We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Garden”
Review of Renishaw Hall

Renishaw Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Renishaw
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Garden”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is not a huge garden, but it had a good variety of flowers and plants, including ponds with water lilies & large koi. It was nice strolling around the various areas and stopping to sit on the many benches. Parking is in the shade under the trees which we appreciated since we had to leave the dogs in the car. The Hall is now open to the public but was closed when we were there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3dogmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    74
    16
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing oasis close to the city”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited the gardens only over the August bank holiday weekend. We took our dog with us and had a great time strolling around the immaculate gardens and spending time down by the ponds in glorious sunshine.

The gardens are a good choice for an afternoon out, a very relaxed place with a convenient coffee shop with tasty well priced food and drink.

Overall, a nice afternoon outing, but quite expensive just for the gardens and crazy that you also have to pay to park the car!!
Plus you can't take a picnic!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens but quite pricey”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to renishaw hall and gardens however it only took us an hour to walk around them at a cost of £6.00 each plus an extra pound to park on he grass! The gardens are beautiful and well worth a look, but my friend and I both agreed to was a little pricey.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A pleasant afternoon - will come back again”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went for a walk around the gardens on a summer's Saturday afternoon. There were very well kept, with a few hidden treasures along optional paths and walkways.

Car parking was conveniently located near to the entrance and in easy access of the main house.

The map of the grounds was fairly accurate, which helped make sure we covered it all and didn't miss anything. Some areas are accessed by steps, but nothing too arduous.

The entrance fee was a little pricey for the size of the gardens, but all in all a very enjoyable afternoon spent out in the sunshine with some very good photo opportunities.

We also stopped off in the café for some refreshment and the drinks and cakes were what you would expect and reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank filthurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Update based on tour of house”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I had previously submitted a review based on the gardens and the cafe etc but have now toured the house. I felt the tour was excellent and was pleased to witness the lengths staff went to in trying to accommodate a wheel chair user into our tour (really positive without drawing unnecessary attention). The groups can be large but I did not have a problem with this as our guide was informative and used to handling groups like this. I would suggest touring the house before the gardens as the guide tells you some informative stuff which is useful as you wander round later

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MattdeKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renishaw Hall also viewed

 
Bolsover, Derbyshire
 

Been to Renishaw Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing