We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic 'home from home', nestled in the beautiful Tuscan mountains..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Valle dei Castagni
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Pescia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic 'home from home', nestled in the beautiful Tuscan mountains..”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

La Valle Dei Castagni is an 'agritourissmo' run by Lisa and Roberto. The property is a wonderful 'home from home' with beautiful rooms in a very relaxed, family friendly atmosphere. A large property set on the edge of the river. It benefits from clear mountain air and cooler weather in the summer months. There are many animals to pet and play with (very popular with the children) and a pool to cool off in after a day sightseeing around the local medieval villages, or further afield in Lucca or Florence. The home made (and home grown) food is delicious and nothing is too much trouble as the hosts go to every length to make your stay a special one!
Thoroughly recommended!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are a little different from the next... Lisa will give you a choice, depending upon your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachaeljhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in the agriturismo this August with our two daughters of 9 and 10 years old. We had a marvellous time. We have been in Italy several times before but this stay at La Valle dei Castagni we came closest to the real Italian atmosphere. Thanks for Lisa and Roberto, the hosts of La Valle. Our daughters had a great time playing in the river near the agriturismo, in the swimming pool, with football table, or at the play ground. Lisa cooked for for us very delicious meals for a very good price. We will certainly come back once, perhaps with friends, to enjoy this wonderfull place again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have been in Toscana before, but it is like we until now didn’t discover its real beauty. Our family included children (3 and 6 years), parents and grandparents, and we lived in connecting apartments a week in July 2011. Writing about La Valle dei Castagni is like revealing a secret, because it is an unspoiled, authentic, pearl which we can highly recommend to others, but want for ourselves ;-) The mountains are bigger than usually in Tuscany, and it gives a lovely temperature. From the small lovely pool, you can enjoy views of one of the nearest beautiful villages that entrench themselves on the small green mountain tops. There are table tennis, football and other games for the kids to engage in, and our kids enjoyed very much to play on the big lawn, to swim in the pool or catch fish and insects at the river-side in the end of the garden. Fireflies and wild pigs entertain in the surrounding forrest in the evening . Lisa and Roberto welcomes guests as they were friends, they make bonfire, give advises for where to go or what wine to drink, and Lisa cooks the most wonderful food that can be purchased on location. If you wish to dine out the neighbor Gabriella and Francesco make excellent Tuscany food in their small and friendly restaurant. The food is excellent (make your reservation one day in advance). Additionally, there are two restaurants about 3 miles from La Valle dei Castagni. Bread can be bought every morning from a small van, which stops in front of the house. We all had a dream holiday - both children and adults. An authentic and central location to explore Tuscany (Lucca, Pisa and Florence). We have traveled a lot, but this is really the place for those who wants a holiday in the authentic Italy. Best regards Henriette T Holmegaard and family

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrieeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordals
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed there for one week and really enjoyed it. It was like being home. Our hosts Lisa and Roberto were so nice and they did really care about us and were helpful with ideas where to eat, how to drive the italien way, which places to visit, ect.
The flats were clean and decorated individually. In our flat there were two bathrooms. The size was bigger than expected.
The place is about 10 km from Pescia and located in a reservate. Only a small road leads to the place. There is only little trafic. It was fun driving on these narrow roads. Remember to honk twice when you come to a turn.
You have to like amimals if you go there, because there are dogs, cats, numerous goats, poultry and two donkeys. You could talk to the amimals but you could also ignore them. They did not bother you if you does not show interest for them.
The dogs are running free on the premises. They sleep most of the day, but their job is to keep wild animals from eating the crop.
It is easy and cheap to go to Firenze, Lucca, Pisa, ect. by train from Pescia.
Lisa does wonderful cooking. The last evening she cooked wonderful Tuscanian food for us.
Roberto lit the fire every evening and lit the candles on the tables and contributed together with Lisa to the relaxed and wonderful atmosphere at the place.
We have had a wonderful and relaxed holiday at La Valle dei Castagni. A place in total harmony.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jullemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pescia
22.9 mi away
Fattoria di Colleoli
Fattoria di Colleoli
#1 of 2 in Palaia
45 reviews
12.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 52 in Lucca
896 reviews
14.8 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 52 in Lucca
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Artimino Apartments
Artimino Apartments
#2 of 2 in Artimino
138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Le Fontanacce
2.5 mi away
Locanda Zacco
Locanda Zacco
#2 of 5 in Marliana
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valle dei Castagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valle dei Castagni

Property: La Valle dei Castagni
Address: Via Val di Forfora 74, 51017, Pescia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Pescia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Pescia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm holidays "La valle dei castagni" is characterized for the comfortable apartments and rooms inside of an extraordinary park of 30 hectares, is found between Lucca and Montecatini Terme Pistoia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Valle dei Castagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing