We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Trattoria Armanda

Trattoria Armanda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sdney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Amazing food and great prices.
I loved the tripe - which is hard to get in Australia.

Our family loved the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonnensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    105
    30
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A good choice away from the tourist coast side”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Mid of June there were only a few guests for dinner, we were sitting on the little terrace overlooking the valley. They have a parking place right below the restaurant. It’s an authentic simple decorated Trattoria serving well prepared local food with Ligurian specialities. The price level was good compared with them in the touristy coast cities where an ordinary pasta course costs more. The tasting menu (for the whole table) sounded good but we were not that hungry. We had a light pasta with acciughe di Monterosso, pomodorini secchi, zucchine, the other with a wild boar sugo. As main course the tasty rabbit Coniglio disossato e farcito con patate novelle. See pictures.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edelchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, nice location”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The terrace doesn't look amazing...but the food is excellent! Fresh made and really tasteful. We choose the antipasti of the chef, which was a good choice. The staff is very friendly. The restaurant is maybe a bit pricier than you would expect but the quality of the food is worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princessnijna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Armanda: one of Italy's best kept secrets”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

You wont find Armanda just like that. We found out through a connoisseur of Italian gastronomy. Sitting on the terrace of Trattoria Armanda you enjoy a view including the Mediterranean Sea. Armanda creates the best pasta and sea food dishes in her kitchen and when you are driving down the mountain later in the evening you can only think about returning soon.
A tip: take a walk after dinner in the medieval town of Castelnouvo Magra. You go back 500 years in time!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An unexpected find!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were staying near Castlenuovo and, looking for somewhere for lunch, we found Trattoria Armanda by chance. There have been a few comments about this restaurant being expensive; the price tag is merited by the quality of the food, but we were able to eat at reasonable cost. Five of us ate - two adults and three children, two of whom had adult dishes from the menu; if you ask they will offer you a choice of more basic children's dishes. We each had a main course and a dessert, the adults had coffees and we had a litre of the very acceptable house wine (€8) and the kids had cokes; the total bill was a very reasonable €126. You can opt for the four course tasting menu for €38 which looked like good value to me although we didn't try it. There was a reasonable choice of dishes on the menu and the wine list was good. Another good sign was that everyone other than us were Italian, and the place was busy. We had no complaints about service and we ate outside and enjoyed the stunning views from this hilltop town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Armanda also viewed

Ortonovo, Province of La Spezia
Castelnuovo Magra, Province of La Spezia
 
Castelnuovo Magra, Province of La Spezia
Castelnuovo Magra, Province of La Spezia
 
Sarzana, Italian Riviera
Castelnuovo Magra, Province of La Spezia
 

Been to Trattoria Armanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing