We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Guiscardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guiscardo
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pietrasanta
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Awesome time!!!
My girlfriend and I found this place by pure luck. Most of the hotels in Forte Del Marmi and surrounded area were occupied due to the high season and upcoming local holiday.
Rooms in 4stars hotel that were available were going @ $400 and up.
After checking booking.com I found this hotel and immediately made reservation.
Even though it is located not by the beach (15min driving) we loved the fact that it’s right in Pietrasanta – beautiful little town with amazing atmosphere, great restaurants, shops and art galleries.
When we arrived to the hotel we were pleasantly surprised by its designers modern art interior – artwork, cool paintings are everywhere, very stylish…
Staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly – from the cleaning lady to the general manager. Was very nice to meet the owner – enjoyed our conversations very much. (Everybody speak English).
There are only 9 rooms in the hotel, which makes it very comfortable and private. Each room has different name. We extended our stay and had to switch rooms at one point. Both rooms were very nice and romantic. Lack of the view didn’t spoil anything – we didn’t have time to stare in the window. You stay at the beach, walk in the town, eat great food, drink great wine and get busy in King’s bed))
This vacation was truly one of the best in my life. We definitely will try to come back..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intertrade_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    34
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
111
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We only stayed here one night as we wanted an overnight stay in Pietrasanta to sample the bars and restaurants without having to drive. as a result we decided to splurge on the hotel somewhat and are very glad we did! From our initial arrival to our departure the next day we could not have wished for a more pleasant experience.
The hotel itself is quite small with lots of quirky modern art about the place which I thought made for a lovely juxtaposition with the more traditional decor of the place.
Our room (Giallo Sienna) was quite stunning; roomy, beautifully decorated with a super comfy bed, lovely bathroom complete with spa bath which, once I worked it out, was most relaxing!
To top it all, this room has a delightful covered terrazza which is a lovely place to relax on, early or late.
Breakfast content wise was no more or less than would be expected from an Italian hotel but the ingredients and coffee were first class.
The hotel also supplied a car pass so we could park free anywhere in downtown Pietrasanta which was also very handy.
I should not fail to mention the staff as well, all of whom were charming and very helpful at all times.
All in all, cannot recommend this hotel enough if you want to enjoy the sights, sounds and tastes of Pietrasanta

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
338 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

After "roughing" it in some bed and breakfasts and larger hotels in northern Italy, what a pleasant surprise we had in this hotel. Totally modern amenities throughout our room and the common areas, a wonderful continental breakfast provided every morning, and free drinks in the afternoon. The staff spoke English, Italian and German and all of them were friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. The hotel is only a few blocks away from the center of the town, maybe a two minute walk- the town itself being a wonderful place to visit.

Room Tip: every room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willgero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a multiple day stay at Palazzo Guiscardo and I have really mixed feelings about this hotel.

The pros: Beautiful small hotel, as other reviews have commented, someone has clearly taken a great deal of time and thought in the décor. The common areas are beautiful except the neglected garden in the back. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable, the bathtub with jets was great. The breakfast in the morning is nice. The location just one block from the old town center with all its art galleries, shops and restaurants is just super. Pietrasanta is a great area to spend time in -- fun and interesting old town, fabulous beaches, wonderful drives up in to the mountains, lots of villages nearby to explore.

The cons: We booked a junior suite. The description of the room said it included a balcony where we could relax and take our coffee. The confirmation email said the same thing. On check in, we were shown to a room on the top floor that had no balcony. In fact, it hardly had any windows at all. In the bedroom there were just two tiny windows, each about the size of a piece of legal paper. There were some skylights way up in the ceiling but the room still felt like a cave. The street in front of the hotel is a busy one and it is a little noisy in the room as a result.

The room was not really a suite. It was fine but basically just a rectangular room with a desk, chair, night stand and small couch. The air conditioning is controlled by the front desk. Somehow no matter how low we asked them to set the air conditioning (we went as low as requesting 16 degrees Celsius), the temperature in the room never got below 26 degrees, nearly 80 degrees Fahrenheit, very, very warm.

The "Bagno Sandra" the private beach was booked when we checked in. Even though I had inquired about this before we arrived and was assured there would be no problem, we had to find a different beach for the first days of our stay. We did visit Bagno Sandra at the end of our stay and it was nice although at 90 euros per day its' cost is more than double the other, also nice, beaches in the same area.

The lobby has a bar area but it is not separately staffed. The desk clerk, who seems to also be the phone operator, valet and concierge has to run back and forth if you want a drink. We had one drink once but then felt too bad about making the guy run around.

The room staff were very pleasant, the breakfast room guy was great. The front desk staff were a little hit and miss - one was very helpful, another was helpful when pushed a little bit.

Summary: Beautiful common areas in a great location but the rooms are lacking, the service is spotty and it is over priced for this level of service.

Room Tip: Get confirmation that the room will have real windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GulchFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pietro3333, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guiscardo, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear GulchFamily,
first of all, thank you for your opinion.
We always appreciate when our guests take the time to help us improve our service.
However, I would like to point out a few things to clarify our position.
Most of the beach clubs in Forte dei MArmi are more expensive than Bagno Sandro. 90 Euros may seem a lot, but it is a discounted rate for our guest and it does include a top class service. Other beach clubs in Forte dei Armi charge up to 200 or 300 Euros for the same quality service. Free beaches with no service are also available if you like, it's up to the customer to choose.
Our boutique hotel only has 10 rooms, out staff has pleanty of time to safisfy our guest at the reception, at the bar or for room service.
A characteristic of our hotel is that all rooms are different from each other. You could read the description for each room on uor website. The room of your choice was a nice Junior Suite, not a Suite, and it didn't have a balcony and it was described in our website exactly as it is. Only two Junior Suites from Palazzo Guiscardo have balconies.
We could have arranged a room change if you asked us. We are sorry that your experience with us was not completely satisfactory, but we remember never to have heard complaints from you or your family while you were at Palazzo Guiscardo. We would have done something to help you enjoy your stay, as we always do with our guest!
Hoping to see you again soon in Pietrasanta,

Best regards
Pietro Modica
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent some time here with our family not knowing what to expect of the hotel and pietrasanta. It was the best part of our trip to italy. Pietro is wonderful....so helpful and above and beyond what one would expect. The town is delightful, the restaurants delicious, and the use of bagno Sandra was fantastic.

The daily breakfasts were elaborate for a small hotel, as was the gorgeous artwork.
Grazie pietro...I cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aoparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochristi, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked a week's stay here via our travel organisation. The place provides for an interesting combination of a classic renaissance palazzo decorated with contemporary art objects, fully representative of the Pietrasanta atmosphere. It was quiet during the nights, yet was only a few minutes' walk away from the historical centre with plenty of little restaurants. Seen the small size of the hotel, choices for breakfast were not overwhelming, but everything was there and of good quality. Service and assistance were excellent; we'd like to especially commend the high standard of housekeeping. All in all, good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNE_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at the Guiscardo for four nights recently with two friends during a 2 week vacation in Italy. The hotel is great; very clean, well appointed and stylish. Piedro and his staff were excellent - incredibly friendly, accommodating and helpful in making restaurant suggestions and reservations, both in Pietrasanta and Forte dei Marmi, and arranging for transportation when necessary. The breakfast spread in the morning was always tasty, with fresh fruits, yogurt, cheeses and meats, and delicious coffee made to order. We also enjoyed using the hotel bikes to make the gorgeous, 40 min ride through Forte to Bagno Sandra, the beach club associated with the hotel (which is also great, with an excellent and friendly staff!). I would definitely recommend the Guiscardo to friends and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nannvan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietrasanta
0.4 mi away
Albergo Pietrasanta
Albergo Pietrasanta
#1 of 7 in Pietrasanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palagi
Hotel Palagi
#3 of 7 in Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Roma Imperiale
Villa Roma Imperiale
#3 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 51 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
5.9 mi away
BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal
2.6 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#8 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guiscardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guiscardo

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guiscardo
Address: Via Provinciale Vallecchia 16, 55045 Pietrasanta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Pietrasanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pietrasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guiscardo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Pietrasanta Palazzo Guiscardo is located in an original Liberty style building that dates back to the 1800s. The hotel has nine rooms and one apartment (located in the adjoining building with no elevator) all furnished in different ways, with antique furniture and canopy-beds. Soundproofed and independently air-conditioned with marble in the bathrooms enhancing their elegance. The reception and the anbience are those of a private home, with the services of a grand hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guiscardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guiscardo Pietrasanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing