We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the animals while enjoying a sundowner”
Review of Omaruru Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omaruru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Omaruru Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Towards the end of our Koakoland and Damaraland Tour in Namibia, we stayed at Omaruru Game Lodge for one night at the selfcatering rondavels (ZAR650 - about 62 euros) and what a great experience! Wonderful to have a pool (although it was still late winter) and green grass around. With so many birds looking for something to eat....great company.

The main Lodge is situated on the waterhole but the selfcatering apartments are further away from the main lodge. One can enjoy a drink or dinner at the restaurant while enjoying the animals coming to drink and eat at the waterhole. We absolutely loved to experience the Rhino so close! The cheetas were good to see but we thought the poor Leopard should be removed from the premises. This animal is alone in her "cage" and extremely nervous and one cannot see it at all. It keeps hiding away when people arrive. According to Namibian Law, they may keep only one Leopard on the premises. Very unfair to this animal.

I've read in previous feedback that this Lodge is nothing but a glorified Zoo, but no we loved this place!!! Due to the drought conditions in Namibia, they are feeding the animals by force and boy, at 17h00 it started to look like a Kindergarten! The animals all hanging around the Bar area watching the Barman who brings their snack! It was wonderful really. One could kiss the Rhino (as hubby did) but the female Rhino was more nervous and not to be touched. For us who never see these animals, it was just to wonderful to experience.

Please stop at this place should you pass near Omaruru. Lovely town and area.

Our selfcatering Rondavel (one of five) had two bedrooms with linen, towels, place for BBQ, stove, fridge and all kitchenware. See that you close the gate well at parking area otherwise Rhino's could damage your car as they walk freely on the premises.

The distance from Omaruru to this Lodge is about 15 km on gravel road. Good conditions! In Omaruru you can do shopping at the local Supermarket. Enough choices of what you want.

All and all: what a joy and good memories of Omaruru Game Lodge!

Room Tip: If you need to carry many things to your selfcatering apartment, ask for the first one (I think it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItalyEleonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

A great place to take young children to get them close to the game without the rigours of early morning game drives in deep bush.

Very comfortable chalets with half set round an artificial waterhole which in the evenings is softly lit and fodder put out for the animals. This brings all sorts of game from the large estate close up to where you are enjoying your evening beer - think take a step back in case the rhino swings its head! A wonderful experience for the children and those not able to climb into a game viewing truck, though if it is your last stop after a game drive holiday you might find it a little sanitised. The children will also enjoy the morning game drive and the close up elephants - think wide angle rather than telephoto lens!

Food was excellent and vegetarians (advise in advance) well catered for. Breakfast was good but the buffet layout was badly organised and needs a little more thought.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our first trip when we moved to Namibia was to Omaruru Game Lodge. We wanted to make sure that we could show our then 9 & 7 year olds the African Wildlife we had promised them. We were not disappointed, finding Elephant and a range of antelope. The highlight of each trip (we returned three times, taking family and friends) is the main bar and restaurant. Every evening you can sit outside the main restaurant, which overlooks a waterhole, and wait for the animals to come to you, as you sit back and enjoy a drink. You can then continue your viewing as you enjoy a Namibian set menu. There are no wild cats, but they do have cheetah and leopard in enclosures near the lodge where feeding occurs in the mornings. This is the place where my kids patted Eland and Rhino. nothing is guaranteed when you are viewing African wildlife, but Omaruru has an easy charm and quirky decor that is memorable.

Room Tip: Request a room around the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I wasn't impressed from the word go. The reception stank of smoke, the rooms are very average with a broken shower door and a steam barely enough to get wet. But the cherry on top for me was the leopard in the cage. Personally I'd rather go a lifetime looking for a leopard in the wild and not see one, than have to look at its sad eyes. Never mind the feeding hour at the waterhole with the artificial perception of what a wildlife experience should be. The restaurant serves average at best food and the staff could do with a bit of training in the service department. All in all, I think there are much better game reserves in the area which offer better value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seashorehappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

On arrival around 2pm at Omururu Game Lodge, we were told our self catering unit was not ready and was asked to have a refreshment till it was. After some drinks and no further instructions we decided to go drop our bags off. Upon arrival at the unit, we were confronted with a group of people taking photographs of our chalet. When we pushed them for answers why it was not ready, it was discovered there had been an armed robbery in the unit the night before! We then confronted management about this and were extremely disappointed with their reaction. They were of the opinion they it was of no consequence and that as a ' farm' it was to be expected. Maybe I am ignorant to the fact of crimes on farms, but coming from South Africa, I was expecting a bit more security on a private game farm.
As I mentioned,I might be a bit naive, but when it comes to my 2 girls and wife,I will not take their safety lightly.
I must admit, the animals around the watering hole where right next to us and thoroughly enjoyed.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

this lodge is very different , once you acknowledge and accept that you are actually in a Zoo (and not natural reserve), you can start enjoying.
the rooms are very nice although a bit too small, the rooms facing the animals are very dramatic by bringing this experience into the room (10meters ), rooms 3A. 4A
the service is very good and the staff are very welcoming.
Dinner was very good with great atmosphere.

Room Tip: 3A &4A - facing the animals ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amichai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful African (feel) lodge for two wonderful days! What a great experience this was and I will recommend it any time to people who want to meet up with wild life at close quarters.
The management was very friendly and made us feel at home right from the start!

One can hardly believe that you will find such a green haven with indiginous Namibian trees mixed with beautiful palms right throughout this very neat and well kept camp lodge.

The food is good and the view to the waterhole is awesome with more wild game than one can imagine, at very close range! The servive is good and friendly staff make you just want to stay there! Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Omaruru hotels
10.7 mi away
Evening Shade Self-Catering Accommodation
16 mi away
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 17 in Omaruru
324 reviews
10 mi away
Omaruru Guesthouse
Omaruru Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Omaruru
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Klein Eden Guest Farm
Klein Eden Guest Farm
#7 of 17 in Omaruru
31 reviews
34.7 mi away
Ai-Aiba The Rock Painting Lodge
10 mi away
Kashana
Kashana
#4 of 9 in Omaruru
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omaruru Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omaruru Game Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 208, Omaruru, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Omaruru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Omaruru
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omaruru Game Lodge 3.5*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing