We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica
Nearby Hotels
$1,122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Summer Village Hotel(Marmari)(Great Value!)
$71
$48
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Cook Kos(Marmari)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Esperia(Marmari)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,492)
Filter reviews
1,492 results
Traveler rating
687
514
195
56
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
514
195
56
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssplash poolamerican dinerfootball academysliding partitionkids clubentertainment teamswimming lessonsmain restaurantgreek restaurantswim academyadult barsunset barevening entertainmentfamily roomfamily poolaerial adventurehigh ropes
Filter
Updating list...
1,276 - 1,281 of 1,492 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a really good time here. Travelled with our 4 year old daughter.

Transfer took 20 minutes and was the only hotel stop off, nice and easy.

We booked a family room with sliding partion door and it was huge, clean and modern. Beds were really comfy. There was a tv in each section that showed childrens shows/films etc. Fridge, kettle and tea making facilites in room, no iron or ironing board. Air con worked perfectly.

Bathroom quite small. There isnt a bath, but there is both a fixed shower head and one that you can remove from the wall. This was fine for us but if you have little ones, the hotel can provide a mini paddling pool that you can put in to make it a bit easier.

Food was really good. We'd had good and bad experiences in the past so were pleased that we both enjoyed it and most importantly, our little one did too. Snack bar served ice cream, sandwiches, salad, toasties and hot food (pizza, burgers, chips etc) in the day in addition to the main restaurant being open. They also had a few a la carte restaurants that are included but we didnt use them.

Kids clubs were fantastic. They have a creche, which is payable (around €45 for 5 1.5 hour sessions) and then from age 3, it is free. Kids clubs have things like Shrek Party, Circus Skills, Story time, Little scientists. The staff were fantastic and Liv skipped off happily. Sessions were: 10-11:30, 12-13:30, 14:30-16:00, 16:30-18:00, 21:00-23:00. Staff were lovely, felt completely at ease leaving our daughter in their care.She went to a fair few sessions and raved about each one.

Evening entertainment (19:45-21:00) was great for the kids, Didn't stick around for any of the adult stuff. My only reservation with the whole place was the evening auditorium. It was tiered seating on plastic chairs and then a few tables with chairs at the top. We usually got there a little early so sat at the top, but did feel a little far out from it all. I much prefer to be sat at a table rather than squashing into a plastic seat. But it might just be me being picky.

Drinks were ok. Self dispensing soft drinks, beer and wine. Bars for cocktails, local spirits. Tried brandy and the Ameretto, both awful. Cocktails a success, as was the milkshake sized Baileys servings (hic) Red wine and rose not the worst. I have on good authority the beer was alright too.

4 pools, including a splash park with slides. Our little one wasn't keen on the splash park as the tipping bucket scared her but it did look fun for the slightly more adventurous children. The Activity pool has games and quizzes on etc throughout the day. Typically, the early bird gets the worm with pool beds. I'm yet to go anywhere where this isn't the case though.

We didn't go to the beach! It was only 2 mins away from complex but little one had too much fun at the pool to want to go. So can't comment.

They had characters such as Shrek and the Madagascar Lion intermittently wandering around the pools, Much to little ones delight.

One lady I spoke to didn't like that drinks were served in plastic glasses if you were leaving the main bar areas. I can't say it bothered me. If you do prefer a glass, just tell them you're drinking in.

We've been to a few holiday villages and overall, aside from the tiered seating, I did like this one. Xxx

Room Tip: Sliding partition room for family was ideal. I think we paid a little extra for this but was definitely worthwhile.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Undomestic-godess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippos S, Manager at Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Village Kos with my girlfriend and 3 year old son, from Weds 5th until Weds 12th June.

Overall we had a fantastic time, I’ll try and give as much info as possible to help those going in coming weeks,

Stayed in a Superior Room (150) which very close to reception with a view of the well kept gardens. The room was very clean (and well maintained throughout the stay) a little tired could do with a new bath and bathroom door, the bed was great (two small doubles fixed together making a super king) very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The sofa bed for our 3 year was fine too.

The air conditioning in the room was really good (though we heard some people complaining that there’s not working) and the TV was a nice flat, with a really odd choice of channels (including S4C in Welsh and low budget movie channels).

The resort has four pools, including a newly built splash pool, which is less than a metre deep with slides and shoots as well, this pool is great for the really young kids, but is very popular – so if you want a sunbed get those towels on them early (most taken by 8am)

There are three other pools, an activity pool, which is where swim clubs/activities are run from, a larger pool which seemed popular with older kids and small relax pool, all the pools seemed popular and no doubt in peak season will be a bit crammed.

The main restaurant is a typical all-inclusive offering, which too be honest was a bit bland in décor and food on offer. The hot food (wasn’t always that hot) and pretty standard in quality, but I have to say the salad’s were really fresh and well prepared.
All drinks are self service in the restaurant, the beer is fine and my other half was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the white wine!

Breakfast, lunch and dinner all served in main restaurant with the American Dinner doubling up as a snack station during the day, you have to book to eat in the Amercian, Greek and Italian restaurants – book 9am one day to eat the next evening apparently, we did think about eating in the American one but again the menu was pretty bland so didn’t bother.

The aforementioned snack station has drinks on tap, chips, sandwiches, ice cream etc and is nice and cool, so good for a break from the sun!

There are also a pool and a beach bar offering drinks from 10am until 6pm, we found the Greek staff very pleasant in all the bars and restaurants.

The beach is really good, just a stroll over the road (watch out for speeding buses and bikes) plenty of free sun-beds, lovely shallow sea and nice sands along with the traditional looky looky man just for good measure.

The hotel offers some really well run kids clubs, all the staff seemed very friendly, my son went to the little stars (3-5 years) a couple of times, they certainly seem to do plenty to keep the youngsters entertained. There are also very particular on checking in and out, which means it can be a little slow, but certainly reassuring. They give all the kids that go to a club, a t-shirt and drinks bottle.

Watching the soccer coaching they also seemed to be doing a good job, certainly putting the effort in with the kids rather than going through the motions.

There is a small but popular outside play-area, most of which is covered keeping it cool, some of the equipment is a little dated, but all safe and well maintained.

I used the gym most mornings, some good cardio and fixed weight equipment along with free weights from 5kg right upto 25kg. only thing is no air-conditioning in gym, so the complimentary water and towels come in very handy.

Last but no least the evening entertainment, I have to say this is superb! There are a team of 5 British entertainers who literally work there socks off, with some really good shows including a panto, 90’s tribute, ABBA and Best of Brits. On the final evening they held a talent show, which was great with all the kids club staff having a crack as well. Really good stuff. Also a few local acts, guys the greek belly dancers are worth watching ;O)

One lad from the entertainment team Dave who does Farmer Giles is brilliant, but all of them are pretty talented, though the blonde lass who does the Bingo clearly dislikes kids which is amusing when they invade stage!

So summing up, I’d say the Holiday Village Kos is a great place, clearly the old magic life resort was getting a bit dated and first choice have spent some cash sprucing it up, if the continue to invest then it’s going to get better and better. If you heading there soon with the kids you will have a good time, if you are expecting ala carte food then you’ll be a little disappointed.

I’d happily recommend the resort though!

Finally, the transfer time from Kos airport is around 20 minutes, but be warned Kos Airport is far too small for the amount of passengers, so be prepared for long queues and lack of seats when waiting for your boarding!

Room Tip: superior rooms with garden view are in a better location than superior rooms with sea view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulh_reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippos S, Manager at Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having been to Holiday Village's for the last 3 years in a row, we were a little dubious prior to the holiday with regards to this being brand new to the Holiday Village concept however, we needen't have worried. We have just returned from an amazing 10 days in the Holiday Village Kos with our two children aged 2 and 5 and I cannot recommend it enough. The rooms were extremely spacious and well laid out, very clean and had everything we needed within. The reception staff are very helpful and the staff around the property work ever so hard and very long hours and do this with a big smile on their face and a great attitude. There are several pools including a very good splash pool for the kids and plenty of places to get a drink. I also liked the fact that there are several Self Service Drinks machines dotted around to pour your own beers or soft drinks as sometimes the bars can get quite busy. There is plenty going on all day to keep adults and children alike occupied and the First CHoice and Hotel staff work tirelessly to make sure you are having a great holiday. Our kids didnt use the Kids Club as they enjoyed the pools and beach so much but from speaking to other families, they could not fault it. I took part in an adult football tournament and the staff got the kids watching and made it a real family affair which I thought was nice.
The food was of a good standard with plenty of choice to choose from whether it be Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner.
Evening Entertainment was as good as ever with Holiday Villages, my kids love I 5 Live and the First Choice Team always do a great job. What I liked about the HV Kos though was that after the I 5 Live, there was also Game Shows and cabarets for the adults as well.
The beach was just over a small road outside the hotel - Never had to wait for a sun bed and there is a donut man who comes across with the most amazing fresh donuts for just 2 euros!!

All in all, we had a great time and would recommend in a heartbeat!

Hope this helps you make your decision.

Room Tip: Family Rooms with Partition Door are perfect.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jaycedoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippos S, Manager at Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Philippos Stamelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Travelled to Kos on the 29th May to 5th June 7 nights stay, the hotel is very clean, the rooms are modern and clean which is refreshing from the usual 80's decor that you mightn't expect. For kids it is pretty well catered for in terms of things to do, great kids club "High 5 Club" that provides plenty of activities for the kids.
There were only a few things that need to be noted! 1st the food was ok but the variety was poor for both adults and children. Trying to get served on an evening results in long queues waiting to be served, if your thirsty order 3 at a time. The cleaners although they did come in every morning were not that thorough. The entertainment for kids was ok although this was apart from one night carried out by the on site kids entertainment staff, there were no outside entertainers other than the one night so after seeing 2 nights of the in house you had seen it all.
The staff were friendly and did make you feel welcome - if I had to go back with kids would try somewhere else although the complex did feel safe, just to mention the hotel did have a great stretch of beach across the road.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a single parent with kids don't bank on any other adult conversation, this resort is catered to families.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank turvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippos S, Manager at Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2015

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay with us here at the Holiday Village Kos.

My sincere apologies for the discomfort regarding the sunbeds. I have taken up this matter with the ownership and I assure you that we will make all the necessary steps to solve the problem as the hotel runs under a new management team in 2015.

Thank you once again for your feedback which assists us in our ongoing efforts to improve our facilities and standards.

Sincerely,

Philippos Stamelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Amazing holiday, great hotel, great facilities. I was worried before going to this hotel after reading some of the reviews, the food was good, we had no problems lots of variety for all ages on all meals in the buffet restaurant. We ate in the snack bar for lunch and found that this was great just to be able to get food as and when from half 10-5.30. Drinks were available during the day from the snack bar & beach hut, the bar tenders were so friendly and you could have a laugh and joke with them. The kids especially liked the Mickey Mouse drinks. The drinks for adults are local spirits, booze and weren't as strong as we're used too in the UK & they serve you in plastic cups sometimes the soft drinks were flat. There were 4 main pools - activity pool where the entertainment was during the day & swimming lessons, the kids pools with a great slide, splash pool for the kids, the main pool which is pictured in the main pictures and then an older quieter adult pool which was so cold! They were all very clean, a lifeguard walked around during the day, all had sun beds around although they did tend to get reserved before 11 with towels. The beach was literally a minute away and was so clean and tidy. The water was so clear, the views from there were breathtaking, it's lovely to go down there in the evenings to watch the sunset, there's a beach hut near where you can get drinks during the day and where you can obtain your beach towels for the week.we didn't use our towels that we took with us at all. The room itself was lovely, fridge facilities, shower, bath, hair dryer, our room was cleaned daily, fresh towels, comfy beds were made everyday, clean sheets half way through the week. The room was very clean on arrival and there's a free safe which wasn't expected usually you have to pay for this. The air con was amazing!

Kids entertainment... lots of things to keep kids busy and different ages. My son had swimming lessons with Tara and Harry 5 half hour sessions was €36 and it was great to see him more confident by the end of the week they also present them with a certificate in the last night. They have a max of 6 kids in each session but the max I ever saw with my son was 4.

Buffet restaurant- this was a little crazy at times but once you get used to how it works it's easy to get what you want, find a seat and enjoy the food. We sat outside in the terrace for most meals and its less hectic out there, you also get to see the beach, & mountains. Lots of different choices...beef, chicken, duck, spag Bol, pasta, cold dishes loadsa different fruits, desserts I know really know what people have been moaning about!

Kos- we took a bus into kos €2 each way, took about 25 mins to get there what a lovely town, lovely marina to sit around, lots of bars, shops really pleasant. The buses are every hour but stop between 12-2

Marmari - approx 15 walk up to the local town, again a few bars which nice food, drinks one even has seats on the Bach which was lovely. There's a few supermarkets to get souvenirs, snacks etc. locals very friendly

Only a few downsides.....the American style restaurant wasn't so good, its basically the snack area from half 7 they change the tables to have wine glasses, knives and forks etc, the staff were lovely and friendly but the food was rubbish. We were left disappointed, and hungry. You can have 1 meal included in your all inclusive at either here or the Greek restaurant, we noticed that they were empty most evenings. There was an Italian but you have to pay for that.

On entering the room we noticed that you couldn't lock this from the inside which was worrying with a 5 yr old, we were in room 281 so we had to use a chair to press against the door. In the event that my son tried to get out we would have heard him. We did however mention this to the reception and there was a chain fitted the next day.

On the last morning the water stopped running in the shower, sinks and when I tried to ring the reception the phone wasn't actually working, it wasn't plugged into a mains so just for show. I did report this but as we were checking out that day I don't know if this was fixed. The reception was aware of the water problem and this was back up and running within 15 mins

On checking out we were advised that there wasn't any locked room for our luggage and you were told to store your bags in reception, this isn't ideal and I guess we were worried about them being taken, messed with. Everyone else had the same concerns. Our flight wasn't until 00.45 so these were left unattended until we were picked up at 10pm. We were also advised to checkout by 12, you can pay extra €40 to have the Room until 3 or €100 until 6, you can also book a time slot to have a room to shower & change in for free. We booked from 6-7 this was a great facility.

The entertainment is geared more to kids families so if you are thinking of going here as a couple or poss teenage kids there wasn't really much to do.

The interaction we had with the reps was fine, no problems

Overall the hotel was great, the holiday was amazing

Last comment....kos airport = nightmare!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Benison1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippos S, Manager at Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews