We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting dear friends in the Limousin . . .”
Review of Chateau du Fraisse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nouic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau du Fraisse
Ranked #1 of 3 Nouic B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2011

In September we paid our third visit to the historic and welcoming Château du Fraisse. Our host and hostess, Count and Countess des Monstiers de Mérinville, always come out to greet us with such warmth and graciousness as we drive up to the château. This year was no exception, and we once again found ourselves welcomed like old friends who have come for a visit. We had a lovely room looking out over the vast estate where we could see a small herd of cattle in the distance that the Countess said will soon be certified 'organic'. The family is also in the process of developing a large organic garden in greenhouses. We enjoyed walking around the château grounds, crossing the spring-fed stream by a little bridge, and taking in the peace and quiet of the countryside. Breakfasts at the château were copious with croissants, bread, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice and coffee or tea. As another reviewer mentioned, the dining room is elegant, and sunlight streamed in through the large windows as we had breakfast with another guest. The château does not offer dinner, but we had a superb meal at a restaurant in nearby Mortemart that is open all year with the exception of February. Mortemart is a pretty village and one of France's Plus Beaux Villages. Château du Fraisse has been in the same family since the early 1400s, and we are always warmly received and treated to a very interesting experience steeped in history. The Count was happy to speak with us about the château, its origins and the remarkable things that have taken place there over the centuries, including its having been set on fire by the Black Prince. There is a lot of information about the château on http://www.au-chateau.com/Fraisse.htm. The Count and Countess are two very special people to us, and we enjoy this château and the region immensely. We know we will return again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joiedevivre9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Chateau du Fraisse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 23 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed at this wonderful and "original" chateau for three nights. The slightly isolated location adds to the charm. Breakfasted like royalty in the wood panelled dining room and lots of history which the hosts are very eager to show you. Lots of recommended local sites to explore, including a WW1 village recreation. The marquesse was a wonderful hostess with lots of recommended local eateries(even though we were there on public holidays)!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The Chateau is located some 10km from the nearest village which has a reasonable restaurant which only opens for a part of the year. Due to no dining facilities at the Chateau this may be problematic as the next dining facility is in Bellac. The local taxi service, unfortunately, is rather on the expensive side.

The accommodation is in the wing of the palace, also used by its owners. The rooms are typically high ceiling, spacious and maintained in the old style with no TV. This, however, adds to the charm and character of the place. The Comte and Comtesse made one feel like a resident of the Chateau and were very hospitable. They were very happy to show us around the rest of their residence.

The breakfast was basic though served in rather grand surroundings.

Probably not suitable for families with little children or anyone seeking night entertainment.

Definitely a B&B with a difference.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed for two nights at this remarkable château. The total cost, for two, of a twin room and breakfast was Eur 90.00. In our opinion, it was a far more interesting place to stay than a standard hotel. Our hosts were very friendly and charming and spent an hour showing us around the magnificent main rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed here for one night when travelling down from Saumur to Limoges; it is well worth a visit if you're in that area. It is a wonderful 16th century chateau set in beautiful grounds, complete with moat. The hosts (The Monstiers) are charming, and they are more than willing to tell you a bit about the history; the family has live there for over 800 years.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparklystars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PHILIPPE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nouic
5.4 mi away
Hotel Les Chataigniers
Hotel Les Chataigniers
#1 of 1 in Peyrat-de-Bellac
19 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Flambee
La Flambee
#1 of 3 in Blond
50 reviews
6.8 mi away
Maison Bellachonne
Maison Bellachonne
#1 of 4 in Bellac
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Fraisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Fraisse

Address: le Fraisse, 87330 Nouic, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Nouic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nouic
Price Range: $65 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing