We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Love the Mountain

Taos is a special place!!! As a Native Coloradan who is an avid skier, this mountain has something... read more

Reviewed April 7, 2021
americanhickey
,
Golden, Colorado
via mobile
Great skiing

Great spring skiing! Lots of terrain and not many people. I like challenging terrain so I was... read more

Reviewed March 29, 2021
ianschneller
,
Dallas, Texas
Read all 511 reviews
  
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
348
98
33
14
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
348
98
33
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski school base area challenging terrain great snow lift tickets expert skiers green runs intermediate runs other resorts fresh snow bavarian restaurant high altitude angel fire spring skiing skiing experience parking lot ski lift
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 511 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2016

I'm an upper intermediate snowboarder. I mostly like groomers and wide open blues. I was told by many people that Taos is an advanced mountain. While I agree with that statement, I also think It would be unfair to say its TOO advanced. There is plenty to offer for beginners and novices on the mountain. The last time I was in Taos was February 2014 and there was plenty of snow, everything was open except for Kachina, and I was with my Friends who are a married couple, and my girlfriend. All 3 were beginners and they have said to this day that Taos was the best place they've been so far. (we have since been to ski apache, aspen, aspen snowmass, heavenly mountain) I have personally been to santa fe, ski apache, aspen snowmass, heavenly, angel fire and red river. And out of all of those Taos is the best place I've been.

With all of that said I'm a little disappointed that the new owners are trying to turn the place into a "blown out of proportion" resort. Part of the magic of Taos is that Not that many people know about it, but the new owners plan to change that. Its been a hidden gem in the mountains of New mexico, so If you want to ride Taos before it becomes another overrun Giant commercial resort, I suggest you get there quick. Its getting more well known with every season.

With all that said... Even if it does become a super crowded resort, its such a big mountain, and there is so much to do. I will keep going back to Taos Ski Valley unless something sways me otherwise in the future.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

This is an excellent mountain for skiers. I've been skiing here since I was a kid. It's such a great little community of passionate outdoors men and women. It's not over crowded like Vail and Aspen. If you want to REALLY ski, come to Taos. If you want to wear fashionable clothes and enjoy a "scence" this is not the Mountain for you.

There is nothing like coming down the back side of the mountain and having a refreshing beer at the beer garden!

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank theblondevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

I've been skiing since the early 70's and this place is totally stuck in the 70's! Yes they have some challenging runs (we could see them even though it was summer), but the buildings, the layout, condos, all of it...YUCK! We were there to check it out prior to our planned winter visit and to hike the trail to Williams Lake at 11,100' elevation. The hike was fantastic! Lots of people hiking. TSV, well, have to say we preferred Angel Fire. TSV offered no downhill mountain biking either, which Angel Fire did. The drive up to TSV is scenic, but the road is pitted with holes, rough. Locals drive like maniacs, be prepared. Stop and put your feet in the beautiful river running beside the road!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank moc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

I love this mountain during the Winter as well as Summer. For skiing it can be intimidating for beginners, I would recommend skiing Red River or Angel Fire if your just learning and then coming here once you feel comfortable. There are many trails as you should plan on at least 2 or 3 days to fully explore this mountain. If you enjoy Double black trails you will love this mountain as they finally opened the Kachina Peak chair lift a few years ago that you use to have to hike up to. Also you can hike up to the West Basin and Highline Ridge at chair # 2. The views alone from these trails are amazing, not to mention the skiing as not to many people use these trails. These trails can be misleading as some of the Blues would be Blacks on the surrounding mountains in the area so be aware. There tends to be more powder here as well, than Red River and Angel Fire. I believe there is about 11 chair lifts here I tend to stay on the back side by chair # 4 and ski down to the Bavaian and have lunch and some good German beer. If your a good skier you will love it here if your not that good I wouldn't recommend it. For the Summer time I like to hike up to Wheeler Peak and Williams Lake start off early in the morning for that as it can take a while. They have the chair lift open for some great views of surrounding mountains and more hiking. Also they have concerts and music festivals around the Bavarian. I like to take my Jeep up through the mountains or if you have a 4x4 you can have some fun, it's rough though so make sure your rig is in good shape. This could be a place I could retire too someday.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful trails, great restaurant at the top, and a very scenic drive. You just can't miss this if you're in the area! Be sure to stop in Arroyo Seco on the way up, great shops and ice cream!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank mamalulurose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews