We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lodge with great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We had just one night at Erongo Wilderness Lodge to break our journey up to Etosha national park. We arrived quite late in the day as the sun was starting to turn the rocks a golden colour, highlighting the natural beauty of the lodge's setting. Accommodation was in comfortable, but relatively rustic stilted tents dotted across the rocky landscape, some well positioned for the sunset between huge boulders. Our supper here was probably the best meal of our trip, all served in a beautiful restaurant overlooking a small water hole. We had a great view of the stars as they came out, as well as the distant electrical storm (which did arrive at 3am!). We did a nature walk in the morning which was our first foray into the bush, and so interesting, but there is very little game and we learned more about plants and geology than about animals. We did spot a few baboons in the distance, and some Dik Dik antelopes, but don't head to Erongo if your motivation is just game viewing. We felt very well looked after throughout our trip and really enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    56
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
173
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Just back from a fantastic holiday for two weeks in Namibia. Myself and my partner know Namibia quite well from previous trips and the Erongo Mountains was the only part of the trip we were unsure of before we left, and to be honest we only booked here as it was a short hop from Windhoek after a long flight and broke it up our journey to Damaraland. Turned out to be the best part of our trip. Staff were fantastic, genuinely friendly. The location is stunning, food is amazing and the activities were great, even with two small kids. Definitely keen to include in future trips.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Murphy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

We loved our stay at the Erongo Wilderness Lodge. The team couldn't be more friendly, including our own hiking guide Heidi! The rooms and view are incredible - pure nature with butterflies flying overhead and terrific views. This is pure Namibia at five stars...one of our true highlights in Namibia and we highly recommend! P.S. Do the morning and evening hikes - both really special!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

A very different feeling to this lodge to some of the others we stayed in - its appeal is perhaps not so immediate but quickly grows on you. The particularly charming new manager and his wife make one feel at home (as well as the rest to the team) and the sense of being close to nature soon makes one feel as if one has found a lost valley close to Eden. It is apparent from other reviewers comments that this is often used as a stopover and they have regretted not staying longer. We stayed two nights anmd would have happily stayed longer - the joy of watching the wildlife from our tent or the lodge dining room, especially the birds, was superb. This deserves to be a destination - not just a stopover

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
276 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

Our last night in Namibia : upon arrival in erongo, you've got to park your vehicle and they'll drive you to the lodge, a bit of a weird welcome, as their office/reception was very messy, so you might ask yourself where you ended up, we got tent no 10, which is a requested the most remote one, tents are comfortable and give excellent view. Birdlife is indeed magnificent, and you can easily do a walk yourself, watch out not to stumble over the dozens of rockdassies. The dinner was excellent (porcupine passed by in the evening), only negative point was that one couple had a baby with them, where the father acted like he was playing in a kintergarden, so I would advice the lodge to change their policy on small children, as during dinner (and at night) crying babies spoil the 'wilderness' fun for other guests... Bare also in mind that you're still a 2,5 hours drive from Windhoek and it took us 3,5 hours to come in from Swakopmund. We would recommend to do this place when starting your journey in Namibia, if you do as we did, you might be slightly disappointed if you compare with other lodges in same price level.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yenzi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

The hotel is situated inmthe middle of a granite rock formation. The tented huts are charming, confortable and clean. They have enough space between them to ensure your privacy.

Staff is very helpful and the food is very good. As a bonus, we could porcupines 5m from us while we had dinner.

The birdlife is impressive and you can also see warthogs, duik duik, kudus, etc. I strongly recommend the walking tours.The climbing to see the sunset is also another must do.

Consider to stay one full day or two days there to really enjoy the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

Just fantastic. After our horror stay at Twyfelfontein Lodge (I did a review on it), Erongo Wilderness was an ocean of calm. The tented rooms are nicely set and well apart so you feel alone. Personnel was very friendly and helpfull. Food was the best of our stay in Namibia. Sad we stayed only one night there driving between Twyfelfontein and Sossusvlei.
Only negative is that you don't have much to do, but that can be a positive from time to time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliceloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Omaruru hotels
5.7 mi away
Evening Shade Self-Catering Accommodation
2.9 mi away
Otjohotozu Guestfarm
Otjohotozu Guestfarm
#1 of 8 in Omaruru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
12.6 mi away
Guestfarm Onduruquea
Guestfarm Onduruquea
#3 of 15 in Omaruru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Roidina Safari Lodge
Roidina Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Omaruru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
23.6 mi away
Klein Eden Guest Farm
Klein Eden Guest Farm
#5 of 15 in Omaruru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
19.3 mi away
Ai-Aiba The Rock Painting Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erongo Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Property: Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 90590 | Klein Windhoek, Omaruru, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Omaruru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Omaruru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erongo Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a special wilderness area in Namibia, encircled by the Erongo Mountains where the desert, mountain, and bushveld ecosystems combine. Here, in a secluded valley, you will find a lodge with ten luxury tented chalets in a dramatic setting of granite boulders and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Erongo Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing