We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Kos itself not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Marmari
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Kos itself not so great”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent a very pleasant and relaxing fortnight here, remaining mainly in the generally uncrouded hotel premises. The buffet breakfast and dinner were really good - an occasional dud dish such as tough stewed beef, but alternative choices galore.
The beach just across a road at the far end of the hotel grounds was not very inviting, the sand looked slightly grubby and the sea was opaque, probably with sand stirred up by the winds, when we were there. The wide-ranging and impeccably clean pool areas of the hotel were much more attractive.
There is a useful gym, if you like that sort of thing, but some of the equipment could do with an overhaul.
A car is probably worthwhile. We took a bus from the far end of the hotel grounds to Kos town, but it was crowded by the time it picked us up and we had to stand all the way (about 25 minutes). One visit to town was enough for us.
Getting through the rather primitive Kos airport to catch the plane home was a little troublesome, but we managed it without too great stress.
Despite the possibly discouraging aspects of the above comments, the general excellence of the hotel made for a delightful fortnight overall.

Room Tip: A ground-floor junior suite, with direct access to the main pool complex, is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    128
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
164
408
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henry, Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our second visit to the Palazzo, again we enjoyed it from start to finish. On arrival the front desk staff were pleasant and friendly, quickly booking us in and getting us to our room, we were in the pool within 30 mins of arriving at the hotel. The room was excellent just as we had requested with a cot and bath, very clean and spacious. Food was good, freshly cooked and we were never unable to find something we liked. I can't recommend this hotel enough, superb location, great staff, good food.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HenryClegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The pools are amazing and a swim up room upgrade is a must. However we were disappointed to be given a room in the 100's that have the tiniest terrace and are at the side of the hotel although there is a small pool. We were not very happy with this room as all the pictures we had seen showed swim up terraces on the main pool with 2 sunbeds. We contacted the reception and asked to be moved and this was done on the 2nd day when they had room to move us, very efficiently. Breakfast is superb and all the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We found the buffet in the evening had great choice however the food was not always piping hot. You are able to change dinner for lunch and this we did, meals are cooked to order for you and this was excellent. The beach is lovely and you can walk for miles in both directions from the hotel. You can hire bikes either at the hotel or in Marmari although they are 2 euros per day cheaper in Marmari. Every taverna has a bike rack so you can always park your bike and its a great way to see the area. The centre of Marmari is a pleasant 10 minute walk and there are plenty of bars for an after dinner drink. If you want lunch or an evening meal we recommend 'Givaeri' Taverna and Pizzeria just past the main supermarket on the road out of Marmari. They serve excellent greek food and wine.
Would recommend this hotel to couples looking for a quiet resort with fabulous beaches.

Room Tip: A swim up room in the 200's if you like the afternoon sun or 300's if you like sun in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tesni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in a junior suit and we satisfied with most of the holiday.
Upon our arrival we were greeted with a cool drink and were shown the premises by one of the employees. The suites are in the back so we didnt see the other guests too much.
A suite has a bedroom and a lounge with tv where you can put a babybed. The suites on the groundfloor have direct pool access which is a plus. With little children it would be better to have a suite on the first floor though.
During our stay the food was excellent. It is served in abuffet style with live cooking for some dishes. The head chef, savass, even offered to cook us a special dish for our baby.
The staff in the restaurant is very friendly and love children.
In my opinion it is not worth while to hve food in Baccas which is the a la cart restaurant.
The rooms were very clean. During dinner, sweets are put on the pillows and the first night there was a bottle of sprakling wine.
The clean,hotel owned beach is a plus.

The location is a bit dull because there is not much to do in marmari. The low budget hotel on the left side of the building is also negative because off the loud animation there.

I would also advise to have your clothes ironed before you go to greece because it will cost you a fortune in the hotel.

The biggest negative point is the airport in kos but this had not influenced my rating for the hotel. The incompetence of the airport staff and chaos will cost you a few years of your life.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjorn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived around 9pm at Kos Airport and was whisked away via taxi to the hotel. Once we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff at the front desk, we were told to leave our cases as the staff would get them to the room while we went and had dinner as it was quite late - I was impressed with the efficiency of check in as there was no fuss. We were then transported via golf buggy to the room after dinner and was presented with a bottle of champagne and fruits - lovely start to the holiday! I cannot fault the hotel, grounds or staff - food was top notch. The private beach was well maintained.

My only criticism and I may add this is not the hotels issue (so no points lost on this review) but the beach further along was not well maintained and seemed to be a dumping ground for old wooden pallets and general rubbish....I hope the local authorities make an effort to clear this eyesore.

In conclusion hotel great, area quiet, some parts of the local area need attention but don't let my last comment put you off....we would go back again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_W_12186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Beautiful hotel, beautiful room - well worth the "swim up" upgrade. We had a room in the 200s - a good side for sun in the afternoon, away from the noisier hotel next door at night and rooms had access to the main pool so swimming was good. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The buffet dinner and breakfast were of good quality and had a good variety of foods. The Spa was relaxing and the treatments we had were excellent. The beach was sandy and directly opposite the hotel. I would also recommend the first restaurant you come to on the right walking towards Marmari for gyros and souvlaki for lunch - again, really friendly, good food and a lovely lunch time view towards the sea. Marmari is nice and quiet but buses go to Kos town from directly outside the hotel if you want a more lively night out. A great weeks holiday, very happy to recommend the Palazzo del mare.

Room Tip: Ask for a swim up room in the 200s
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdctew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have had a very pleasant stay at the Palazzo del Mare. Must admit we were glad we spent the extra cash on a junior suite, the space and relative peace and quiet away from the main accomodation blocks was well worth it - the public areas around the pools (where most of the rooms are) can be quite noisy. So I would tend to agree with a previous reviewer that this well run property is probably closer to a solid four star grade unless you fork out for one of the beter rooms.

Positives
The Palazzo is a very well maintained property, the gardens are manicured, the standard of maintenance and housekeeping is very high
Quality and presentation of food in the main restuarant is very high, this is at the higher end of buffet style cuisine, several of the main dishes are cooked fresh on the spot while you watch. Good variety and selection for all tastes (unless you prefer sausage and mash that is!)
Pools are all well maintained
Front desk staff are generally very helpful and friendly - especially Lina who went the extra mile to meet our requests
All the waiting staff (bar and restaurant) were pleasant and helpful (with only one exception who persisted in trying to get me to spend more money than necessary - see below)
Visible management presence around the front of house which is unusual in our experience but seemed to help keep things moving
The beach area (whilst across a quite road) is well maintained
Ambiance was generally laid back (but then so was Marmari in general)

Less Positives
If you have a room in one of the main accomodation blocks, be aware that terraces on the swim up rooms are not exactly private, and visually the rooms are very close together
Given that the main accomodation blocks are on either side of the pool complex and that the property is generally on a long but relatively narrow lot, the main pool area and adjacent rooms can appear noisy / congested when the hotel is full (which it was for a few days until free transfers to the related Blue Lagoon Village property were offered) - the noise is channeled / echoes between the accomodation blocks with very little to attenuate it
Not all wines on the wine list were in fact available - alternatives were offered and as long as your waiter was not the in-house "Mr Upsell" (to be clear, this was just one persistent individual)you could still find some relatively good value for money wines
Your visit to the a la carte restaurant Bacco is not worth saving for that special evening - the food is no better than the main restaurant (clue: an electic truck was seen delivering dishes of food in the afternoon.....) and I am not sure most Italians would recognise this as genuine examples of their national dishes (clue: moussaka as dish of the day....).
The property next door (as in immediately on the other side of the wall) is the First Choice Holiday Village. I suspect this is not quite in the same class as the Palazzo, the main problem being noise pollution from the Holiday Village Entertainment Committee who by the sound of it were conducting their own version of the Hunger Games most days
The hotel did manage to completely run out of pool towels, apparently there just are'nt enough for all the guests when the hotel is full!

One thing to note - our visit was definitely in the early part of low season, I am not sure whether the overall experience would be quite the same in the high season, there were a few days over a weekend when the hotel was clearly full when the main restaurant was congested in the evening with simply too many people (in the end you were asked to specify a preferred time for your meal), and when the main pool was very noisy. So perhaps in the height of the season this is a place for families, and not a quiet break for two.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DelandLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
8.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
5.5 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,376 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
1.0 mi away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 15 in Marmari
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare

Property: TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare
Address: Marmari, Marmari 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marmari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marmari
#1 Spa Hotel in Marmari
#1 Family Hotel in Marmari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Mare, a luxury five star adults only hotel with 175 guestrooms, was built in 2008/9 and extended in 2010. It is located near the village of Marmari, at the north-west coast of the island of Kos, only 50 m from the beach, 15 km from the airport and 17 km away from the centre of Kos island. The Hotel has a two-storey main building, one building with three floors, ten two-storey buildings and the area of the Presidential suite and the ten Executive suites, all with private pools. Each luxurious room and richly appointed suite features a bath or shower, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities (replenished daily), direct dial telephone, internet access and in-room safe (both free of charge), individual air conditioning and a satellite TV. All ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool.Palazzo del Mare offers a variety of facilities like the Sogno main restaurant ( a buffet restaurant with terrace), the Pool Snack bar for lunch and the Culinarium a' la carte restaurant (dinner only). For refreshing drinks you will find the Sole Pool bar, Vento Lounge bar, Porto Beach bar and Parola Café offering crepes and ice cream.Our international guests can enjoy a 4500 m² swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, an indoor heated pool (120 m²) with separate Jacuzzi, the fully equipped Onda Gym as well as the Armonia Spa (450 m²) with various treatment rooms, where our only goal is the inspiration and the "harmony" of your body and soul. In the hotel you can as well find a mini market, a boutique shop and an internet corner.Ideal for those, who wish to try something new and combine a relaxed holiday with high personal attention, that puts guest's comfort above all! From the moment you approach Palazzo del Mare, you know you are in for a quality experience.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Mare Marmari
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo Del Mare Kos/Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing