We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“calm quiet relaxing luxury getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Marmari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

If your looking for total relaxation then this is the place to be. Fantastic settings, friendly staff fab food and plenty of it. The resort of Mamari is very small but the drinks are a lot cheaper. Happy hour at the pool bar is 5-6 and the main bar is 6-7 were we sat on the day beds watching the world go by-how fantastic. This side of the island is also very very windy so you can stand to sit in the sun instead of frying alive everyday. You can catch a bus just 5 minutes down the road and get dropped off at back of hotel. You can also hire bicycles and quad bikes, but your best hiring them through the hotel as we had problems when we booked through Thomsons. Reception booked our quads straight away and we had no further problems. My daughter and i also had a massage, i had the salt rub which was 60euros and lasted about one and half hours, it felt like i was being sand papered within an inch of my life! I loved it!! God she must have muscles like Arnie!! Evening wear was a lot more relaxed than i expected, gents just have to wear trousers or jeans and closed in footwear, trainers included. We had breakfast around 9- 9.30 most mornings and it was very quiet. Same with our evening meal. We only ate early once at 7pm which was on our last day, it was heaving and boiling hot, thank god it was the only time. The pools are open 8 till 8pm so we made the most of the sun every day. We had a room with swim up pool-how fab, you could never get enough of that view every morning. Sun loungers are comfy and plentiful. The beds in our room were exceptionally comfy i slept like a log! Nice touch having robes and slippers and i also used the sowing kit provided! Just one down side and that is BEWARE OF THE MOSQUITOS the little buggars are everywhere!?! However the hotel also provide a mosquito plug for the room, how thoughtful! What more can i say but what are you waiting for......book it..NOW, its a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 678 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Fantastic hotel, staff, cleaning, training room, pool, room. Good food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IdaBibow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My partner and I just got back from a lovely two week stay at this impressive seaside hotel. It was our first time to Kos and we just loved it. The weather was fantastic and we didn’t see a single cloud during our stay at Palazzo, temps ranging from +25C at night all the way to +37C at daytime (most days at 30-33C but due to seabreeze very pleasant and not too hot). Upon arrival we had a late check-in which went fast (due to prior registration on hotel website) and a very professional welcome (thanks to Gianna) and we were appointed a quiet room in the 100s with view of the surrounding countryside fields. As a welcome drink we were offered a glass of sparkling wine for each in the lobby bar. The hotel provided two cold platters of snacks/food and a welcome wine bottle in the room. Unluckily we found out that wifi dind’t work in the room so we got an ethernet cabel to use wifi via my Airport Express (I always bring it with me to travels) in the room. With this arrangement the connection was good but slow (too slow for Skype videocalls). We had priorly requested a room in the 200s with pool view and were luckily next day appointed a new room with a huge balcony and good view with afternoon sun - and this was arranged without any problems. They even transferred our bags automatically.

The very first impression of this hotel is: WOW - the pools are just gorgeous! They are huge and have two connecting ”canals” and several bridges. Water is very warm – especially on hot days in the late afternoon (probably +28 or so). On windy days a bit cooler but by no means cool – just lovely and refreshing. Sunbeds are abundant and of good quality (wooden with cushion) and really no need to reserve any in the morning. Guests were international, many Swiss, German, Dutch, some British, French and Russian. We were Finnish/German and never heard a word of Finnish in the hotel (some Swedish people though). Guests were luxury oriented and all behaved well – also the children. The pools are so large you never get a crowded feeling. The private beach is clearly the best on the whole island (we toured many beaches like Paradise Beach, Saltlake dunes, Tigaki Beach, Tam Tam, Mastichari etc) with soft white sand and pretty clear water. Quite windy on some days and on most days good or high waves to play in. It’s very soft but good to walk on so perfect for long walks all the way to the dunes or Marmari village (not much to see in the village though except for a few tavernas, supermarkets and bars). There is bar/light meal service (pizzas, club sandwich, fruit platter etc) on the beach and they also give you free watermelon once daily around noon (also at the pools). Prices are fair for beach service. Portions are large and of good quality.

Room was top notch with everything that you might ever need to feel at home in modern luxury accomodation. LCD TV with many programs, a large and free safety deposit box, quiet air conditioning unit, shoe polish, free amenities and enough towels. A lot of space to store clothing and place things. On the balcony a possibility to dry towels, swimwear etc. The only thing we missed was an ironing unit.

We were on FB+ and it was great value for money. They offer a good selection for breakfast with fresh fruits, banana shake, fresh orange juice (+a large bottle of water due to FB+). Cold cuts are poor as always in Greece but cheeces, fruits, warm dishes, breads are great. Then a three course menu for lunch, served at pool bar or Bacco (+a large bottle of water sprakling/still, one soft drink and two glasses of wine each due to FB+). They have an extensive menu with many salads, noodles, light snacks, Greek and international main dishes and desserts. Some dishes (like scampi) are not included but you get 30% discount on them as an FB+ guest. Included were many good choices though like pork gyros, chicken souvlaki, lamb chops, salmon filet etc. For dinner they have great buffet dinners (some with theme) with everything you might ever want to have (same drinks as during lunch). They let you change one buffet dinner per stay to a set dinner at Bacco with reservation on previous day. We did it but didn’t like as much as the buffet. The beef dish was overcooked and didn’t taste good (in buffet you had much better beef in show cooking) but soups were very good. In the buffet they have delicious foods every night including shrimps, roast beaf, duck breast, Greek foods, sushi on Asian night, fresh fish and meats all nights, roast turkey, cantaloupe wrapped with parma ham etc. Staff was very attentive and enough of staff members. Each night something different and always very fresh and enough of everything. Monday is Greek night, Tuesday is Gala evening (just with a larger selection of foods and more canapies), Friday is Asian/Mexican – both were excellent. Just loved the fresh tacos and the gyros with pita bread on Monday!

The staff at this hotel is incredible. We have been to many luxury hotels worldwide and Palazzo is among the very best. Always smiling and friendly people in the staff. You sense immediately that they like their work and try to give their very best to feel you welcome and relaxed. Everything was professionally taken care of (like getting an ice bucket for the room to cool your own drinks, change of room due to request for another view, bike rental arrangements, ethernet cabel for the room etc). They also empty your minibar in the room free of charge - upon request - if you don’t want to use it and want to have the space for your own drinks. We did this on the second day and the minibar was very good (temp range went from 1-7 so it made the drinks really cold and great for the hot climate!).

I want to mention some special staff members for their outstanding level of competence and friendliness: Gianna at reception for a warm and heartly check-in, George at reception for friendly arrangements for room service/ice buckets, Alice for inspiring daily aqua aerobics with weights and noodles (thanks also for playing the Greek music like Sakis Rouvas and Anna Vissi!), Selma at gym/towel change for daily smiles, chats and good spirits, Cristian in the main restaurant for friendly and professional waiter service and pleasant chats, Anastasia at the pool bar for friendly attitide and service during lunch, Julian for professional and prompt waiter service in the lunch restaurant. The front desk manager (Ronaldo) is also very friendly and constantly running around in the resort checking if everything was okay. Many thanks for making your guests feel welcome here. Thank you all for making this holiday special!

As you can read there are so many pros about this hotel and most prior reviews sound very much alike. For us the best things were the absolutely best beachfront location on the island (fine white sand, comfy sunbeds and on both sides pretty but low sand/grass dunes). Excellent service everywhere – many special memories of this! Fantastic pools and common areas. Pretty polyrattan furniture in outdoor seating areas. Good modern rooms with Azzuro toiletries and instant coffee/tea facilites (replenshed daily). Top-class food and drink service if on FB+ - for this hotel a must! Wine and beer are quite expensive if you decide to go HB (house wine or 0,3l Mythos beer are 4€, cheapest wine bottles start at 16€) so we would definitely recommend the FB+ if you want to stay at the hotel also during the day. Nearby are no eating options (Marmari is a 20min walk and has some). Wonderful sunsets from room balcony if you have a room in the 200s facing west (poolside). Supermarket Constantinos is the best in Marmari and has a wide selection of everything. They have beers (0,5l Mythos for 1,12€), wines (bottles from 2-3€ upwards), ciders (0,5l Strongbow for 1,29€), water (6x 1,5l for 1,80€) etc. It’s not the closest of the supermarkets in Marmari but clearly the best (we tried them all).

The weak points are: Hotel minimarket is poor. No beer or wine to buy, the only water was overpriced Evian 0,5l bottles. Poor wifi connection which drops easily. Good connection in the lobby bar but even in the main restaurant no connection during dinner (but sometimes at breakfast okay). No soups as light meal for lunch (would be a good light option on some hot days). At pools you have wifi connection at some areas. Rooms have poor connection. I discussed this with the front reception manager and seems like they want to improve it but haven’t done it yet. Why not buy 5-10 routers (they cost nowadays like starting at 50€ each) and link them together so that the connection is good in all public areas – would make the guests even more satisfied. It’s annoying to pay high price for 5 star accomodation with prior information for wifi in rooms and public areas. Seems to be a problem in most hotels in Greece though. Nowadays many people want to check Facebook etc so wifi is a must – as this hotel is nearly perfect if they fix this. Some other critisism is that some towels need replacement (worn and old looking). Towel change is free and easy to do (which is good!) and you can also drop your dirty towels at the beach staff and get later new ones later from the gym desk. At times also some loud animation noise from neigboring Sandy Beach and Magic Life clubhotels – we could hear it but didn’t really bother – but might bother some others.

We strongly recommend this lovely hotel and would definitely book it again as it is amazing standard and wonderful for swimming and relaxing. The best hotel in Greece that we have ever visited!

Room Tip: Get one in the 200s with view to pool - sun in the afternoon and pretty sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank henri_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Simple. stunningly designed modern resort hotel with superb pools, excellent spa, incredibly polite, friendly and helpful staff.
Location a bit out of the way but all the better for that if you want peace and quiet.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived around 9.30 from Amsterdam and entered the lobby, where we were not really warm welcomed. We booked via Arke and received no Voucher, but we did not think that they would make such a fuss and first refuse to give us a room although our name etc was already in the computer system.
Finally after some time we could check in and got a room next to the lobby with a connecting door to another room. Since we did not need a room like this we were quite dissappointed.
The room was also very noisy (129), so we requested next day another room and two days later ( after asking again) we could move to a nicer one (284).
In general is to say: rooms with a "1" infront are in the building next to the lobby ( noisy), with a " 2" are in my opinion the nicest, " 3" are the suites and the rest of the rooms are next to the other hotel.

and now some general pros and cons:

pros:
- very nice beach!
- very nice pool!
- good Spa, but not outstanding ( prices are ok)
- rooms are clean and big enough
- wine selection at the restaurant
- breakfast is good
- buffet was always fresh

cons:
- service personal was mostly grumpy and not helpful at all ( attitudes?!)
- there was officially a beach bar, but no one cared to serve us; you can have one piece of melon per day ( free of charge)
- food at the hotel in general: the main restaurant was more like a snack bar. i read several other reviews and those were all happy with the food. taste differs, i guess.
the lunch menu was pricey and not tasty. the italian restaurant was really " the cherry on the top"- it s not worth going there beside you like pizza
- towels are just avaible via towel cards ( one towel per person) and at the gym ( why not at the beach too??!)
- prices for drinks are ok, but cocktails were not tasty
- the live band. every evening the same " playlist" and the singer can really not sing.
- no greek atmosphere. this hotel could be also in a different country. you wont notice that you are in greece!

We liked the beach and the pool, but we disliked to be trapped to the buffet. The rooms were ok, but not 5 star standard.
Tip: go after 10 to the breakfast, then there are less people, but the buffet is still ok.

I am not sure if I would return, but mostlikely not. There were too many points that I did not like.
Especially on our departure day we requested to keep the room longer ( it s 70 euro) and they did not care. We had to shower in the gym instead of at the Spa( although i spent there lots of money!), which was quite disgusting and disappointing.
The attitude of the personal is not how it should be at a 5 star hotel! But personally for me it was more like a good 4 star hotel.

I would recommand this hotel for families with young children and people who dont care so much about food and service.

Room Tip: choose a room with a "2" infront. those are the nicest and most quiet ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KrisCobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a great hotel for a relaxing holiday. The rooms are all adjacent a great swimming pool with the ground floor units having direct access and a private terrace for soaking up the sun. The beach with a dedicated area for the hotel is at the bottom of the site (across a minor road) and you can enjoy bar service on the beach. The staff were always helpful and the hotel grounds, rooms and general areas are immaculately kept. You need to know that there is no 'night life' on site or close by (you would need to travel to Kos Town some 15 Km away) but that suited us as we were just looking to chill.

If you want to have a quiet drink off site during the day or evening then just walk down the raod to 'The Captains' for some great hospitality and reasonably priced food and drink.

Room Tip: Ground floor units with direct access to the main pool are best in my opinion. There are others that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MiltonKeynesSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I love this hotel and the very friendly staff, so we will admit to being biased. We have now been three times in the last year and would go back tomorrow if we could.

But it's clearly not just us who think that way.For anyone thinking of going, a quick scan of the last 5 pages of reviews (about 25 in total) should confirm that this is a special place, with a special staff. Yes there is a very small minority who have needed to add a "but" to their comments, but it is obvious from the comments that the vast majority are as sold as we are on this beautiful hotel.

Everything you need to know is in the reviews posted by others but for anyone in doubt, here is a summary of what the 25 Review Titles say.........

All That I Was Hoping For and More
Stunning
Amazing
Perfect
Amazing Hotel
Gorgeous Hotel
Amazing & Perfect
Best Hotel in Kos
The Greatest
Best Hotel We Have Stayed At
Great Value
Wonderful Hotel in Kos
Excellent
Ticked All The Boxes
An Absolute Haven
Ideal
Lovely (.....with a "but")
Alomost Perfect
Beautiful & Spacious
Great Hotel (.......with a "but")
Fabulous
Good Relaxing
Stunning Hotel (....with a "but")

What can we add to such a glowing list - except our very own Thank You to the team at Palazzo del Mare for another wonderful holiday.

Simon & Karen

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skins57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
8.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
5.5 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,469 reviews
11.6 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,524 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare

Address: Marmari, Marmari 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marmari
#1 Family Hotel in Marmari
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marmari
#1 Spa Hotel in Marmari
Price Range: $166 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Mare, a luxury five star adults only hotel with 175 guestrooms, was built in 2008/9 and extended in 2010. It is located near the village of Marmari, at the north-west coast of the island of Kos, only 50 m from the beach, 15 km from the airport and 17 km away from the centre of Kos island. The Hotel has a two-storey main building, one building with three floors, ten two-storey buildings and the area of the Presidential suite and the ten Executive suites, all with private pools. Each luxurious room and richly appointed suite features a bath or shower, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities (replenished daily), direct dial telephone, internet access and in-room safe (both free of charge), individual air conditioning and a satellite TV. All ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool.Palazzo del Mare offers a variety of facilities like the Sogno main restaurant ( a buffet restaurant with terrace), the Pool Snack bar for lunch and the Culinarium a' la carte restaurant (dinner only). For refreshing drinks you will find the Sole Pool bar, Vento Lounge bar, Porto Beach bar and Parola Café offering crepes and ice cream.Our international guests can enjoy a 4500 m² swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, an indoor heated pool (120 m²) with separate Jacuzzi, the fully equipped Onda Gym as well as the Armonia Spa (450 m²) with various treatment rooms, where our only goal is the inspiration and the "harmony" of your body and soul. In the hotel you can as well find a mini market, a boutique shop and an internet corner.Ideal for those, who wish to try something new and combine a relaxed holiday with high personal attention, that puts guest's comfort above all! From the moment you approach Palazzo del Mare, you know you are in for a quality experience.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Mare Marmari
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo Del Mare Kos/Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing