & Conference Center
Address: 1288 Highway 150, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Columbine Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic, alpine lodge nestled in the mountains of Taos. Surrounded by nature and convenient to skiing, hiking, museums and galleries. Your stay includes free breakfast, free wi-fi, outdoor hot tub, outdoor fireplace, and frequent guest program. The clean and comfortable guest rooms include one king or two queen beds, mini-fridge and microwave. Locally owned and operated by avid skiers and outdoor enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Columbine Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbine Inn & Conference Center Taos County/Taos Ski Valley, NM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing