We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Visit This Hotel Early in the Year”
Review of Pyli Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pyli Bay Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Marmari
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Do Not Visit This Hotel Early in the Year”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We returned from this hotel yesterday (8.6.13) after 2 weeks. Do not go at the end of May as there is not many holiday makers and the staff are limited. The reception staff have to man the bar, this means it takes ages to get served. All Inclusive was a joke, you can only have soft drinks, ouzo, brandy, red and white wine and beer. If you want say a vodka and lemonade you have to pay extra. Also the coffee is self service from an urn which gets stewed and tastes awful. If you ask for a frappe (iced coffee) it is extra. We would not return to this hotel especially early in the season. The staff were extremely polite and helpful and the hotel was spotlessly clean but there was absolutely nothing to do but sunbath, eat and drink! We knew it would be quiet but it was far too quiet for us. There was only one other English couple who left after a few days of our arrival. I seriously considered getting a flight home after the first 3 days but as the days went on and more guests arrived it became more bearable (even if they were all German speaking guests).

Room Tip: Try not to get a room at the front of the hotel as it is very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    74
    48
    26
    15
See reviews for
53
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Been back a week and I miss it loads! My husband, one son (11yrs) and I have returned from a comfortable, quiet holiday.
On arrival there was only 23 other guests, so no rushing to the sunbeds, no queuing for the all inclusive food or bar (all simple but freshly prepared food).The staff were very friendly and helpful (provided a needle and thread when my handbag broke) (laughed at me bringing my own mug and teabags!).The rooms were cleaned daily (apart from Sunday) clean towels. The pools were clean (the steps a bit wobbly on the pool near the snack bar) It was a good base to explore, the bus stops outside the hotel - 2Euros to Kos Town. We hired a car 30 Euros a day and toured the island we think we had the best beach by far. Thermal baths - disappointing, Kadameena, run down, paradise beach (I hope my paradise looks cleaner than this) We would definitely return to this Hotel as we found it to be very well placed. Few English and children at the hotel, so possibly not for those who want a lot of excitement and evening entertainment. Also the gym is a little run down, but who wants to do that anyway? I would highly recommend on getting a bike 5Euros a day.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer side, or by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Recommended for those that do not require much. The hotel serves good food, but no animation here. The only Greek evening is rather dismal, but some can take advantage of.
This is not a new hotel, but for sightseeing and rest in time.

Room Tip: Plese got a first floor romms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertOz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at Pyli Bay in the middle of July and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was modest but always clean and nice to come back to. It got a bit hot in the night, but that's expected in July, I suppose (the a/c wasn't the best, I'll admit).

We got half-board and that was plenty for us. The food was fresh, a bit repetitive, but there's so much to choose from, you won't go hungry for sure (we especially loved BBQ Monday) The cakes were a bit synthetic-tasting, but there was always watermelon and some other fruit, so you can opt for those instead for dessert.

The hotel has two pools (a newer and better one in the new wing) and plenty of lying space. The pool we went to was always clean and pristine. There's also a kiddy pool which is shallow and very warm.

The service was truly fantastic as well. The boys in the restaurant were super quick to take the dirty dishes and clean the tables so there were always free tables, even at peak times. The receptionist was always there to help with whatever we needed and the bartenders made awesome drinks. The chamber maids cleaned the rooms every day and during our 7 day stay, we had our towels and bedding changed a couple of times. Oh, and everyone speaks English, which was a huge plus for us.

Location was quite good as well. The sand beach is merely 5 minutes away from the hotel (and it's beautifl) and Kos town is just 30 minutes away by bus (2 euros one way).

To sum up, it's a clean, modest hotel for a good price. If you want something simple go or Pyli Bay. And a big thank you goes to the whole staff for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: I suggest a room in the new wing, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dovile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Hi I have just returned from this hotel and to be honest we wouldn;t go back but it was relaxing break.The AI is just beer,wine,ouzo and soft drinks and the food is bearable but if your a fussy eater you will have a problem.The games room and gym you might as foget about because everything is broken. 2 pools are ok never had a problem getting a sunbed.Small playgroung for the kids was fine but the rooms are well under par and I,m not to fussy if i;m getting a cheap deal but we wasn,t impressed at all.There isn,t any night time entertanment which we didn't think would be a problem because we was going for a relaxing one with the kids but it really was that boring that we ended up in bed most nights just gone 10pm and there is not much near by.If you are after a relaxing break on a buget then go for it but I would pay a little extra and go else where.If you are looking for nightlife then don,t bother you won,t even find a lively bar.I don't think any english tour operators use this hotel so you will probably find you will be the only english people there like us.

Room Tip: I've heard the new side is better than the old side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos S, General Manager at Pyli Bay Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your valuable comments and experience on trip advisor.

Please kindly note that your sincere and constructive comments will be seriously and immediately taken into consideration within the management team.

On the other hand, we are also pleased to read that you had a relaxing break to our hotel in Kos.

The gym and game room equipment was indeed broken. We apologize for the inconvinience might caused and we assure you that it has been taken care of.
The All inclusive program of our hotel includes local alcholic drinks, such as ouzo, wine, beer and brandy. The food is international and greek cuisine. This is carefully mentioned in the hotel description.

Regarding the night entertainment, please note that the hotel holds every week a BBQ night and a Greek night show.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We have just returned from our second stay this year at Pyli Bay hotel.The hotel is very good value for money .It is clean and spacious ,with well kept pool areas and pretty gardens.The staff are friendly and helpful.We really enjoyed the food...very Greek but that is part of the fun!There are plenty of salads and a variety of cooked dishes.The local all inclusive drinks are plentiful.The coffee and beer are good and the soft drinks too though the wine is a little course but for the price paid you cannot complain and if you are fussy about your wine you can buy good grade wine to enjoy.
The village is small and quiet with a few tavernas and shops.There are several beaches,all excellent with golden sand and sunbeds available to hire.The most rural beach is a 5 minute walk or so from the hotel passing a pond of turtles en route.The beech is beautiful with trees for shade and should you wish sunbeds etc and a windsurf school at the end by the sand dunes.there is no taverna on the beach so take your own drink.
For a simple good clean hotel at a good price this is one of the best,
Greece loving Ruth

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeSungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nott
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We went to hotel pyli bay in july 2010. It was a last minute booking an a enjoyable relaxing holiday. The hotel an staff were all very friendly. The pools were good an the rooms were good too.Our only down side to the place was that we paid for all inclusive an i dont feel thats what you get the food itself was Ok... not what you would expect though it was the same things everyday.. there was never really a change in what we ate the drinks were not good.. unless you like the beer(which wasnt good) wine (i wont go there again) an the brandys an ouzo. The fizzy drinks were okay but not really all that good either think of rola cola an water it down maybe on the lines of that. for our weeks stay we just stocked up on bottled water from the shop across the road from the hotel..
there was no ice creams as stated included in the all inclusive. Although there was a good selection of ice cream an ice lollys they were charged at 1.50.. Not what you expect when you paid all inclusive.
The area itself was lovely very nice to walk around a nice short walk to beach an some very nice pubs an resterants to eat in down there. As the food was so repetitive we ate out on a few occasions. Kos town is very easy to get to by bus at a very cheap price really enjoyed it there. We went to the Greek Night definetly recommend that it was a fantastic night up in the mountains of traditonal greek food,music an dancing an a great band. We went on the english night an had a brilliant time. The hotel was more German than english id say we met 1 other english couple there on our stay. the rooms were clean an quite basic but all you need in them .
I would recommend pyli bay it was a lovely place the only real down fall was the food had no real variety except on a tuesday night when they had a BBQ on the terrace this was nice and there was no entertainment.
If your looking for a quiet holiday as a couple of with kids this is a great place to go not one id say for people who like the nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
0.4 mi away
Summer Village Hotel
Summer Village Hotel
#5 of 15 in Marmari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roselands Hotel Bungalows
Roselands Hotel Bungalows
#13 of 15 in Marmari
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aslanis Village
Aslanis Village
#8 of 15 in Marmari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#14 of 49 in Kos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Giakalis Aparthotel
Giakalis Aparthotel
#12 of 15 in Marmari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 15 in Marmari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyli Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyli Bay Hotel

Property: Pyli Bay Hotel
Address: 100 meters from the Kos Town public bus stop, Marmari 853 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Marmari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pyli Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pyli Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyli Bay Hotel Kos/Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing