We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
PanLong Shanzhuang Hotel
Ranked #7 of 119 Hotels in Xiangtan
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
655 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
“The Best in the City”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Relaxing place, first class facilities, restaurant expert at hosting business meetings/meals. A little oasis in the city -- trees, flowers, shrubs, watercourses, pool. A gated community. It's where foreign businessmen stay and it is favored by big local businesses.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, although the others are close by and also quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    97
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I was the only westerner staying in the hotel, so when I was in the restaurant, it didn't take my translator long to track me down! Hotel is about 10 years old, and is looking a little dated in places, but probably not much else to choose from. Big front impressive lobby area which is circular and encased in tile and marble, but becomes very noisy and echoes into the restaurant and bar when a few people there. My room was a deluxe single out in the back section and very quiet. I didn't have my computer, only smart phone, and wi-fi only works in lobby, but there was a computer for rent in business centre for A$3 hour. Bar was good and service was excellent, although not much English spoken. Had dinner in both the western and Chinese restaurant, and some staff have trouble to smile. Oh yes, and if you decide on the Peking Duck in the Chinese restaurant, make sure you ask for some duck meat, although this may be difficult with the language barrier. I was served only the skin and the pancakes were a little big and doughy. I was assured this was the most tasty part of the duck, but I've never experienced just being served the skin before! I normally had breakfast in my room as I found the restaurant a bit too noisy in the morning. The location is not great and need a 15 minute taxi ride to get downtown, but it's not expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieGreg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Paragon covers a big area and is very spacious throughout. The gardens design, lobby, shops, bar and restaurant facilities are ok but with the amount of space available and 5 star rating they could be more classy. This place comes accross as a beautiful idea/plan that was poorly implemented.

Positives: big rooms, friendly and helpful staff that speak english - not perfect but better than my chinese, drink vouchers to use at hotel bar left next to your bed every other night. Best place to stay in Xiangtan.

Things to improve: inbalanced lightning in rooms including absence of ceeling lights (not helpful when you need to work on PC or read a book - but the staff will bring you a lamp if you ask), very big swiming pool but you have to pay extra, gym is free but small and with outdated machines (nobody ever uses it thought so you can have it all to yourself).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bledi_Kodhelaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Good clean hotel, massive rooms with desk and lounge chairs.
Bathroom was in need of a revamp, especially the shower mat.
Hard mattress which was good for me :o)
Hotel staff don't speak English so be prepared with phrasebook for foreigners.
Took a long time to check-out.
Breakfast is more geared towards Chinese tastes, but if you like noodles and dumplings then it's good. Chef on call for omelettes to your taste.
Hotel bar is usually empty though quick service of beers.
About a mile to get to the main drag of Xiangtan centre which is about 6-7RMB in a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiangtan hotels
0.9 mi away
Huatian Hotel
Huatian Hotel
#10 of 119 in Xiangtan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.5 mi away
Guliju International Hotel
Guliju International Hotel
#62 of 119 in Xiangtan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.1 mi away
7 Days Inn Xiangtan Coach Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
7 Days Inn Xiangtan Jijianying
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
1.3 mi away
Jingdu Hotel
Jingdu Hotel
#30 of 119 in Xiangtan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PanLong Shanzhuang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PanLong Shanzhuang Hotel

Property: PanLong Shanzhuang Hotel
Address: No.1 Hedong Hongqi Avenue, Xiangtan 411101, China
Location: China > Hunan > Xiangtan > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 119 Hotels in Xiangtan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — PanLong Shanzhuang Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Hotel.de so you can book your PanLong Shanzhuang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing