We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, food and staff”
Review of Pyli Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pyli Bay Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Marmari
Trzic, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, food and staff”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We've stayed here in August of 2013.

Our room was quite basic and a little 80's, but very clean. It had A/C included in the price, which is great. Other facilities are well taken care of.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Food was delicious! Lots of variety, something for every taste.

The hotel location is a great point for exploring the island. But even if you're not the explorer type, the nearby beach is one of the most beautiful on the island, so that's okay, too.

I can't even begin to understand some of the bad reviews, some are downright ridiculous. It's a three star (***) hotel and in my opinion, you get the most out of those three stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maja Maiee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    77
    49
    27
    15
See reviews for
59
89
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've been in Kos the central week of Augost 2013, the Hotel was well positioned good as support to explore the south beaches and go out in the evening in Kos city, the room was quite clean and the hotel personal was friendly, the only bad thing was the food awful with chimical ice cream, terrible sauce and the restaurant with a lot of cats around, I suggest to use this place just to sleep and go to explore this wonderful Island during the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonehenge87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from the Pyli Bay Hotel. The hotel is a bit dated (80s I’d say) but very well looked after. The 2 pools are cared for well and the gardens are extensive and stocked with palm trees and flowers. Some people have given average reviews for this hotel based on an expectation of all inclusive hotels. I found this hotel to be very generous and good value.
The rooms are quite small for a family of four- we had two beds and a bunk bed for our children and it was a bit of a squeeze. We had a fridge and a tv (with Greek channels only). We were given air conditioning as standard - no charge! The bathroom was fine with a small bath with shower over. A good sized balcony with chairs, table and a washing line provided. We could see the sea in the distance from room D240. The cleaners work very hard and are in the room every day changing sheets and towels even arranging the sheets into bows and very sweetly placing children's toys and pjs ready for bedtime.
We had half board and we enjoyed the food provided buffet style. The breakfast was the usual fare of bread, cheese, fruit and boiled eggs and a selection of hot things such as scrambled eggs, bacon or hot dog type sausages. Evening dinner was plentiful and served buffet style. The desserts were really excellent - my children enjoyed selecting their own, good quality, ice cream - loads of flavours and cakes, we are all a bit fatter on return. There is a bit of queuing for food but the staff replaces everything and it did not matter if you went 5 mins before they closed as it was still plentiful. We especially enjoyed the BBQ outside and had Greek kebabs, Gyros, burgers and chips.
Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely smiling staff. They work very hard! Every one we came across was kind to our us and our children and enjoyed a chat (they speak lots of languages here including Russian, Polish, Italian etc ).
The location is good but very quiet. We enjoyed walking to the beach which is beautiful but spoilt somewhat by lots of sunbeds. We are not really into sitting by the pool so found we wanted to get around a bit more and by the 4th day we had hired a car from Kombos rental down the road - 100 euros for 3 days. They were ok and our air conditioned Panda got us to some beaches across the island.
Beware - there is a bad mosquito problem in Marmari! Think about a plug-in to kill the little blighters! Take anti-bite spray and bite relief! My poor daughter is covered in bites even though we sprayed her all over twice a night!
There was only one other family from England out of 200 rooms ... I only mention this as we were struck by the rudeness of some of the other nationalities to the staff and to us. Give way to someone on the stairs or in a doorway and not a nod of acknowledgement comes. This can mean mealtimes are a bit stressful with no regard for manners and who was there first.
I liked it here and will come again. Our children were sad to leave the pudding selection- I was relieved to still fit the plane seat. Thanks Pyli Bay, we will be back!

Room Tip: Air conditioning comes as standard - use it as the mosquitos are fierce here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueandco190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel looks nice, rooms are big with a nice balcony, they have spa gym tennis court baschet ball minigolf and foot tennis court all free, there are 2 close supermarkets with cheap prices and the beach/center(and by center i mean 2 restaurants and 2 supermarkets) is a 5 min walk away ,also there is bus station near the hotel.
the beach is nice also.
other than this.... Come the downsides : they have 2 pools, which are nice but they have idioteque umbrellas, verry tall and small hats which you can barely move and all the sun beds are close to each other, so you cant move after some shadow so much and giving fact that its very hot here .... You cant wnjoy the pool time so muh only if you stay in the water most of the time or under the shadow for about 1 hour before thw sun moves your shadow goes to your neighbours sunbed.
Food is poor, i mean realy poor, plenty of it though, but poor, only in some nights when they make special food, its ok.
There is free wifi at reception but doesnt work for most of time.
And the saddest part is, that its dead from entertainment point of view, no parties, no music, no fun greeks which i was used to, i felt like at a asylum ... Its so boring... Also marmari is boring only in the night time its nice to go out grap a xoxktail but still boring... So i would not recoment it but also i managed to relax in this vacation i must say, maybe too much :)
Also there are a lot of trips you can make to fill ur time , we went to bodrum wich was very nice, cheers

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertNane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marmari hotels

cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My third visit to this hotel .Everyone was kind and helpful .The rooms are beautifully clean with clean towels everyday and clean sheets several times during our stay.
My first visit in high season and the staff were plentiful and managed the numbers well..A little queuing at breakfast and dinner but no worse than anywhere else.The food was always being replenished and the choice was consistent whether you are early or late in the mealtime.At the bar we always had quick and helpful service .Not once did we queue.
The pools are nice and there are always sunbeds available .
The area is very pretty.Its quiet with a few shops and tavernas ,one night club and a super pretty sandy beach.
If you like a lively holiday this is not for you but if you want to relax and rest and walk its great.
This hotel offers real value for money with authentic Greek cuisine and pasta dishes ,lots of salads and Greek style desserts and free air conditioning..

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room as the views are lovely and the balconies have a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeSungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've been there for few hours until resident arrange new one for extra money. Conditions are bad IMHO, bathroom really sucks, one plus food was better then in next hotel. I have experience from staying in hotels in Spain, Netherlands, France etc and 3 starts in those are 5 stars in Greece.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank przemqss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel last year from the end of May till middle of June. We enjoyed all the time. The stuff was friendly and helpful. We had AI and had no disappointing! The meal was really delicious and various. The room was cosy and clean. Especially liked the beach with white sand and very clean sea :) Hotel's garden/flowers amazing :) My husband had great time by playing basketball in hotel's court. The big advantage - the bus station is near the hotel, so easy to travel to other places. We highly recommend this nice hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RenataLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
0.4 mi away
Summer Village Hotel
Summer Village Hotel
#5 of 15 in Marmari
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roselands Hotel Bungalows
Roselands Hotel Bungalows
#14 of 15 in Marmari
247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aslanis Village
Aslanis Village
#7 of 15 in Marmari
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#13 of 48 in Kos Town
640 reviews
4.6 mi away
Evripides Village Hotel
Evripides Village Hotel
#31 of 39 in Kardamena
284 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#4 of 16 in Mastichari
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyli Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyli Bay Hotel

Property: Pyli Bay Hotel
Address: 100 meters from the Kos Town public bus stop, Marmari 853 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Marmari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pyli Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pyli Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyli Bay Hotel Kos/Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing