We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens but quite pricey”
Review of Renishaw Hall

Renishaw Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Renishaw
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens but quite pricey”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to renishaw hall and gardens however it only took us an hour to walk around them at a cost of £6.00 each plus an extra pound to park on he grass! The gardens are beautiful and well worth a look, but my friend and I both agreed to was a little pricey.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    79
    16
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A pleasant afternoon - will come back again”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went for a walk around the gardens on a summer's Saturday afternoon. There were very well kept, with a few hidden treasures along optional paths and walkways.

Car parking was conveniently located near to the entrance and in easy access of the main house.

The map of the grounds was fairly accurate, which helped make sure we covered it all and didn't miss anything. Some areas are accessed by steps, but nothing too arduous.

The entrance fee was a little pricey for the size of the gardens, but all in all a very enjoyable afternoon spent out in the sunshine with some very good photo opportunities.

We also stopped off in the café for some refreshment and the drinks and cakes were what you would expect and reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank filthurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Update based on tour of house”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I had previously submitted a review based on the gardens and the cafe etc but have now toured the house. I felt the tour was excellent and was pleased to witness the lengths staff went to in trying to accommodate a wheel chair user into our tour (really positive without drawing unnecessary attention). The groups can be large but I did not have a problem with this as our guide was informative and used to handling groups like this. I would suggest touring the house before the gardens as the guide tells you some informative stuff which is useful as you wander round later

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MattdeKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
1 review
“Disabled Access”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After eating lunch in the 'Gallery Cafe' we visited the gardens today for the second time, but this time took my elderly mother who was in a wheelchair.
Access to the gardens with the wheelchair was very very difficult because of the terrain we had to negotiate. We eventually managed to get to the first ramp and negotiated this successfully but the gravel paths were hard work and the second ramp too steep and dangerous for us to risk with the wheelchair so as we were exhausted with all the effort we eventually gave up and went home. We were really disappointed because the gardens are a real delight.
We suggest that the owners try all the disability routes they have by pushing someone in a wheelchair around them to test how accessible or not they are.
In addition there was a 'food fair' in the court yard , which was very disappointing-mainly a few craft stalls.
The food in the ' Gallery Café' was delicious as usual.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Chilled Out Gardens to Treasure”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of City Living, relaxed beautiful and tranquil, so near to Nottingham, Derby and Sheffield. It is breath taking the gardens are so natural, and hidden treasure's await you. Tendered with love and care. At

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SlaySlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renishaw Hall also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Renishaw Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing