We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Love the Mountain

Taos is a special place!!! As a Native Coloradan who is an avid skier, this mountain has something... read more

Reviewed April 7, 2021
americanhickey
,
Golden, Colorado
via mobile
Great skiing

Great spring skiing! Lots of terrain and not many people. I like challenging terrain so I was... read more

Reviewed March 29, 2021
ianschneller
,
Dallas, Texas
Read all 511 reviews
  
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
348
98
33
14
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
348
98
33
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski school base area challenging terrain great snow lift tickets expert skiers green runs intermediate runs other resorts fresh snow bavarian restaurant high altitude angel fire spring skiing skiing experience parking lot ski lift
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 511 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

Lovely village with all you need for a nice family skiing trip! Great especially for beginners! Many options to stay over such as hotels an condominiums.
If you drive bring tie groceries if you stay in the condos! They have all you need!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Jurado_SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

We visited Albuquerque and planned to take our kids snowboarding at Sandia Peak, but they had very little snow there. So, we decided to drive a couple hours north to Taos and enrolled our kids in snowboarding school. They loved it! Alastair was their instructor and she did a great job. There were only 4 kids in their group and they learned everything needed to be successful. The kids said it was pretty hard to get the hang of, but they did well. The resort is very nice and many the facilities at the resort are brand new. We highly recommend Taos for anyone wanting challenging trails and a fun time.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 230andyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2018 via mobile

Visited Taos Feb 25 after some recent new snow. Visible new construction. Big sign says new high speed quad next year replacing base lift. New electronic day lockers. All that comes with a price. Adult lift ticket now $105.00.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018

Came with a group and skied here for the first time. We stayed at the Snakedance condos, an older and basic place but super convenient to the slopes, just a few steps from the back entrance to the main lift. Our package included 2 hours of lessons daily - apparently the ski school here is famous - from 10 to noon so on the first morning we joined several dozen other intermediate skiers for a "ski off" so the instructors could assemble groups of up to 6 each by level. This method of assessment of skill levels was far from precise. Bear in mind they seemed to place a lot of weight on speed, so if you ski down in a leisurely pace you’d likely be sent to the lower level groups. They told us we could always request a change if not happy with the assigned group but in reality it wasn’t that easy, as they were mainly interested in keeping the group numbers balanced. The instructors all had years of experience, many had been teaching for close to 50 years! But personally I think you could benefit more from someone with less seniority, more energy, and who was more eager to teach. Our group hardly did any skill enhancing exercises, unlike other groups. In terms of any tips that could help improvement we got a lot less than much shorter lessons I had taken elsewhere. We also started later than other groups and finished early every single day. So as far as the quality of the lessons were concerned, not that impressive. It's the luck of the draw, all would depend on the group and instructor you end up with.

Skiing here is known for the more advanced trails, except this year with a base of only 20 something inches of natural snow, just about all the open trails were blues and greens the week we were there (end of Jan to beginning of Feb). The blues here are a lot less steep than blues at most Colorado resorts, no blue/blacks, so great for beginners and beginner-intermediates. We were told that all the open trails were covered with "millions and millions of dollars" of manmade snow, however what with the water quota which they apparently already used up for the year, they couldn’t keep making more snow even with the brand new high powered snow making equipment. There's no question the existing trails did not offer enough terrain or variety for a whole week of skiing. That said, snow conditions on most trails were well maintained, and weather was beautiful - most days sunny in the high 30s - with pretty empty slopes and no lift lines. So overall, it was a fun week.

One note about the elevation - base here is about 9300 ft, so pretty high if coming from sea level. Most people would feel some mild headaches and shortness of breath the first couple of days. So be sure to take it easy on the first day and keep well hydrated.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2018

This is a small resort but gives plenty of variety. Beautiful and filled with friendly, fun skiers. Facilities are great!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank AMW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews