We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edelweiss Lodge & Spa
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a wonderful stay. We were here for the annual Big Barndance music festival. The staff is superb and a wealth of information about the hotel and the event. Tickets for the festival were waiting for us at the front desk, and the festival was held at the bottom of Lift 1, about 300 yards from the hotel.
This property is really not a hotel. It is privately owned condos of all sizes and amenities that are rented out when the owners are absent. The rooms are spotless. The hotel is spotless. Bedding is the absolute best ever..... memory foam mattresses. What a pleasant surprise.
The attached restaurant/bar was not open on our arrival (Thursday) but Friday thru Sunday we enjoyed each meal. You need to keep in mind that this area is a ski resort, and most shops
and facilities are not open every day.
We spent 5 days here, and when we got back home we started planning our stay at this same
property for next year. This is a 4 or 5 star property, and next year can't come soon enough.

Room Tip: Every room is quiet, beautifully furnished, exceptionally clean and comfortable. You should choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickinyuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtnsurfer, General Manager at Edelweiss Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back again next year. As you mentioned, in the summer our food and beverage operations are scaled back a bit but it is worth mentioning that the Blonde Bear Tavern and the Cafe Naranja (located on site) are both open 7 days a week for breakfast, dinner, and apres ski in the winter.

See you back for the next Barn Dance weekend in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in a condo for our family ski week with 4 generations ranging in age from 11 to 91 and everyone had a great time. The condo was nicely decorated and still seems pretty new, clean and pretty well maintained - minor issues like some light bulbs out and a bad toaster, but was otherwise all we needed for our week. The location cannot be beat - ski in, ski out, restaurants and ski stores within easy walking distance, and easy to get to when driving. The facilities are a nice bonus - boot locker room, exercise/sauna/hot tub, and a small game room next to the cozy bar - all of which we utilized. The front desk staff was always kind and helpful. The only issue is parking - very tiny spaces smashed together under the building and only room for 1 vehicle per condo so we had to leave a car outside in the public parking area all week. We would stay here again without hesitation and hope that we can someday - skiing at Taos was fantastic with a great ski school our kids utilized and options for everyone on the slopes. A very good choice in Taos ski valley!

Room Tip: Our 2 bedroom/2 bath condo was big enough to fit 7 of us without feeling crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingagain08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Taos is so friendly, quaint and welcoming! Great ski in and ski out place with fantastic views of the whole mountain Never met a grumpy person including at this place. Very kind and friendly staff! We really enjoyed our time there and hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This marks our fourth season staying at the Edelweiss. We often come for several weekends per year. What's not to like: slopeside location, beautiful condos (all individuall owned). We usually stay in a 1br condo, but friends have stayed in the "hotel rooms" (really a blocked off bedroom from one of the condos with direct access to the hall) and they were very comfortable. The staff are excellent, helpful and friendly. The units are uniformly attractive and there is a basement garage. Areas for improvement: the reservation process can be a bit cumbersome, requiring signed agreements and the like. And, the spa (sauna, massage area, workout room, hot tub) could be bigger. But we'll be back... Its a second home for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gate95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Favorite things about this place: Underground parking (at no additional charge). Great location to lifts, rental shops, restaurants, ski schools. Staff is very friendly and helpful (they made a point remember our names). Restaurant on the 1st floor which is open for breakfast and dinner. There is a spa (best massage i have had in a long time...ask for Cat), gym, hottub, and boot room (with lockers for safe keeping and drying of your damp boots). Daily housekeeping. We stayed in room #201, which was a 1 bedroom, 1 bath. The unit was spacious. The place was furnished with top of the line furniture and kitchenware. The flooring was tile, hardwood and some carpet....very nice decor and color scheme. The master suite had a king sized bed with flat screen TV mounted on the wall and a window sitting area. Also in the room was a humidifier, inflatable mattress, extra comforters and blankets, and a supply of novels for reading. The living room had a TV, fireplace and sleeper sofa. There was a sliding door that opened to railing...not a true balcony...the view was of the lodge's courtyard. There was also a round bar heigth table for dining and bar counter, which sat 4. Full size appliances and stackable washer and dryer in the unit. The bathroom had a tub and seperate shower, drying rack, double sink vanity, and seperate toilet room. If i go back to Taos, i would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candy318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent Christmas in a 2 bedroom condo with a tremendous view of Strawberry Hill from our kitchen table. We enjoyed watching the antics of beginning skiiers from the floor-to-ceiling windows every day and watching Christmas movies beside the gas fireplace every night. The building management and staff went out of their way to make sure our needs were met (from making reservations at local restaurants to finding a parking space in the garage for our oversized truck). Certainly pricey, but worth it to stay at a worry-free, nicely appointed and ideally located spot.

Room Tip: Corner suite had outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaucaireTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have stayed a lot of places around Taos and can honestly say none comes close to the Edelweiss. It is the definition of ski in ski out, you come right out on Strawberry Hill. The condos are all individually decorated and owned, making for a real unique feel. The staff are great, the restaurant is gourmet and delicious, I would say the best food on the mountain, and the spa is well-priced and a great resource after a hard day on the mountain. Take advantage of the hot tub! I cannot compliment our stay here enough, can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Room 403 has great views of Strawberry Hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitmcinteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos Ski Valley
0.1 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
157 reviews
14.9 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Suites
Alpine Lodge & Suites
#5 of 9 in Red River
243 reviews
8.1 mi away
Three Bears Lodge
Three Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Red River
196 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge & Spa

Address: 106 Sutton Place, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range: $328 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edelweiss Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Edelweiss Lodge & Spa combines the charm and perfect location of the original Edelweiss Hotel with a refined sense of service and updated amenities. Located right on the slopes for true ski-in/ski-out convenience, our spacious condominiums are beautifully appointed with great views of the slopes or the valley. On-site amenities include an exercise room, cedar sauna, boot lockers, ski valet service, ski shop, and underground parking. The Spa offers a range of quality therapies and the restaurant is a great place for an apre ski by the fire or romantic dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Edelweiss Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Lodge And Spa
Edelweiss Hotel Taos Ski Valley
Edelweiss Lodge & Spa Taos County/Taos Ski Valley, NM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing