We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous landscape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous landscape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The highlight was the Landscape. The Erongo mountains are amazingly beautiful and completely worth it. The guided walks were a delight and the guides had all very nice personalities and were also good knowledgeable. Rooms are spacious and have a beautiful view, bathroom nicely designed and very good. The only downside was that during high summer it gets very hot inside, but ok, we went to the desert during high summer...
The breakfast was very good and complete- continental an cooked. Dinner was good as well, but not gourmet. I recommend eating outside with candlelights, as we did one evening. My husband and I loved our stay there, even being a bit pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscila Salern... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    55
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
51
169
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Loved my 2 nights at Erongo.
The site is really incredible! I was very impressed with the location. Loved my tented-room, very clean, spacious, with everything you need.
We were well welcomed,and I liked the family-home vibe to it. It's not uptight as other lodges.
I specially like the morning hike to the top of the rock! The view was absolutely breathtaking!
Staff very friendly and discret.
A stunning place to spend a couple of days. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

and unforgettable. Tents with bathrooms in the rocs. Surrounded by spectaculor huge rocks and mountains. Every morning you wake up with the sound of all kind of birds , colourful parrots, and you look into the faces of unnumerous Klippdachse. Every item fits into the landscape. You may do early bird walking in the valley or afternoon climbing on the rocks. The staff helps you with everything. Food is great , the restaurant the most romantic I have seen And when I was there I saw thousand and thousands of butterflies....I will come back one day! And the most funny thing was that I had to sign that I will not pull the tail of a leopard..... I did not"!

Room Tip: all tents are just stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OutofAfrica660213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent two nights here in December 2012 and would strongly recommend it. We slept in a thatched tent high up among rocks with a spectacular view along a small valley and with local, vocal baboons for company! The lodge and the tents are cleverly hidden among piles of rounded rocks, pleasantly remote and in good walking country. We had very well informed guides - we saw some good game, a good variety of plants and trees and some wonderful birds. We ate good food and were warmly welcomed. Our last stop before leaving Namibia and one of the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highgate43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a truly beautiful and exquisite lodge and one of the best we visited on our Namibian holiday. Fantastic hosts, friendly, professional staff, good food, absolutely stunning tents in very private locations with gorgeous balconies, relaxing and romantic. This truly is a proper 'tented' camp, very stylishly appointed with beautiful bathrooms built into the rocks. The baboons put on a fabulous show for us and a massive Eland came to the waterhole whilst we ate dinner. This was a bit of an extra treat since this lodge isn't a 'game' lodge and we weren't really expecting any wildlife.

It was an absolute pleasure to stay. Only one little suggestion - another fan in the tent would have been lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Wonderful location, magnificent region with beatififul nature to make Nice walks or to visit the cave paintings.. Nice small swimmingpool. The location of the lodge is surprisingly well chosen. I never saw a lodge fit so well into its surroundings. Bungalows are amazing!
Very peaceful and perfect to relax at At any time of the holidays in Namibia!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
245 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Lodge is only 12 kilometres from town, yet completely in the wilderness. We had a tent nearest to the gate and furthest from the restaurant - and, yes, along a boardwalk and steps - and we loved it. The view from our bed was of huge granite mountains with views of the savannah between them. We also had some woodland close by and so could sit on the elevated verandah, watching a whole range of exciting birds and a few mammals as they went about their business. The loo and shower were carved out of the rocks and also gave us great views of the surrounding countryside! The restaurant was also beautifully sited, high above a waterhole, where we were fortunate to see Common Genet, Damara Dik-Dik and a one horned Kudu, as well as a Freckled Nightjar hawking over the slope below us. Food was good, service efficient and friendly. Sadly, our stay was too short.

Room Tip: You do need to check out which room you are to be allocated as some/many have steep climbs to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omaruru
12.6 mi away
Guestfarm Onduruquea
Guestfarm Onduruquea
#3 of 15 in Omaruru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.9 mi away
Otjohotozu Guestfarm
Otjohotozu Guestfarm
#1 of 8 in Omaruru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
21.2 mi away
Roidina Safari Lodge
Roidina Safari Lodge
#8 of 15 in Omaruru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Klein Eden Guest Farm
Klein Eden Guest Farm
#6 of 15 in Omaruru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
6.1 mi away
Omaruru Guesthouse
Omaruru Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Omaruru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erongo Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Property: Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 90590 | Klein Windhoek, Omaruru, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Omaruru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Omaruru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erongo Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a special wilderness area in Namibia, encircled by the Erongo Mountains where the desert, mountain, and bushveld ecosystems combine. Here, in a secluded valley, you will find a lodge with ten luxury tented chalets in a dramatic setting of granite boulders and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Erongo Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing